WTK: SR20DE Speed Sensor

DF1_2nR

WTK: SR20DE Speed Sensor

Postby DF1_2nR » May 30th, 2007, 10:21 pm

Which one of these below is the speed sensor?

Reason I'm asking is I installed an APEXi RSM today but I'm not getting any speed reading on it.

RPM reading is fine and everything else is hooked up properly.

I don't know if the speed sensor is connected to the dash so is that the reason no signal is being sent to the ECU?

Would it be possible to wire the speed sensor directly to the RSM and then the ECU and pull the signal that way?

Also which is the signal output wire on the sensor?

Postby Dave » May 31st, 2007, 9:40 am

nope, u need the signal from the ecu to give the apexi unit the signal

i know its not the first pic, the second one isn't too clar what the unit that the harness is pluging into
I know the unit is at the back of the tranny with a 10mm bolt holding it down

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » May 31st, 2007, 10:09 am

Will do a another check for it when I get home.

When I went through the wiring instruction for the unit there were two ways to install it:

1) Speedo -> ECU with the unit spliced into the signal - Speed Cut Remains

or

2) Speedo -> RSM -> ECU - No speed cut.

I used the second method.

What I want to know is if the signal can be sent directly to the ECU, bypassing the speedo, and still get a reading:

Speed Sensor -> RSM -> ECU.

Need to locate the sensor first though.
Last edited by DF1_2nR on May 31st, 2007, 6:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 31st, 2007, 11:32 am

sensor on the tranny is Electronic the speedo does not currently work.

That's your problem right there. I thought you were getting a signal from a working electronic sensor from the tranny. You need to get a speed sensor first then you can wire the Unit... I got a spare eletronic sensor will part with it for $200

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » May 31st, 2007, 12:22 pm

Picasso wrote:
sensor on the tranny is Electronic the speedo does not currently work.

That's your problem right there. I thought you were getting a signal from a working electronic sensor from the tranny. You need to get a speed sensor first then you can wire the Unit... I got a spare eletronic sensor will part with it for $200

^^^ The speedo doesn't work because it is mechanical and the sensor is electronic.
Only way to test if the sensor is working is to hook it up directly to the unit. Trying to to find out if it could work this way.

My main problem is I don't know what the sensor looks like. :oops:

Once I find it I can test from there.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 31st, 2007, 12:32 pm

My main problem is I don't know what the sensor looks like

Holly Crap lol Dave this guy is stuck in some serious mud here. Buddy I thought you knew what it looks like. Ok it's nothing that u took pics of I could tell you that!! Let me see if I can get a pic online of a Nissan speed sensor for you :lol: :lol:

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » May 31st, 2007, 7:12 pm

Ok. So I located the sensor. Hooked up the unit directly to it but still no luck. :(

Decided to trace trace the wires from the ECU and see where everything is routed.

Seems that when the conversion was done they wired the SR harness into the Mitsu harness so its kinda difficult to see what is connected where.

Pulled the instrument panel and LO and BEHOLD the speedo appears to be electronic!!
So much for the mechanic's advice. :roll:

I feel i hadda check an electrician to sort this thing out.

Anybody have a number for a reliable electrician in the east ?

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » June 1st, 2007, 1:29 pm

Somebody................Anybody.............. :( :( :( :( :(

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 1st, 2007, 5:02 pm

If your speedo is a manual speedo then you need a manual speed sensor... get that first then you can move on to step two

nizmoB12

Postby nizmoB12 » July 12th, 2007, 5:05 am

Hey Picasso yuh still have that electronic speed sensor fur sale?