NOISE SOUNDING LIKE A BLOWOFF FROM AN ALMERA
Posted: December 17th, 2006, 3:29 pm
by REVO
HI NISSAN SPECIALIST OUT THERE,
I'M HEARING A NOISE SIMILAR 2 THAT OF A BLOWOFF FROM A TURBO, HOWEVER, NOT THAT LOUD AND LONG, FROM MY ALMERA.
I ONLY NOTISED IT WHEN THE AC IS ON AND I PRESS OUT. I'M VERY PARTICULAR WITH NOISES FROM MY CAR.
I EXPERIENCED THE SAME THING WITH MY B14.
YOU PROBABLY THINK I'M NUTS BUT I AINT
WHAT COULD THIS BE, THE COMPRESSOR COMING ON? SO LOUD?
IT RECENTLY STARTED.....SO I'M WONDERING AS THE CAR IS GETTING OLDER(USAGE) THIS IS HAPPENING.
THANKS.....I HOPE SOMEONE KNOWS WHAT I'M TALKING ABOUT.
Posted: December 17th, 2006, 4:42 pm
by SCHOLARS
i heard something like that from my padner ole 626 and next one with ah 2003 lancer. same blow off when pressin hard with and without ac running i would like to know why.
Posted: December 17th, 2006, 5:22 pm
by infared
yea my padnah b13 does sound so. when he mash hard on de gass on nuetral or sumtin it does get dat kinda sound. anyone know why?
Posted: December 17th, 2006, 6:47 pm
by cacasplat3
i got it a couple times, but only when the gear changes under hard acceleration, really slight thing, i always thought it was a vacuum leak or sumthing. not loud or anything but audible when the engine is revving at about 5500rpm
Posted: December 17th, 2006, 7:49 pm
by sparkie
If it is when you 'press out' it could be the compressor disengaging, if it happens after you 'press out' or let up on the X it could be the compressor engaging. Most nissan EFI disengage the AC compressor at WOT to give maximum power to the wheels.
The compressor shouldnt make to much racket, it could be a worn clutch disk, u should be able to get it new from the firm and it doesn't need the gas to be removed, can be changed on the car with the system sealed.
Posted: December 20th, 2006, 5:42 am
by larafan
allyuh musse have turbo and allyuh aint know...
*shrugs*
Posted: December 20th, 2006, 7:29 pm
by JJ16
hmm ^^ uh know men runnnin real PSI and eh even know it

Posted: December 20th, 2006, 9:52 pm
by larafan
dat musse jess a firetruck belt slipping or some kinda firetruck ting...
Posted: December 26th, 2006, 1:48 pm
by RadDogJr
My Almera makes the same type of noise also and I have no probs with it. My ride's working great and the blow off sound gives it some effect. Chill man! Everthing's ok. Most Almeras doing the same thing nowadays once it a manual.
Posted: February 6th, 2007, 1:10 pm
by iceman2nr
Could it be your air filter box open an u hearing vacuum?
Posted: February 25th, 2007, 6:50 pm
by REVO
^^^^ nah doubt it
Posted: February 26th, 2007, 1:05 am
by Chiney
Most nissan EFI disengage the AC compressor at WOT to give maximum power to the wheels.
100% true..
its programmed into the ECU to automatically switch off the compressor to allow the car to get its max. power to accel. really fast.. reason for that is, if u wanna get ah quick launch or u call on the engine for ah sudden jolt of power.. the compressor WILL come off to give the car that required power...
the noise u hear is the bearing on the compressor wen the clutch looses the belt while it waz spinning fast..
ah mechanic told me this.. so if its wrong.. dont bash..
Posted: March 4th, 2007, 1:27 pm
by Dion76
since u all talkin bout almera's where can i get a cold air intake for a almera
Posted: June 26th, 2007, 8:40 am
by RadDogJr
Check MASKA in La Romain (behind PIZZA HUT)