SR20DET Water Pump removal

TeamH2O

SR20DET Water Pump removal

Postby TeamH2O » August 24th, 2007, 6:26 pm

Anyone know how to remove an sr20det front wheel drive's water pump? Looking to change it tommorow but no one available to change it for me

dry

Postby dry » August 24th, 2007, 7:08 pm

Picasso

Postby Picasso » August 25th, 2007, 7:45 am

Anyone know how to remove an sr20det front wheel drive's water pump? Looking to change it tommorow but no one available to change it for me

I did it already but depending on which vehicle it's in according to space would make it difficult. To save your self the headache drop the cross member and drop the engine out on the right side. Take off the belt unbolt the old water pump. Clean the area where the old pump was clean it properly. Silicone the area ( don't use too much ) and bolt the new water pump on. Becareful as to which brand water pump you use. There are some sheity ones on the market that can make life stressful :|

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » August 25th, 2007, 8:32 am

I actually removed the I think power steering reservoir and top mount and had a jack underneath that I would jack slightly and drop slightly to manouvre the area adn slacken the pump. It is in a shitty place but it can be removed and replaced.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » August 25th, 2007, 9:27 am

cool thanks guys :mrgreen:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » August 25th, 2007, 10:53 am

I actually removed the I think power steering reservoir and top mount and had a jack underneath that I would jack slightly and drop slightly to manouvre the area adn slacken the pump. It is in a shitty place but it can be removed and replaced.

Did it that way already and it's painful on the hands. But saves you all the work on droping out the engine :mrgreen:

rev hard

Postby rev hard » August 25th, 2007, 7:00 pm

Picasso wrote:

Did it that way already and it's painful on the hands. But saves you all the work on droping out the engine :mrgreen:

4 real although de space real tight 2 work...it better so yes

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » August 26th, 2007, 2:40 pm

now that was serious pressure but it changed :mrgreen: :mrgreen: took out the mount, and used a jack to drop and raise as i needed to

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » August 27th, 2007, 7:27 pm

Sweet, yuh skinning yug gum now eh.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » August 27th, 2007, 8:18 pm

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: hehehehe