height problem

Alsanea

height problem

Postby Alsanea » January 9th, 2007, 2:22 pm

the two sides ah my car is diff height ... changed shock and springs twice ... an it jus stayin normal height for a day or two... i dunno wha cud be the problem ... Nissan B14

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » January 9th, 2007, 2:34 pm

How much of a height diff? you checked the cradle arms, ball joints and other suspension parts? If something else is bent or an incoorect part, that might cause it. I'm assuming the car wasn't in any accident and the chassis in good condition?

demented

Postby demented » January 11th, 2007, 9:56 am

What type of car is it? sometimes the right and left springs are of different heights, like in the old model Nissan March.....could be a mix up.

Alsanea

Postby Alsanea » January 14th, 2007, 7:21 pm

^^ b14 .... i dunno if i got b13 shock an spring on one side ... sm1 was tellin me that cud be the problem ... the car bounces alot more on the right side also ... the car was never in any accidents ....
if i have a b13 shock on one side ... can that be the problem ?

JWT

Postby JWT » January 14th, 2007, 11:53 pm

^^ yes it would be a problem the shock resistance would be different
go back to stock b14

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » January 15th, 2007, 9:12 am

yep...try to get a matching pari and change both at the same time. Advisable to go with NEW shocks...OEM-style like KYB XLGs are rather cheap

Scoop

Postby Scoop » January 15th, 2007, 10:59 am

i changed the shocks on my p11 primera this weekend and when i removed the springs from the shocks i noticed that the left spring was about 2-3 inches longer than the right spring.

Is this normal?

dbesson

Postby dbesson » January 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

flatline wrote:yep...try to get a matching pari and change both at the same time. Advisable to go with NEW shocks...OEM-style like KYB XLGs are rather cheap

I'm with flatline here... i would get all new shocks and springs, if i were you.
"good ting no cheap"

Postby Dave » January 15th, 2007, 11:15 am

some of those oe shocks carry different locations of the mounting plate so therefore replace all at the same time
wasn't the old compared to the new when removed?

Scoop

Postby Scoop » January 15th, 2007, 11:22 am

i used the same springs but new shocks didnt really compare the location of mounting plate