SR20DET Water Pump removal

Posted: August 24th, 2007, 6:26 pm
by TeamH2O
Anyone know how to remove an sr20det front wheel drive's water pump? Looking to change it tommorow but no one available to change it for me

Posted: August 24th, 2007, 7:08 pm
by dry

Posted: August 25th, 2007, 7:45 am
by Picasso
Anyone know how to remove an sr20det front wheel drive's water pump? Looking to change it tommorow but no one available to change it for me

I did it already but depending on which vehicle it's in according to space would make it difficult. To save your self the headache drop the cross member and drop the engine out on the right side. Take off the belt unbolt the old water pump. Clean the area where the old pump was clean it properly. Silicone the area ( don't use too much ) and bolt the new water pump on. Becareful as to which brand water pump you use. There are some sheity ones on the market that can make life stressful :|

Posted: August 25th, 2007, 8:32 am
by TriniGT
I actually removed the I think power steering reservoir and top mount and had a jack underneath that I would jack slightly and drop slightly to manouvre the area adn slacken the pump. It is in a shitty place but it can be removed and replaced.

Posted: August 25th, 2007, 9:27 am
by TeamH2O
cool thanks guys :mrgreen:

Posted: August 25th, 2007, 10:53 am
by Picasso
I actually removed the I think power steering reservoir and top mount and had a jack underneath that I would jack slightly and drop slightly to manouvre the area adn slacken the pump. It is in a shitty place but it can be removed and replaced.

Did it that way already and it's painful on the hands. But saves you all the work on droping out the engine :mrgreen:

Posted: August 25th, 2007, 7:00 pm
by rev hard
Picasso wrote:

Did it that way already and it's painful on the hands. But saves you all the work on droping out the engine :mrgreen:

4 real although de space real tight 2 work...it better so yes

Posted: August 26th, 2007, 2:40 pm
by TeamH2O
now that was serious pressure but it changed :mrgreen: :mrgreen: took out the mount, and used a jack to drop and raise as i needed to

Posted: August 27th, 2007, 7:27 pm
by TriniGT
Sweet, yuh skinning yug gum now eh.

Posted: August 27th, 2007, 8:18 pm
by TeamH2O
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: hehehehe