sr20 speed sensor

mild2wild

sr20 speed sensor

Postby mild2wild » May 12th, 2007, 4:03 am

anyone know what type of pulse the SR20 speed sensor sends out? what polarity and voltage is it?

dry

Postby dry » May 12th, 2007, 7:19 am

+5V, 2 pulses per rev

mild2wild

Postby mild2wild » May 12th, 2007, 12:09 pm

thanks for the answer. another question: where does the signal supply originate? my speed sensor is not connected to anything and i am trying to complete the circuit. another couple questions:
where does the signal power supply originate?
do you know the wire colors and order?

i see there are three wires on the back of the cluster which are for speedometer. red, green and yellow/green. do the red and green go to the speed sensor and the yellow/green go to the ecu? what is the correct wiring for this circuit?

thanks...

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 12th, 2007, 3:42 pm

yow dry
can u set a insturment panel 2 a certain pulse or u cant change it??

jus asking cause i mite buy a ck lancer panel and i have ah sr20 5fwd nah.

and well the speedo doh work

mild2wild

Postby mild2wild » May 12th, 2007, 10:11 pm

jasonsjohn16...i'll give my $0.02 on your issue while we wait for 'dry' to weigh in...i think your best bet might be trying to retro-fit a nissan dash into your car as it may be easier to get the tach and speedo to work with the engine and then worry about the lesser issues like the fuel gauge and water temp. my swap is a non-nissan also and i've got a primera dash hooked up to my sr and currently only have the tach and the warning and illumination lights connected. all that's left is the speedo, fuel, and water temp to do...

but all this may be irrelevant depending on additional information that we hope will be provided soon...did you ever get your tach working in the 'bero?...

dry

Postby dry » May 13th, 2007, 12:57 am

yeah.. would be better to use the nissan cluster rather than try to modify the mitsu. mitsu is 4 pulses per rev so you'll end up reading half if you use the nissan sender with the mitsu speedo. (i assume is an electronic speedo you have).

if you could try to fit the mitsu sender on the gearbox, half the problem might be solved, but it could still be off by some weird percentage (due to internal gearing difference etc).

some clusters have a lil potentiometer on them to calibrate the speedo, or some have a particular resistor that needs to be changed to get the reading you need. the info should be somewhere around the internet from somebody trying to convert e.g. kmh to mph or vice versa.

so... your options:
1. use the nissan speedo and sensor
2. try to use the mitsu sender on the gearbox (mightn't work out too well)
3. get an aftermarket digital speedo (e.g. a'pexi rev-speed meter, etc)

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » May 13th, 2007, 1:33 am

^^^ Lawd this ting looking like stress.

Would it be possible to use a Cable type SR sensor with a Mitsu Cable speedo?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 13th, 2007, 2:51 am

okay dry so as u said my best bet would be to use a nissan cluster right>>>

so arite if i use lets say a p11 cluster fits or ah b14 that came with ah sr20..or watever the case may be...and i get a nissan clutch to fit, and i wire up the gearbox to the cluster, would i get all of the readings and everyting to work (speedo,tach,fuel,temp etc) and would it light (would the illumination lights work)??

and well i would get a proper reading if i use a nissan cluster right..

dry

Postby dry » May 13th, 2007, 7:40 am

If you know somebody who did the swap in a mitsu arredy, they could probably advise you on the easiest way. You sure you using electonic speedo and not mechanical?

But once you wire up the cluster to the engine sensors, everything will work and match up properly. The cluster not much different (in concept) from wiring up some autometer gauges etc. Illumination etc will just need a 12V feed for it to work.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 13th, 2007, 10:59 am

okay then cool...well everyone who i know hvae a mitsu/nissan swap never did anyting to the speedo nah..dey jus leave the original one inside...

and well ye ai have a mechanical speedo..but i buying a electronic one..casue my gearbox the sensor ting is electronic...so i going to buy a cluster 2 work wit this.

i will go and check and see which nissan cluster fits the best to the one of that of the lancer.

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » May 13th, 2007, 7:13 pm

is the mechanical sr20 speedo interchangeable with the electronic one? i've got a mechanical one on my tranny and i'm looking to change to a box.

nizmoB12

Postby nizmoB12 » November 26th, 2007, 7:20 pm

"mild2wild" did u ever got that electronic speedo sorted out. I have the same problem, elctronic speedo not connected to anything. All I need is a pulse signal from the speedo.