Turboing a Nissan 120y engine

V2NR 3.0

Turboing a Nissan 120y engine

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 24th, 2006, 9:57 pm

Nissan People,

Got a nissan 120y 1500cc engine in a suzuki jimny. looking for a very small turbo to hook on safely. any ideas? - this idea is not to get more power, but for looks. yeah ah wanna slap on a small inter-cooler and thing nah.

Its ah offroading vehicle.

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » October 25th, 2006, 8:19 am

Get a starlet engine?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 25th, 2006, 8:29 am

Starlet engine?. I already have the 120y installed.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 25th, 2006, 10:32 am

caburated engines is kind ah stress to turbo, i doh trust them at all, especially with ah air/fuel mixture going into the turbo. thats a fire hazard IMO :?

V2NR 3.0

120 y turbo

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 25th, 2006, 10:42 am

cacasplat
A small turbo system...with a lil small piping and intecooler.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 25th, 2006, 10:42 am

running about 5 PSI...that cant be so dangerous. or could it?

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » October 25th, 2006, 2:31 pm

^^Starlet good

Postby Maserati » October 25th, 2006, 2:45 pm

if is carb. is sometimes be stress 2 boost it..d starlet 1.3 turbo nice.

V2NR 3.0

120 y turbo

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 25th, 2006, 3:33 pm

Peeps,

1. Is a starlet engine rear wheen drive with 4x4 capability?
2. Will it fit up in a jimny?
3. Whats the cost?

speed demon

Postby speed demon » October 25th, 2006, 10:09 pm

dread u have one of two ways to do it blow thru or draw thru ,contrary to popular belief it can be done , and safely too yuh guy just need to under stand what he is doing

if it was so trouble some some of the greatest engines that were carburated and turbo would have never been cause car manufacturers wouldnt have bothered ok

is carburated turbo engines gsr lancers get name on aight ........

what it is is when when men gone interferring lookin for more wit out understanding the secene is how it get bad name ........

just find somebody who cud do it for u is all and understand that what eva u doin u will have to spemnd a lil change to get it right !!!!!

Kasey

Postby Kasey » October 26th, 2006, 12:06 am

Bottom line:
this idea is not to get more power, but for looks

Dude, turboing ur engine JES for looks is ridiculous. If u want looks, hook up an intercooler pipe, to an intercooler on the front and run the pipes inside the engine bay without hooking it up. Ppl go think it turbo. There u have it, looks and u'll have to jes spend bout $500, as opposed to the $7000 which might be the approximate cost of PROPERLY installing and turbocharging dat engine u have.

Postby equipped2ripp » October 26th, 2006, 1:33 am

Kasey wrote:Bottom line:
this idea is not to get more power, but for looks

Dude, turboing ur engine JES for looks is ridiculous. If u want looks, hook up an intercooler pipe, to an intercooler on the front and run the pipes inside the engine bay without hooking it up. Ppl go think it turbo. There u have it, looks and u'll have to jes spend bout $500, as opposed to the $7000 which might be the approximate cost of PROPERLY installing and turbocharging dat engine u have.

exactly...

V2NR 3.0

120 y turbo

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 26th, 2006, 8:43 am

LOL

V2NR 3.0

120 y turbo

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 26th, 2006, 8:45 am

speed demon wrote:dread u have one of two ways to do it blow thru or draw thru ,contrary to popular belief it can be done , and safely too yuh guy just need to under stand what he is doing

just find somebody who cud do it for u is all and understand that what eva u doin u will have to spemnd a lil change to get it right !!!!!

Do you or can you offer guidance on this lil project?. I hear there are some turbo march vehicles that come with 1000cc engines. Maybe a unit from one of those would work?

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » October 26th, 2006, 2:07 pm

Dude turbo eh cheap, and don't even think of the IC hookin up to nothin, you'll just look like a moron, that is like havin guages with no purpose is just to light up when your park lights on lol......U want anythin turbo be prepared for $$$$

V2NR 3.0

turbo 120y

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 26th, 2006, 3:26 pm

It seems that no-one knows how to TURBO a 120y engine.

