Looking to upgrade AD braking system....any suggestions?

cobo

Looking to upgrade AD braking system....any suggestions?

Postby cobo » November 8th, 2007, 8:18 pm

Nothing to fancy like brembos or nun jes wanna strengthen my stopping power.
someone told be to install disc brakes in the rear and possibly get a set up for the front with bigger pads. What systems are compatible with my car?

QG

Postby QG » November 8th, 2007, 9:16 pm

Buy the Primera P11 Rotor Disc and Brake Callipers, front and rear and get the ABS system...that's plenty stopping power there for an AD.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » November 9th, 2007, 10:35 pm

when usay abs system whay u mean

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 10th, 2007, 4:10 am

ABS = Antilock Braking System

Wheels are not supposed to lock up under heavy braking, thus allowing you to still have some steering control of the car.

Of course you must appreciate that there is a limit as to how much the ABS can help you depending on the speed that you are going and the current road conditions.

krack korn

Postby krack korn » November 10th, 2007, 5:32 am

cobo, it have a fella here trying to simultaneously expense u and facillitate ur demise.

The P11 rear disk will not work without major modification, major is the keyword. Puting ABS in a non ABS equipped car is another major modification. Doesn't the AD already have ABS? I thought I have seen AD's with it.

ur front disks are 10", most P11 front disks are 10", if u are putting on the 11" ones ok but u will have to redrill for 4 x 100 from 4 x 114.3 regardless of the disk size. Redrilling is not a problem if done properly.

The P11/P10 caliper alone is a slight upgrade as it increases the pad area and piston area and hence piston pressure. Its just a bolt in, bleed and drive mod. I would say it gives about 10-15% improvement and more if u use high quality pads. For real nice stopping power get the 11" setup.

If u intend to do a lot of heavy braking with load then I would suggest the P10 rotors as well redrilled since they are heavier and are more resistant to overheating and brake fade, the reason I suggest P10 as opposed to P11 is that the P11 disks are more prone to develop vibration when braking at about 120 -100 km/hr. If u use wagner pads this is generally not a problem and u can use P11 disks.

Picasso

Re: Looking to upgrade AD braking system....any suggestions?

Postby Picasso » November 10th, 2007, 10:06 am

To me the Y11 AD wagons stop great in their stock form just get some Hawk brake pads and braided brake lines. This would give you a better response and sharpen your brakes. It costs a little more than buying a set of FU Double piston calipers with P11,U13 or U14 rotors. If you got a Y11 AD wagon then you will have to do redrill the rotor to fit your bolt pattern. Adding disc brakes in the back will cost you alot and I won't advise of it unless you did everthing possible infront to increase your stopping power. Save your self and try the Hawk pads and upgraded brake lines this should give you what you need.

cobo wrote:Nothing to fancy like brembos or nun jes wanna strengthen my stopping power.
someone told be to install disc brakes in the rear and possibly get a set up for the front with bigger pads. What systems are compatible with my car?

cobo

Postby cobo » November 10th, 2007, 11:17 am

Thanks fellas I Need to change my rotors first and foremost coz I machined it some time ago and I don't think the machine shop did a very good job. And someone also advised that this weakens the rotors.

I think I will change the rotors and try some better brake pads and see how that goes. I was thinking about changing the entire system so I thought I might as well upgrade it.

But I'll keep your advice in mind if I decide to slap in ah SR next year!

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 10th, 2007, 12:17 pm

Cobo eh doh make know sense putting rear disc brakes.Especially if u hav dah stock 1.5.Once car come with ABS it doh make sense doing dat.Say for instance u put in a RV25T.Den ah go understand.If u put in an SR20 it doh make sense either because dat btaking system dat came in d ad is very good.
Boy doh put in any SR20 in dat SR20 is an old engine.Cylinder head gasket does blow fast.Slap in a QG18,QG16 or QR20.QR20 is d best 1 to go with no conversions.
If you want better stopping slap on brembo brake calipers and upgrade ABS or bigger booster.If u can put on bigger fron rotors and calipers.Try adjusting shoes in d drum to have less travel.
Oh and make sure that d rotors are slotted to eh.Better stopping.You can also put in better shoes in your drum.By d way go on to this link you can find what u need there parts for almost any car. http://www.autopartswarehouse.com/ :wink:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » November 10th, 2007, 1:08 pm

