WTK. CAN I TURBO MY VVL????

Posted: November 9th, 2006, 9:56 am
by turbotustee
HEY TUNERS, I NEED SOME HELP, WOULD IT BE WISE TO TURBO MY VVL? AND IF SO, WAT POT HOLES SHOULD I TRY TO AVOID?

I HEAR ALOT OF PEOPLE SAY THE ENGINE CANT HANDLE THE BOOST IS THIS REALLY SO? ANY ADVICE WOULD BE APPRECIATED.... THANKS.

OH BY THE WAY ITS A FRONT WHEEL DRIVE

Posted: November 9th, 2006, 10:31 am
by joker
ravi tuned ramai trace debe or alvin same address

Posted: November 9th, 2006, 10:36 am
by Aaron 2NR
the engine runs a higher compression dan a sr20de so that was the main reason why a lot of ppl stay away from turboin that engine...pm JWT on this he was goin to turbo his an no where all the parts can be obtained...from lower compression pistons etc

Posted: November 9th, 2006, 10:45 am
by Dragsta
a padna turboed his rwd s15 vvl and it never worked good. took it out back and sold it

Posted: November 9th, 2006, 10:59 am
by turbotustee
SHOULD I SWAP THE ENGINE FOR A DET? OR CAN I GET IT RUNNING PEEK N.A.?

Posted: November 9th, 2006, 11:11 am
by turbotustee
:?: :?

Posted: November 9th, 2006, 12:20 pm
by TriniGT
If you have the money go for it. Once tuning is right it should be good, or you could swap out the pistons for some low compression pistons and tune from there, low compression pistons with some decent boost levels can yield some nice results. That's my advice, get DET pistons and turbo it. The Intake on the VVL engines are very well made and the flow is much better, no need for changing the flow characteristics. Eveerything should work out nice, jusat get a good fuel management setup and you're good to go.

Posted: November 9th, 2006, 1:34 pm
by lallaman
TriniGT i'm turbo'n ah SR18 where can i get some larger injectors......

Posted: November 9th, 2006, 1:47 pm
by TriniGT
What size turbo are you using? If a T25 I can get 370CC injectors for you, they work excellent on that setup.

Posted: November 9th, 2006, 1:52 pm
by lallaman
check ur pm

Posted: November 10th, 2006, 8:47 am
by sti-hybrid
trinigt while we on injectors topic i lookin 4 ga16 injectors 4 a paddner that is the one with the slot on the tip not the one with the holes

Posted: November 10th, 2006, 8:51 am
by TriniGT
Don't have any but might know someone that has them.

Posted: November 10th, 2006, 10:16 am
by flatline

Posted: November 14th, 2006, 3:52 am
by nizmoB12
Aye turbotustee I have a brand new set of forged low compression pistons for the SR. PM me if interested

Posted: November 14th, 2006, 7:52 am
by Picasso
^^ How much for them ?

Posted: December 7th, 2006, 8:55 am
by trinilife
Is it possible to turbo a vvl running on cng,or any engine running on cng?I will really like to get some info on this since I dont no much about this turbo car thing ,now bought a sss bluebird u14 with a blacktop vvl engine and cvt transmission .I also wanted to know if I can get my computer not to trip at 185km.Let me know the cheapest and most effective way to do these things if possible .