Looking for the fuel pump power for Y11

sufferrar

Looking for the fuel pump power for Y11

Postby sufferrar » June 13th, 2007, 8:21 am

i going to wire in an on/off switch to the fuel pump as a kill switch in me 2004 Y11.
I look under the back seat and see a harness with 4 wires - i think to me self that 2 is pump power and 2 is fuel guage sending unit. Then it so happen i go under vehicle and see another harness going to the tank. now i'm stumped as to what the other harness is for?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » June 15th, 2007, 11:20 pm

what colour are the 4 wires?

BIG word of ADVICE.....MAKE SURE THAT THE SWITCH U USING IS THE CORRECT CURRENT RATING FOR THE JOB OK!!!!!

sufferrar

Postby sufferrar » June 18th, 2007, 7:23 am

one is black and the other is red. the others are yellow with a stripe and the other is a blue with a stripe -i think i recall.
Yeah , i hade one in my other car it it worked perfect for 9 years and then i sold the car with it. I'll use a similar one.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » June 18th, 2007, 11:35 am

i think its the red...

but find out from a electrician which is the power wire for the fuel pump first

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 18th, 2007, 6:38 pm

eh wha yuh looking for meh :lol: it's goes like this the wires you saw a pair goes for the pump, another for the fuel gauge and then the other pair is for the fuel low light simple thing to do is this and please people Dragsta, you too red is not always power a simple thing to do is this turn on the ignition , listen for the pump it will come on for 5 sec and the cut off , just unjack the pulg and turn back the ignition on and listen if the pump is on if not then thats the wire your looking for.
wait nah your car is ABS?

sufferrar

Postby sufferrar » June 20th, 2007, 8:29 am

Yeah it have abs.
Ah, i did unplug the the connector by the pump. but you say one is for the fuel low light. When i unplug this is what happened- the light came on and the gas guage didn't move and the pump didnt work.

TRICK QUESTION?
so if i unplug the connector how did the gas light come on?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 20th, 2007, 6:04 pm

right the wires that you saw under the car is for the abs and it just passes over the tank it does not go inside it and about the light this is because the light is connected to a N.O (normally Open) connection similar to those in the 5 pin relays ,so that means only 4 wires go directly to the tank
Last edited by Anil_Sooknanan on June 21st, 2007, 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sufferrar

Postby sufferrar » June 21st, 2007, 8:09 am

I see the ABS wire when i take out the back seat -one harness on the left and one on the right under the back seat. The wire i see below the car goes to a rubber grommet and then in to the tank . i don't think that it would go above the tank - since it is clearly seen to not go above.

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » December 14th, 2009, 8:03 pm

Black wire with yellow stripe is the one to cut and place switch.

Rayden6

Re: Looking for the fuel pump power for Y11

Postby Rayden6 » March 15th, 2022, 10:26 pm

Could a WALBRO 255Lph fit in the Y11 fuel pump case or could I just leave out the case? Want to upgrade

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » March 20th, 2022, 1:10 pm

Rayden6 wrote:Could a WALBRO 255Lph fit in the Y11 fuel pump case or could I just leave out the case? Want to upgrade
It will fit... A bit tight and you'll have to squeeze it in. I belive it also depends on the type of fuel assembly you have.

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » March 21st, 2022, 10:23 am

Jerry84 wrote:
Rayden6 wrote:Could a WALBRO 255Lph fit in the Y11 fuel pump case or could I just leave out the case? Want to upgrade
It will fit... A bit tight and you'll have to squeeze it in. I belive it also depends on the type of fuel assembly you have.

It worked jut bottom cap couldn't fit so i tie strap it down heard dollar savers have NEW pumps $250 will go that way soon.