Oil thickening in engine parked down?

Tired Accord

Oil thickening in engine parked down?

Postby Tired Accord » May 2nd, 2007, 8:18 am

Fellas - meh GTi-R primera park dong by meh parents for the past month nearly. My mom refuse to drive it - but she used to start it at least once every two days and let it run for a 15 mins. But now no one is there, and the veekle jus park dong for about 2 weeks. I have Mobil 1 full synthetic in it. I heard of a story of a pardnah had his vehicle park down by a straightener for about 3 weeks without starting or nothing - and the story was that his oil got too thick, and damaged his bearings or something so. What can I do to prevent this. I expect to visit the car Mother's day weekend... I guess I should let the car warm up before driving, and then drive under 3000 rpm or something like that? So that I reduce any viscosity build up in the oil? Before I look to drag out and fly out at 90 and firetruck something up!! Thanks.

Doom

Postby Doom » May 2nd, 2007, 10:14 am

if u park up, keep fresh oil in engine
the old oil has particles suspensed in it and would cause the thickening

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » May 3rd, 2007, 7:08 am

^^^^Yeah...well that doh really help me yuh know. It too late for that now. It's already done as is. Now I want to know how I should run the vehicle to avoid any problems.

Doom

Postby Doom » May 3rd, 2007, 8:00 am

drain and refill with fresh oil of a thinner body and run that for a lil while and drain him so as to clean up the inside
then refill with what u like to use, should be ok

link

Postby link » May 3rd, 2007, 3:02 pm

Doom wrote:drain and refill with fresh oil of a thinner body and run that for a lil while and drain him so as to clean up the inside
then refill with what u like to use, should be ok

after u replace with Castrol Syntec 5W50 full synthetic, put a Z-max engine treatment ALONG with a Z-max fuel system treatment...then go for your tour....
u can park up for next couple of years with no probs...... :!: :!:

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 4th, 2007, 12:18 pm

Drop it by me, i go take care of it :mrgreen: