Page 1 of 4

i'm turboing my AD

Posted: December 20th, 2006, 9:16 am
by QG
Well tuners...i never thought this would come through but i am getting a turbo for my AD wagon. It is a turbo used for diesel engine but it can use on my wagon but i'm only taking 5psi boost. If i want to get more psi's i need to modify my engine internals like pistons and cylinder heads and so on. I already have extractors and i installed a 2" exhaust yesterday, so that cut down cost on the turboing process right there :D . In total its costing me about $3000 to $3500 but for only a safe 5psi of boost...the package also includes BOV, intercooler, turbo manifold and other little things that i need. I am getting iridium plugs by weekend and i'm upgrading my fuel system and thinking about throwing in a gear box. But i 'll keep u all posted on this major change, have a good and BLESSED day.

Posted: December 20th, 2006, 1:48 pm
by wagonrunner
when yuh done, and working properly...............feel free to pm me yuh lp# for some "high speed stability testing".

Posted: December 20th, 2006, 2:54 pm
by Big Z
http://www.nissanperformancemag.com/projects/qg18de.php

A howto guide that I'm sure you have seen already...

Posted: December 20th, 2006, 10:39 pm
by larafan
u upgrading brakes and suspension?

Posted: December 20th, 2006, 11:40 pm
by Chiney
larafan wrote:u upgrading brakes and suspension?

!!!

big question there!!

or at least upgrade yuh front disc setup!

Posted: December 20th, 2006, 11:49 pm
by Alpha_2nr
I already have extractors and i installed a 2" exhaust yesterday, so that cut down cost on the turboing process right there . In total its costing me about $3000 to $3500 but for only a safe 5psi of boost...the package also includes BOV, intercooler, turbo manifold and other little things that i need. I am getting iridium plugs by weekend and i'm upgrading my fuel system and thinking about throwing in a gear box

5 psi on a stock compression ratio? Risky IMO.

Also, how are you adjusting the fuelling in your car....fuelling need s to be adjusted/modified based on rpms, load etc (Ecu mapping). If you aren't using any sort of external device to do this, you could be in for some problems (namely detonation). Just putting a bigger fuel pump and extra injector alone will NOT work. You will need to manage the system properly....... :?

Posted: December 21st, 2006, 10:33 am
by QG
larafan wrote:u upgrading brakes and suspension?

Yes, i am planning on getting crossed drilled rotors on the front and rear disc...as for suspension i will buy the drop low performance springs. I may get it for $1200 in central. About my fuel system, i am getting a FUEL PRESSURE REGULATOR with a guage and my cousin will bring down an Engine Management System (high performance chip) so i can adjust how much fuel to deliver per RPM. I will also need to change my fuel rail and etc...

Posted: December 21st, 2006, 10:35 am
by QG
Big Z wrote:http://www.nissanperformancemag.com/projects/qg18de.php

A howto guide that I'm sure you have seen already...

yeah thanks for the link but i've seen this already and i printed the pages as well.

Posted: December 21st, 2006, 11:16 am
by Big Z
Sure you dont want to swap in an sr20 det?

Posted: December 21st, 2006, 11:31 am
by Alpha_2nr
Yes, i am planning on getting crossed drilled rotors on the front and rear disc...as for suspension i will buy the drop low performance springs.

Please don't be confused....drop springs are NOT performance springs, although many folks who run them feel tha they are. :lol:

They are just for cosmetics; the spring rates don't match the stock struts, adn as such, the handling of the car can decrease (although the centre of gravity is now lower).

an Engine Management System (high performance chip) so i can adjust how much fuel to deliver per RPM.

You'll need to dyno and tune eh. An EMS is not just plug and play...you'll need to do multiple dynos to retune.

What kind of power are you looking to make?

Possibly 140-145 bhp (@ the crank)?

Posted: December 21st, 2006, 1:14 pm
by southside connections
hmmmmmmmmm i think i know dis fella her kv dais u ent krusty here fellaz irt realy pullin for jus what he put it boy

Posted: December 21st, 2006, 4:05 pm
by larafan
yuh should look into bigger rotors...calipers and booster as opposed to the cross drilled business...

