RB20 Auto Transmission

A31 Cefiro

RB20 Auto Transmission

Postby A31 Cefiro » November 16th, 2007, 6:39 pm

My transmission seems to be working fine sometimes, but other times, the gears dont change like they're supposed to.
I'm thinking that the transmission is moving off its alignment to the engine.

Is this possible?

If so... does anyone know where I can take it to have the necessary adjustments made?

A31 Cefiro

Postby A31 Cefiro » November 16th, 2007, 6:42 pm

On rare ocassions I can actually kick down,
Other than that... I can floor the pedal and the car just moves along lazily

Any advice?

I wont mind fixing the problem myself.... If someone can tell me what to do

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » November 16th, 2007, 8:44 pm

ever considered selling the car?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 16th, 2007, 10:52 pm

A31 Cefiro,is it the 4speed or 5speed tranny u have?

when last u checked/changed the oil?

A31 Cefiro

Postby A31 Cefiro » November 17th, 2007, 6:41 am

Its the 5speed

I changed the oil about 2 months ago.

sleepingfistr33

Postby sleepingfistr33 » November 19th, 2007, 3:34 pm

There is a small sensor on the transmission itself ....I believe that the sensor trips and sends a message to the brain and so the car feels sluggish. I cud be wrong

I have a spare parts for the rb20 and 25 transmissions....325 0015

A31 Cefiro

Postby A31 Cefiro » November 19th, 2007, 7:48 pm

I fixed it today actually! :)
I removed the panel that fits around the gear lever, and I noticed that the metal plate, that the gear lever sits on wasn't secured properly.
So I tightened the screws, and went thru a long process of testing and re-adjusting... until I got it right.

It works fine now. :D

I got my RB monster back! :onfire:

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 19th, 2007, 8:07 pm

Nice, Strange, but glad to hear u got through

A31 Cefiro

Postby A31 Cefiro » November 21st, 2007, 3:03 am

Ok... now its working on and off
It works fine for a while and then it goes back to how it was.
I have to cut off the engine and restart for it to work again.

Also... when I start the car first thing in the morning and put the lever in D, It feels like its in neutral (just revs) :(

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 21st, 2007, 10:04 am

^ that sounding like d clutch slipping..

Pull d dipstick and smell the oil...

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 21st, 2007, 9:43 pm

Nice to see you've got your baby up and running A31 Cefiro. You've made a lot of threads lately about bringing it back. Hope it all works out for you. Who knows we could meet sometime and discuss ideas on our cars. 0X

Joe Joe Black

Postby Joe Joe Black » November 22nd, 2007, 10:11 am

Hey A31 is the tranny DE or turbo? i had that same prob with my tranny so i got the turbo and everything worked out fine.

Hey Conrad the set up of the R33 should be the same for the ceffy and also the coilovers should work bolt for bolt because i believe its the same model or close to chassis

A31 Cefiro

Postby A31 Cefiro » November 22nd, 2007, 7:54 pm

It's a DE tranny...
What's the estimated price of a turbo tranny?

Joe Joe Black

Postby Joe Joe Black » November 23rd, 2007, 3:44 pm

hmmm last time i checked about $2000-$2500, doh worry man it worth it in the end! Totally different drive, the response feels a lot more powerful and it could take jammin, it may cost big bucks but worth it trust me.
Us A31 Cefiro guys need to stick together. 0X

halfbreed

Postby halfbreed » December 5th, 2007, 9:10 pm

if u interested i have a RB20 turbo tranny for sale, complete with converter and flex plate. never used locally either. $2000 and its yours! 724-9394

Postby Dave » December 6th, 2007, 8:50 am

did u reset the ecu
since the engine was running like that, it may have thrown some adjustment into the mix and may still be reading like there is a problem

Rated Union

Re: RB20 Auto Transmission

Postby Rated Union » July 20th, 2021, 8:34 pm

I recently bought a c32 laurel medallist, an I too have had that problem with my tranny till it burnt out.!
Now I'm trying to buy a new transmission and want to know what to invest in..?!

Rated Union

Postby Rated Union » July 20th, 2021, 8:36 pm

Been looking for the same transmission for a long time now.
I need some advice and quickly be4 I repeat the same mistake.!

Sundar

Postby Sundar » July 23rd, 2021, 11:32 am

hey, Anyone know if the RB20DET(Non NEO) Automatic Transmission Mount is different from the others?
Last edited by Sundar on July 23rd, 2021, 11:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » July 23rd, 2021, 11:32 am

Rated Union wrote:I recently bought a c32 laurel medallist, an I too have had that problem with my tranny till it burnt out.!
Now I'm trying to buy a new transmission and want to know what to invest in..?!

What type of engine?