gracen wrote:Cobo eh doh make know sense putting rear disc brakes.Especially if u hav dah stock 1.5.Once car come with ABS it doh make sense doing dat.Say for instance u put in a RV25T.Den ah go understand.If u put in an SR20 it doh make sense either because dat btaking system dat came in d ad is very good.
Boy doh put in any SR20 in dat SR20 is an old engine.Cylinder head gasket does blow fast.Slap in a QG18,QG16 or QR20.QR20 is d best 1 to go with no conversions.
If you want better stopping slap on brembo brake calipers and upgrade ABS or bigger booster.If u can put on bigger fron rotors and calipers.Try adjusting shoes in d drum to have less travel.
Oh and make sure that d rotors are slotted to eh.Better stopping.You can also put in better shoes in your drum.By d way go on to this link you can find what u need there parts for almost any car. http://www.autopartswarehouse.com/ :wink:

Brembo brakes ?? WTF you think he want..

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 11th, 2007, 2:40 am

^^^^^^sounding like turbohead :|

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 12th, 2007, 7:26 pm

Picasso u is a real.......A...... :fist:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » November 13th, 2007, 3:51 pm

gracen wrote:Picasso u is a real.......A...... :fist:

Same to you Uncle Sam :roll:

QG

Postby QG » November 16th, 2007, 11:46 pm

Do u know the COST of BREMBO BRAKES alone?

QG

Postby QG » November 16th, 2007, 11:53 pm

Yes they are very good high performance brakes but for high performance vehicles. :D :D

Picasso

Postby Picasso » November 18th, 2007, 8:43 am

Nope Nissan off the shelf brakes which are used for production cars are not bad at all he's got so many options that will give him the satisfactin he would like with in his budget with out burning a hole in his pocket to put " Brembos " on his car.

cobo

Postby cobo » December 14th, 2007, 9:31 pm

[quote="gracen"]Cobo eh doh make know sense putting rear disc brakes.Especially if u hav dah stock 1.5.Once car come with ABS it doh make sense doing dat.Say for instance u put in a RV25T.Den ah go understand.If u put in an SR20 it doh make sense either because dat btaking system dat came in d ad is very good.

Hoss dem QG's have coil packs and one ah mine gone d other day ...is like 700 for a new one. I really not on dat plus ah QR20 is ah relatively new engine how much will dat cost? upgrading to ah QG16 nuh going and make much of a difference in terms of hp so is SR for d while unless ah get ah deal on ah 18...ah cud work with dat

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 15th, 2007, 6:26 am

To me the Y11 AD wagons stop great in their stock form just get some Hawk brake pads and braided brake lines.

They're average at best. Braking is stable, but it doesn't drag the car down to a stop, like say a newage Corolla or something.

You've obviously never felt a real performance car stop...... <screeeeeeccchh>

:mrgreen:

;)

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » December 23rd, 2007, 10:24 pm

if the rotors are 9 1/4" diam cant use b15 rotors n calipers wont line up i tried em

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 24th, 2007, 9:19 am

Knight1 wrote:
To me the Y11 AD wagons stop great in their stock form just get some Hawk brake pads and braided brake lines.

They're average at best. Braking is stable, but it doesn't drag the car down to a stop, like say a newage Corolla or something.

You've obviously never felt a real performance car stop...... <screeeeeeccchh>

:mrgreen:

;)

My four Piston Calipers and crossed drilled brake setup is more than enough for the street. Tested it out several times on wet and dry. The car stops very hard and safely especially from 180khm to ZERO khm 8-)

turbonator

Postby turbonator » December 25th, 2007, 10:36 pm

^^ Yo Picasso, what kind of calipers are u using on d wingroad?

Hear what d ting is eh ah was thinking about putting the skyline r32 calipers or the 300zx ones and redrilling the rotors for the 4*100 bolt pattern. What i want to know is if i will have to fabricate a bracket for the caliper. Btw the vehicle ah talking but here is ah b-14 eh.
Last edited by turbonator on December 27th, 2007, 12:23 am, edited 2 times in total.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 25th, 2007, 11:22 pm

My four Piston Calipers and crossed drilled brake setup is more than enough for the street. Tested it out several times on wet and dry. The car stops very hard and safely especially from 180khm to ZERO khm

Old news. :roll: