i'm turboing my AD

QG

i'm turboing my AD

Postby QG » December 20th, 2006, 9:16 am

Well tuners...i never thought this would come through but i am getting a turbo for my AD wagon. It is a turbo used for diesel engine but it can use on my wagon but i'm only taking 5psi boost. If i want to get more psi's i need to modify my engine internals like pistons and cylinder heads and so on. I already have extractors and i installed a 2" exhaust yesterday, so that cut down cost on the turboing process right there :D . In total its costing me about $3000 to $3500 but for only a safe 5psi of boost...the package also includes BOV, intercooler, turbo manifold and other little things that i need. I am getting iridium plugs by weekend and i'm upgrading my fuel system and thinking about throwing in a gear box. But i 'll keep u all posted on this major change, have a good and BLESSED day.

Postby wagonrunner » December 20th, 2006, 1:48 pm

when yuh done, and working properly...............feel free to pm me yuh lp# for some "high speed stability testing".

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » December 20th, 2006, 2:54 pm

http://www.nissanperformancemag.com/projects/qg18de.php

A howto guide that I'm sure you have seen already...

larafan

Postby larafan » December 20th, 2006, 10:39 pm

u upgrading brakes and suspension?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 20th, 2006, 11:40 pm

larafan wrote:u upgrading brakes and suspension?

!!!

big question there!!

or at least upgrade yuh front disc setup!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 20th, 2006, 11:49 pm

I already have extractors and i installed a 2" exhaust yesterday, so that cut down cost on the turboing process right there . In total its costing me about $3000 to $3500 but for only a safe 5psi of boost...the package also includes BOV, intercooler, turbo manifold and other little things that i need. I am getting iridium plugs by weekend and i'm upgrading my fuel system and thinking about throwing in a gear box

5 psi on a stock compression ratio? Risky IMO.

Also, how are you adjusting the fuelling in your car....fuelling need s to be adjusted/modified based on rpms, load etc (Ecu mapping). If you aren't using any sort of external device to do this, you could be in for some problems (namely detonation). Just putting a bigger fuel pump and extra injector alone will NOT work. You will need to manage the system properly....... :?

QG

Postby QG » December 21st, 2006, 10:33 am

larafan wrote:u upgrading brakes and suspension?

Yes, i am planning on getting crossed drilled rotors on the front and rear disc...as for suspension i will buy the drop low performance springs. I may get it for $1200 in central. About my fuel system, i am getting a FUEL PRESSURE REGULATOR with a guage and my cousin will bring down an Engine Management System (high performance chip) so i can adjust how much fuel to deliver per RPM. I will also need to change my fuel rail and etc...

QG

Postby QG » December 21st, 2006, 10:35 am

Big Z wrote:http://www.nissanperformancemag.com/projects/qg18de.php

A howto guide that I'm sure you have seen already...

yeah thanks for the link but i've seen this already and i printed the pages as well.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » December 21st, 2006, 11:16 am

Sure you dont want to swap in an sr20 det?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 21st, 2006, 11:31 am

Yes, i am planning on getting crossed drilled rotors on the front and rear disc...as for suspension i will buy the drop low performance springs.

Please don't be confused....drop springs are NOT performance springs, although many folks who run them feel tha they are. :lol:

They are just for cosmetics; the spring rates don't match the stock struts, adn as such, the handling of the car can decrease (although the centre of gravity is now lower).

an Engine Management System (high performance chip) so i can adjust how much fuel to deliver per RPM.

You'll need to dyno and tune eh. An EMS is not just plug and play...you'll need to do multiple dynos to retune.

What kind of power are you looking to make?

Possibly 140-145 bhp (@ the crank)?

southside connections

Postby southside connections » December 21st, 2006, 1:14 pm

hmmmmmmmmm i think i know dis fella her kv dais u ent krusty here fellaz irt realy pullin for jus what he put it boy

larafan

Postby larafan » December 21st, 2006, 4:05 pm

yuh should look into bigger rotors...calipers and booster as opposed to the cross drilled business...

