WTK: Using overdrive to gear-down

demented

WTK: Using overdrive to gear-down

Postby demented » December 11th, 2006, 3:44 pm

Okay, I want to know if at speeds of say above 100Km/hr I turn off the overdrive switch and let the tranny gear down while releasing the gas pedal is wise? Is this ok to do or will it eventually damage the tranny? Vehicle is a B13

QG

Postby QG » December 11th, 2006, 3:58 pm

No it will not, it may feel or sound harsh to the tranny but it will not affect the tranny. My father has a b14 for like 6 yrs now and we does take off the O/D button to geardown at times, and the car going good still. Remember too that automatic transmissions can take alot more jammin' than a gear box.

Postby wagonrunner » December 11th, 2006, 4:09 pm

Nissan QG15DE wrote:Remember too that automatic transmissions can take alot more jammin' than a gear box.
really?. can you post some more info on that?

Postby Dave » December 12th, 2006, 7:56 am

^^^mine can :mrgreen:
in the stock form, HELL NO, an auto will never be able to take more jamming than a manual
gearing down using the OD is no probs, for longevity sake, don't do it all the time

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » December 12th, 2006, 10:34 pm

^^^so u modded ur tranny to burn out from neutral to drive safely? i jus heard that u can do that :?

Postby wagonrunner » December 12th, 2006, 11:53 pm

strange, that you state as the purpose of his modded tranny. :roll:

and yes swami, i'm speaking about stock forms. :lol: hell, if i forge my gears, etc, which one stronger? :poke:

Postby Dave » December 13th, 2006, 7:47 am

why would u want to rev in N and drop in D?
no mine with the modds wasn't made to do that

right now i am willing to try anything with mines, wanna come test, forge away :P

speed king

Postby speed king » December 15th, 2006, 1:23 pm

wat bout kicking down hard an juss before the gear changes let go of d x an let d car juss keep rolling wil dat damage it??

demented

Postby demented » December 15th, 2006, 1:29 pm

^^^ I find myself doing that at times too...I don't know why I do it though :? Hope this will not cause damage either. :oops:

Postby Dave » December 15th, 2006, 1:30 pm

again, why would u want to do that?

demented

Postby demented » December 15th, 2006, 1:45 pm

^^^ speed king does probably do it to make noise with he big exhaust barrel :lol: I dont have no noisy barrel.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 16th, 2006, 12:38 pm

whey boi, men here really need ah gearbox yes.........

so do i :oops:

sti-hybrid

Postby sti-hybrid » December 16th, 2006, 12:57 pm

why would u want to rev in N and drop in D?
no mine with the modds wasn't made to do that

go ahead and preach man :idea: :idea: :idea:

sinners-bliss

Re: WTK: Using overdrive to gear-down

Postby sinners-bliss » December 18th, 2006, 10:56 pm

demented wrote:Okay, I want to know if at speeds of say above 100Km/hr I turn off the overdrive switch and let the tranny gear down while releasing the gas pedal is wise? Is this ok to do or will it eventually damage the tranny? Vehicle is a B13

I got buff up for tht already once :oops:

so now i have proof that if i don't do it alllll the time it won't damage the watever allyuh call it

Thank you dave 8-)

in the stock form, HELL NO, an auto will never be able to take more jamming than a manual
gearing down using the OD is no probs, for longevity sake, don't do it all the time

Postby equipped2ripp » December 19th, 2006, 12:41 am

if yuh know yuh car well in terms of how the gears run/run out etc, you won't be asking questions such as these.

demented

Postby demented » December 19th, 2006, 7:50 am

^^^ i just wanted to know about the long term effects.