wtk thermostat removal...
Posted: October 1st, 2007, 8:59 am
by streetsleeper2
I was advised to remove the thermostat from my sr20 equipped p11. Is this safe. Are there any disadvantages as a result of doing this?
Posted: October 1st, 2007, 9:14 am
by Dave
don't do it
replace with a nissan unit
Posted: October 6th, 2007, 9:49 pm
by nizmoB12
As Dave said replace with a new unit
Posted: October 10th, 2007, 2:57 pm
by Tired Accord
**Note to self.........Find back that new NISMO thermostat and put it back in the fo*kin car!!****
streetsleeper2 Check this thread here:
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=151930
Posted: October 10th, 2007, 4:39 pm
by Picasso
don't do it
replace with a nissan unit
But Dave I remember that you advise something else in the past eh

Posted: October 11th, 2007, 7:53 am
by Dave
gutting it out and i still do gut them out
still poses a restriction to get water temps up but at the same time its something u don't have to worry about if it fails unlike u who does run down sr head like it going out of style
Posted: October 11th, 2007, 4:30 pm
by Picasso
u don't have to worry about if it fails unlike u who does run down sr head like it going out of style
Eh nah wrong persona homie. I am running the same engine since 2005 the only thing I did was spin #3 bearing. I didn't bother to gut the thermostat I just removed the whole dam thing and since then no more headgasket problems.

Posted: October 11th, 2007, 5:37 pm
by flatline
a new OEM sr20 thermostat is like TT$75

Posted: October 12th, 2007, 8:32 am
by Dave
Eh nah wrong persona homie. I am running the same engine since 2005 the only thing I did was spin #3 bearing. I didn't bother to gut the thermostat I just removed the whole dam thing and since then no more headgasket problems.
u change it like 10 times in 2005
without a thermostat u can once again have head gasket problems
u need temperature build in there unless u run one temperature all the time
i like the motorad unit, when it fails, it fails in the open position so u safe
Posted: October 13th, 2007, 4:16 pm
by Picasso
without a thermostat u can once again have head gasket problems
Nope no problems running 3 months strong and the thermostat is never ever going back in again

Posted: October 14th, 2007, 12:57 am
by X2
Picasso wrote:without a thermostat u can once again have head gasket problems
Nope no problems running 3 months strong and the thermostat is never ever going back in again

Plenty iron in that engine... my money is on the turbo goin first...

Posted: October 15th, 2007, 8:10 am
by Picasso
^^ actually just as expected the engine takes a little longer to warm up 2mins app. After that it runs cooler than previously with no problems. I bought all my thermostats at Massy and the all lasted app. 2 months signs of this was the radiator hoese swelling more than usual... a couple weeks after the radiator top tank will always burst. When the thermostat was checked it was stuck in the closed postiton all the time. After taking it out I got no more problems.

Posted: October 15th, 2007, 5:53 pm
by X2
Picasso, give this thread a read... my explainations will show why it's not really taking long to warm up and why your car is not actually running cooler as your temp gauge tells you:
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=151930
Posted: October 15th, 2007, 7:12 pm
by Maserati
good read in that thread X2
Posted: October 16th, 2007, 8:39 am
by Picasso
Posted: October 16th, 2007, 12:32 pm
by A33_VQ35
I would have to agree there, put it back in dread......
remember the basic physics of an engine hasn't changed over the years whether the engine was built in 1920 or 2007..
an engine loses 70% of it's efficiency due to heat, so while u have no problems with headgaskets blowing because of stuck thermostats, u also raising the amount of heat on your engine, and thus eventually something WILL give out!!!
also your efficiency drops as u retaining more heat...
jus my 2c
Posted: October 16th, 2007, 12:41 pm
by X2
oh gorm yuh complainer... just give IN and buy a honda....
Posted: October 16th, 2007, 1:20 pm
by Picasso
X2 wrote:oh gorm yuh complainer... just give IN and buy a honda....
Eventually but right now I need to resist the force

Posted: December 10th, 2007, 8:30 am
by RBphoto
Dave wrote:gutting it out and i still do gut them out
still poses a restriction to get water temps up but at the same time its something u don't have to worry about if it fails unlike u who does run down sr head like it going out of style
Just got a new radiator (2 row brass) on my QG18 and want to change the thermostat. I have heard of racing cars using orifices instead of thermostats, which is essentially the same as the gutted thermostat I fugure. Since the QG runs very effficiently, I want to buy a new thermostat, but I am told they do not last very long, even if you buy them from Massey. My mechanic advised throwing it away and run without, which I have no intention of doing.
Dave, would you think that using a gutted thermos on a QG a good idea, since that car runs real good as is? What parts do you remove to gut it? The spring? The valve seat? Have any pics?
Posted: December 10th, 2007, 12:09 pm
by THE SYNDICATE
Posted: December 10th, 2007, 1:15 pm
by super_cadet
There is another con to removing a thermostat..BTW it shudnt be going bad that often unless you are servicing your cooling system properly..The other con to taking out a thermostat is that your car uses a coolant temp sensor in the major part of its ECU operation.When the coolant is not allowed to reach up to proper temperature, the temp senson will read the engine as cold and operate well rich and also cause a host of other problems associated with what would seem to be sensor failure...ANY MECH THAT SAYS REMOVE IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED..Time to upgrade from these mango tree mechanics people..Cars aint that simple anymore
Posted: December 10th, 2007, 2:06 pm
by RBphoto
^^^^Yeah, my mech does swear by taking that out. Everything else he do is top notch, and he is very experienced in the bull work category, like pumps, suspension, steering components, brakes etc. That is the first time I had a dissagreement with him. Only problem is, I hearing that the replacement thermostats from massey does stick in just a few months, when they supposed to last at least two years. I want to find out if there is another more reliable brand for the QG and where I can get it, and about the one dave mentioned that fails open. Also want to know if gutting it is a viable option. My engine is over 250,000 Km's, running really smothe and this is the first thermostat change it getting. Don't want to screw it up. Never intended to remove it. I know that you can throw a thermostat code so I will check with my ECU man for that.