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » December 21st, 2006, 6:57 pm

sell the qg15 and put a qg18 b4 you turbo ....it makes alot more sense

JWT

Postby JWT » December 21st, 2006, 7:17 pm

am high performance chip
pallie there is no chip for those ECU's
you will need an safc
so you will need a next $1800 atleast

so you have to cater now
$6000.00
buy a dman det and finish

waiting for him to start the high speed stability testing which you will loose because you are buying cheap springs :lol: :lol:

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » December 22nd, 2006, 1:33 am

go qg18det ...u'll eat up some sr men

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » December 22nd, 2006, 4:15 am

^^sr20det vs qg18det...who gonna win dey??
cause i see u say qg18det will eat up some sr men..u meant non turbo sr>??

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » December 22nd, 2006, 9:17 am

jasonsjohn16 wrote:^^sr20det vs qg18det...who gonna win dey??

ent, i hope so. :wink:

JWT

Postby JWT » December 22nd, 2006, 9:43 am

ahh youngins

allqg engines need head work and alot of it
so give baldwin a call and organise that

plus bottom end
hmm
parts ent parts :mrgreen:
no such thing as a turbo build under $6000 and getting it to work

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » December 22nd, 2006, 10:59 am

JWT wrote:no such thing as a turbo build under $6000 and getting it to work

correct is right, unless is yuh family working on de engine, and organizing the parts for the setup 8-)

QG

Postby QG » December 22nd, 2006, 11:34 am

jasonsjohn16 wrote:^^sr20det vs qg18det...who gonna win dey??

so why a qg18det can't compete with an sr20det? to me if u do the right modifications a qg18det can beat the sr's. Don't forget NOS...i am crazy enough to run it.

JWT

Postby JWT » December 22nd, 2006, 12:36 pm

amm because you never opened a qg18de engine and saw your connectinf rods and if you do they look like macaroni sticks
=snap :lol: :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » December 22nd, 2006, 1:28 pm

Nissan QG15DE wrote:so why a qg18det can't compete with an sr20det? to me if u do the right modifications a qg18det can beat the sr's. Don't forget NOS...i am crazy enough to run it.

same tune or same stock. there is a phrase in motorsport, that goes "NO REPLACEMENT FOR DISPLACEMENT"

QG

Postby QG » December 22nd, 2006, 3:49 pm

JWT wrote:amm because you never opened a qg18de engine and saw your connectinf rods and if you do they look like macaroni sticks
=snap :lol: :lol:

Lol, u didn't had to make it sound so bad 8-) , but have u learnt about changing rods and pistons???? Surely u can swap out them stock things with racing performance parts. Sr's were designed for sport or racing...but the thrill of dragging and modificating, is to sup up an engine and have it running just as or better than another engine no matter the type. Too much people have SR's and RB's so wouldn't it be great to see a QG beat VTEC like nothing, or SR's if the case may be? :P

QG

Postby QG » December 22nd, 2006, 4:05 pm

southside connections wrote:hmmmmmmmmm i think i know dis fella her kv dais u ent krusty here fellaz irt realy pullin for jus what he put it boy

Ok krusty, not too sure what ur trying to say there pal, but thanks. Aye ah posting the pics on hi5 so don't fraid to check it out.

JWT

Postby JWT » December 22nd, 2006, 8:42 pm

unfortunately i do not think there are any forged ods for the QG series or pistons not to sure.
advice if you are serious about spending that amount of money on your engine do a sr20det swap and i will assist you where i can

Postby wagonrunner » December 22nd, 2006, 8:47 pm

JWT wrote:i will assist you where i can

*traumatised by memories of a clutch disc from a RB26DETT primera*

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 22nd, 2006, 8:57 pm

^^ *shakes head*

JWT

Postby JWT » December 22nd, 2006, 9:07 pm

JWT wrote:i will assist you where i can

*traumatised by memories of a clutch disc from a RB26DETT primera*

sheit clutch slip hit ah backhoe :lol: :lol:
brakes fail mind you 300zx brakes too eh :lol: :lol:

Postby Dave » December 22nd, 2006, 9:58 pm

a qg18det would never be able to compete with a sr20det, far less for a sr18det
the qg engine parts are too soft and meant for economy driving not for forced induction
far more 2 power adders on a qg, partner yuh better buy a head and block and put down, u gonna need it

just get up and running with 5-7psi and cool yuhself

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 22nd, 2006, 10:57 pm

Sr's were designed for sport or racing

Really? Since when? Certainly not. They can be modded...yes...but that's a different story.