Speed Demon - any help?

speed demon

Postby speed demon » October 26th, 2006, 5:04 pm

hear wha happenin i could intro u to my mech. he is old school and learnt this mechanic ting pretty good ,he knows how to go about it but he probobly wouldnt cuz hiz plate full right now but if u willin to pull some wrench take some advice from him i guess u cud go about ur self i wouldnt mind helpin too cuz i have a 120y, have comsidered it and as such have had lengthy discussions wit my mech

i simply havnt had the time and extra monay to do so cuz of school because of school

the first first ting i kno 4 sure is that u gonna have to get a webber or some other performance carb. cuz they gonna be easier to tune

y? cuz 4 example the webbers dont have all kinda vacuum ports all over the place to run all kinda other rubbish attached to the engine, was not built with too much economy in mind hence, tuning is simpler ..........

also there have been lengthy discussions on this topic in the tech forums aloooooong time ago , in which an article was presented both for and against both approaches

And last but not least ask Dave , i have spoken to him on the topic aloooooooooong time ago too and he told me of a mech he knew that did it so is if that guy still around u have another option ...

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » October 26th, 2006, 5:27 pm

Pa, i know men who turbo L28 carburated engines already. Is more or less the same process, just u piping the boost to your carburator (Webber preferably). There will be some extra fabrication needed, for instance...u need to make a plate for the aftermarket carburator to bolt up on the intake manifold.

Jus doh run plenty boost.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » October 27th, 2006, 10:18 am

A guy from here did this and his car is real Wukkin ill get a number for you

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » October 29th, 2006, 3:10 pm

this sounding like a nice project....i hope u get through with it.... :wink: :wink:

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 6th, 2006, 5:06 pm

sounds decent.
btw ent someone had a sr20det from a pulsar gti-r in a jimny on the tracks once?
according to kes it run a 12 secs SIDEWAYS...

wish i saw that!

sti-hybrid

Postby sti-hybrid » November 8th, 2006, 6:44 pm

Jus doh run plenty boost.

:lol: and u safe 4-5psi max

cjawahir

Postby cjawahir » November 9th, 2006, 10:53 pm

hi all, I think you can turbo anything, if you are going to run high boost you must consider doing something to the carb,increasing the fuel, maybe changing the jet size etc or just change the carb.
the other thing is the oil lines to the turbo, the vehicles oil pressure must be good enough to work the turbo.
If a trini wants to turbo a 120y I know he will do it, good luck man.

cj

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » November 15th, 2006, 5:57 pm

pall turbo the thing just make sure u have fuel running to it use ah webber or ah holly easier to tune stay at 5psi

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 16th, 2006, 7:13 am

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:A guy from here did this and his car is real Wukkin ill get a number for you

Pappy, dont forget the number

kerron01

Postby kerron01 » November 16th, 2006, 10:27 pm

I like how that project sounding, ole school. Once you know what your doing go for it bro. 8-)

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » November 16th, 2006, 11:14 pm

This is def a gas drinker, i have a perdna that turboed his glant and he use to burn 5 gas from home to arima, now he burns $20.00

It is not advised.. try to make a EFI for the engine head if you so want to turbo that engine, or just do a engine swap and work your way from there..

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 17th, 2006, 1:34 am

u better off doin ah swap..

but if its wat uw anna do..

jus go about doin it the correct way and let us kno how it goes..
BTW.. u will get an increase in power!

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 17th, 2006, 1:16 pm

It seems that no-one knows how to TURBO a 120y engine

Change yuh mind, it WILL NOT work. yuh have reeeaaal stress to seee. put in a CA18det if u want to go turbo for looks or a raw power SR20. the starlet is front wheel dirve it will not work also.

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » November 17th, 2006, 2:31 pm

hear what your could do...go to datsun1200.com....its de ultimate datsun website....mostly deals with datsun a series engines....u will get more dan enough info on how to turbo an A12,A14 and A15 engine....both fuel injected and carbureted....who knows yuh might get ah fuel injection setup to buy from the JDM sunny b310...those guys on there know where to source it and it will make turboing the a15 easier dan ah carburetor setup....CHECK IT OUT!!! :)