Posted: December 21st, 2006, 6:57 pm
by sr20ve
sell the qg15 and put a qg18 b4 you turbo ....it makes alot more sense

Posted: December 21st, 2006, 7:17 pm
by JWT
am high performance chip
pallie there is no chip for those ECU's
you will need an safc
so you will need a next $1800 atleast

so you have to cater now
$6000.00
buy a dman det and finish

waiting for him to start the high speed stability testing which you will loose because you are buying cheap springs :lol: :lol:

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 1:33 am
by sr20ve
go qg18det ...u'll eat up some sr men

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 4:15 am
by JJ16
^^sr20det vs qg18det...who gonna win dey??
cause i see u say qg18det will eat up some sr men..u meant non turbo sr>??

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 9:17 am
by weapon-X
jasonsjohn16 wrote:^^sr20det vs qg18det...who gonna win dey??

ent, i hope so. :wink:

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 9:43 am
by JWT
ahh youngins

allqg engines need head work and alot of it
so give baldwin a call and organise that

plus bottom end
hmm
parts ent parts :mrgreen:
no such thing as a turbo build under $6000 and getting it to work

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 10:59 am
by weapon-X
JWT wrote:no such thing as a turbo build under $6000 and getting it to work

correct is right, unless is yuh family working on de engine, and organizing the parts for the setup 8-)

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 11:34 am
by QG
jasonsjohn16 wrote:^^sr20det vs qg18det...who gonna win dey??

so why a qg18det can't compete with an sr20det? to me if u do the right modifications a qg18det can beat the sr's. Don't forget NOS...i am crazy enough to run it.

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 12:36 pm
by JWT
amm because you never opened a qg18de engine and saw your connectinf rods and if you do they look like macaroni sticks
=snap :lol: :lol:

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 1:28 pm
by wagonrunner
Nissan QG15DE wrote:so why a qg18det can't compete with an sr20det? to me if u do the right modifications a qg18det can beat the sr's. Don't forget NOS...i am crazy enough to run it.

same tune or same stock. there is a phrase in motorsport, that goes "NO REPLACEMENT FOR DISPLACEMENT"

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 3:49 pm
by QG
JWT wrote:amm because you never opened a qg18de engine and saw your connectinf rods and if you do they look like macaroni sticks
=snap :lol: :lol:

Lol, u didn't had to make it sound so bad 8-) , but have u learnt about changing rods and pistons???? Surely u can swap out them stock things with racing performance parts. Sr's were designed for sport or racing...but the thrill of dragging and modificating, is to sup up an engine and have it running just as or better than another engine no matter the type. Too much people have SR's and RB's so wouldn't it be great to see a QG beat VTEC like nothing, or SR's if the case may be? :P

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 4:05 pm
by QG
southside connections wrote:hmmmmmmmmm i think i know dis fella her kv dais u ent krusty here fellaz irt realy pullin for jus what he put it boy

Ok krusty, not too sure what ur trying to say there pal, but thanks. Aye ah posting the pics on hi5 so don't fraid to check it out.

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 8:42 pm
by JWT
unfortunately i do not think there are any forged ods for the QG series or pistons not to sure.
advice if you are serious about spending that amount of money on your engine do a sr20det swap and i will assist you where i can

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 8:47 pm
by wagonrunner
JWT wrote:i will assist you where i can

*traumatised by memories of a clutch disc from a RB26DETT primera*

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 8:57 pm
by Aaron 2NR
^^ *shakes head*

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 9:07 pm
by JWT
JWT wrote:i will assist you where i can

*traumatised by memories of a clutch disc from a RB26DETT primera*

sheit clutch slip hit ah backhoe :lol: :lol:
brakes fail mind you 300zx brakes too eh :lol: :lol:

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 9:58 pm
by Dave
a qg18det would never be able to compete with a sr20det, far less for a sr18det
the qg engine parts are too soft and meant for economy driving not for forced induction
far more 2 power adders on a qg, partner yuh better buy a head and block and put down, u gonna need it

just get up and running with 5-7psi and cool yuhself

Posted: December 22nd, 2006, 10:57 pm
by Alpha_2nr
Sr's were designed for sport or racing

Really? Since when? Certainly not. They can be modded...yes...but that's a different story.