Page 1 of 24
QG owners united, Service Manual pg1, CVTC pg 12
Posted: June 16th, 2007, 1:30 pm
by QG
All proud drivers that owns a QG, please verify...
QG series 2 (E- Throttle; CVTC) is briefly explained on pages 12...when I get more info on these newer QG engines I will post up.
2001 Nissan Almera.rarQG/YD engines Factory Service Manual
Car : 2001 Almera
http://www.muran.am/sunny/sunny_performance.htm Just a lil extra info.
I found out more info on the Series 2 QGs (CVTC- E-THROTTLE).
CVTC advanced and retard timing depending on driving conditions. VTC only ADVANCE to improve torque at low to mid range.
EDIT: CVTC plunger (valve) can shift direction of oil, hence, it can retard timing or advance it, and it seems VTC plunger cannot, only in one direction (advance)....There are no detailed information on VTC in service manual, but CVTC is nicely explained...
CVTC retards timing at high speeds to increase power from mid range to high end.
CVTC equipped QGs has an alumium valve cover vs the VTC black plastic top.
CVTC also came without EGR (exhaust gas recirculation)
The series 1 has a different lower intake plenum, with this thing nissan calls a "swirl control valve" that stays partially closed at low RPM to increase torque, and dissengages at WOT. It was disconinued for the series 2.
QG's are lean burn ENGINES...it uses a bit of extra air to improve performance at early rpm
The solenoid valve controls swirl control valve’s shut/open condition. This solenoid valve is operated by the ECM.
Posted: June 16th, 2007, 3:19 pm
by Empress
had one... well still own one on the ground
Posted: June 16th, 2007, 4:03 pm
by eitech
Posted: June 16th, 2007, 10:59 pm
by axe
uhuh
Posted: June 17th, 2007, 12:06 am
by olton
I'm quite proud of the low maint, fuel economic, QG18.
Mine has >200K on it, and going strong (knocks on wood)
Nice engine. Not a very tuneable one, but real sturdy.
Posted: June 17th, 2007, 6:40 am
by Strugglerzinc
i gots one.
Posted: June 18th, 2007, 7:26 am
by Rodn3y
yup me tooo
Posted: June 18th, 2007, 8:08 am
by Reyos
Have an AD with a QG18DE.... love the power in that dread....
It drinking gas for now...getting a tune up soon....
does handle real nice .....
Posted: June 18th, 2007, 10:09 pm
by Pedro
I have one.. QG16...
Damn proud of it too..
Posted: June 19th, 2007, 2:37 am
by redsupra101
i uhh.. have a qg13 transmission somewhere around in meh yard... dat count?
Posted: June 19th, 2007, 11:06 am
by cdx2k1
The QG16 is nice yo
Posted: June 19th, 2007, 1:17 pm
by QG
redsupra101 wrote:i uhh.. have a qg13 transmission somewhere around in meh yard... dat count?

it depends,

. My QG15 running on 119K and still going good, exhaust fumes clear, the car starts on one bounce and although i have bigger piping the gas mileage damn good still

Posted: June 19th, 2007, 1:19 pm
by QG
Quiksilver wrote:Have an AD with a QG18DE.... love the power in that dread....
It drinking gas for now...getting a tune up soon....
does handle real nice .....
You do ah engine swap or what? Tranny or gears?
Posted: June 19th, 2007, 1:43 pm
by QG
Posted: June 19th, 2007, 1:45 pm
by QG
Check out this link ppl, a QG18DET in Australia competing in race events.

Posted: June 19th, 2007, 8:14 pm
by azis
i have a local almera with a qg16 very good on gas to mileage
and i drives well. it only doing 20,000k's tho
Posted: June 21st, 2007, 10:18 pm
by RadDogJr
Gots a manual QG16. Mad as hell & I love it!!!!!!!!!. Fuel consumption is boss
Posted: June 22nd, 2007, 8:55 am
by sufferrar
Ah posting for me wife since she have the 2004 wingroad QG15de.
Posted: June 23rd, 2007, 12:00 am
by formula_1
QG 16 - reliable and low on fuel consumption

, considering our traffic conditions and the amount of time spent in a stationary vehicle

Posted: June 23rd, 2007, 10:35 pm
by QG
Good, good i know there are proud QG drivers out there...here's an advice that you all should take; buy the PETROL PLUS injector and gas cleaner at LAUGHLINS & DE GANNES for only $25 and u will see greater improvements on the gas mileage.

Posted: June 24th, 2007, 2:02 pm
by juicy_j
QG for life
Posted: June 24th, 2007, 7:37 pm
by Trini_tech
Have A QG15 in my nissan AD
Posted: June 25th, 2007, 11:46 am
by Reyos
You do ah engine swap or what? Tranny or gears?
Bought the car just so......is a Tranny...4WD is the way to go yes
I will try that "Petrol Plus" thing and get back to you on its performace ....
I have to make some time to service that car yes..it real burning gas lately......
BTW...someone tell me that if i looking for new parts for the 4WD AD i would not get it because no one bringing it in....anyone know if that true

Posted: June 25th, 2007, 7:04 pm
by azis
well even if you cant get it outside just walk with ur chasis # and go neal and massy or motorist
Posted: June 30th, 2007, 11:58 pm
by achillies
qg15 in a b15
good gas mileage and i run ac all the time
no problems at all
Posted: July 2nd, 2007, 12:21 pm
by QG
Well Quicksilver, you will get parts for the 4WD AD but you'll have to alot of asking around. Or if you know south good, go to DIAZ ENTERPRIZE in Duncan Village; opposite the LEN HAP Grocery and i'm sure you'll get yuh parts

...if not simply go to Neal and Massy like Azis said.
Posted: July 2nd, 2007, 12:24 pm
by QG
I read that a QG18 comes with 4 O2 Sensors, do you all know if the other sizes of QG comes with 4 or just one?
Posted: July 2nd, 2007, 12:33 pm
by RBphoto
Here is a another idea, get your injectors and throttle body cleaned twice a year and use premium gas. Proud QG18 owner here. My mechanic tell me doh use de cleaners, but I still put one in about a month before is time to do a tune up.
Posted: July 3rd, 2007, 7:18 am
by Strugglerzinc
for a moment i thought you meant QG18 in the Tiida ^^^
Nissan QG15DE, you can do what azis say. You would be surprised.
Posted: July 3rd, 2007, 8:09 am
by RBphoto
[quote="Strugglerzinc"]for a moment i thought you meant QG18 in the Tiida ^^^
QG will not fit in a Tiida. the HR and MR engines specially made for that small engine compartment to boost interior space and legroom. Because of the pushing forward of the firewall, the Tiida has more legroom than a Cifero.
D QG18DE in my bluebird. It has 1 O2 sensor after the cat and headder. The california model sentra have 4, on the headder before the cat on each pipe I think. For emission regulations I guess. The american sentra shop manual for the QG18/ QR25 is downloadable on the net. Worked well for my car.
Mr QG15,
You had that headder made or aftermarket? What did you do with your O2 sensor and emmisions control? Also, think you should put some insulation on that (Lagging)