QG16 DE(T) ... running for 50K km and still going

benzene

QG16 DE(T) ... running for 50K km and still going

Postby benzene » October 24th, 2006, 4:05 am

I been reading through the threads bout boosting qg engines and i have myself done so and have been using it daily for 50k km now..Stock internals, stock clutch.... Basically just slapped it on.. with some additional mods ie injectors, adjustable fuel reg., emanage blue

hope this helps put some closure to the myth of boosting a QG16 engine :lol:

*** Hope this works ***

[img::]http://upic.me/i/ki/engbay_wastegate31.jpg[/img]

[img::]http://upic.me/i/2n/engbay_wastegate41.jpg[/img]

Here are some specs:

QG16 DE - STOCK INTERNALS **installed turbo when km dial at 190,000 KM up to now .... 240,000 km **

Boosting - 0.5 bar

injectors - 370 cc JZ turbo vvti ** plug'n'play :shock: **

adjustable fuel regulator

fuel pump - stock JZ vvti

External Wastegate

E-manage blue - used to control the injectors only

Timing - left it to the stock ECU

So...have fun boosting...by the way it pulls pretty good for 1600cc :wink:
Last edited by benzene on February 16th, 2009, 11:21 pm, edited 9 times in total.

benzene

Postby benzene » October 24th, 2006, 4:10 am

TURBO -- Stock SR20
ex manifold --- custom made
intercooler --- VR4

All the above are second hand parts...so the set up wasn't that expensive...pretty much worth the $$

Rx

Postby Rx » October 24th, 2006, 11:13 am

wah !! :shock:

that ought to answer the boosting qg16 questions .

I guess this is also a daily driver ? :wink:

lots of milage there :shock:

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » October 24th, 2006, 12:10 pm

sounds very good....bigger injectors, 7psi, fuel management and a recirculated setup. Would be nice if you brought it to the next dyno day, so you can get some numbers.

Just saw the pics...noticed the O2 sensor is pretty close to the turbo and might cause wrong readings and premature failure of the sensor (but if it's there for 50000km...). Did you use a wideband to help tune it?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 24th, 2006, 12:46 pm

sweeet
is this local though??

Postby Sinister_Audio » October 24th, 2006, 2:04 pm

wow impressive,
would love to see the dyno numbers?
and u should time it on the 1/4

Postby Maserati » October 24th, 2006, 2:47 pm

sweet man!!

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » October 24th, 2006, 3:19 pm

this is trini right???
any IC shots??

looks awesome....but how does it run is the real question

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 24th, 2006, 4:11 pm

the man location is thailand :shock:

pics not showing :cry:

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » October 24th, 2006, 4:35 pm

^right click to view the pic, or paste the image addy in the address bar. That image hosting site seems to be giving some problems.

:? This does seem to be posted from away :(

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 24th, 2006, 4:37 pm

i tink this isnt local

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 24th, 2006, 5:21 pm

ok saw the pics. and

:shock: that thing looks like it runs.

i still think that the intake piping is too small though, but all in all to see a car like this on stock internals after 50k thats impressive, nissan power :mrgreen:

aaron i hope u taking note eh!!!

i wish i could do this to my car, injectors is my problem though :cry:

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » October 24th, 2006, 5:40 pm

ok so we all agree it looking nice, and is an nice lil project

but do you have any hp figures? , track times??

i know ppl who turbo n/a engines and their setup works not much better than when n/a...so lets hear the verdict on the peformance

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 24th, 2006, 5:48 pm

Hp figures will be around 130... I talked to Chimike last year August on Nissanperformance mag forum and he said the best thing to get is the QG18DE and turbo it. But I won't even bother with a project like this 15devils turboed his B15 and the engine blew up 2 days later

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » October 24th, 2006, 8:03 pm

Nice job you did there.I still think an SR20DET swap is the way to go for anyone who wants the turbo power. Its a bit easier to setup and will deliver lotsa power.

But job well done. Not many people will go thru the headache of turboing a normal engine.

benzene

Postby benzene » October 24th, 2006, 8:50 pm

Thanks for all the comments... :)

Sorry to disappoint some of u :lol: but I'm in THAILAND

As for this project i myself was thinking of making a swap but was surfing the web and found the QG18 turbo project on NPM to be very interesting ***special thanks to those creating the project :wink: ***

Looking at the specs...the compression ratio is the same 9.5:1 for both the QG16 and 18 and the only diff found was the bore size of 76 and 80.....So what the hell :D

I started to buy and gather all the goods needed (Second hand parts are not that expensive and not that hard to find here in THAILAND)

After calculating the cost for this installation ..... and carfully using every note and details from NPM .... it was pretty worth it.... :lol:

All of this costs me around 1000 USD :shock: :shock: (converted from Thai Baht)

Eventhough i used a mixture of some toyota, nissan, or mitsubishi ie injectors fuel pump...intercooler , turbo....

I basically was just concentrating on the essentials....to be boosting safely :wink:
That's y i didn't really care about the brand of mods i used :lol: Hey..it works right?

benzene

Postby benzene » October 24th, 2006, 8:54 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:wow impressive,
would love to see the dyno numbers?
and u should time it on the 1/4

thx but i haven't had time to do any but would love to soon though :lol:

im still trying to find the time cuz i work and only have time on weekends but frankly i wanna rest on weekends....(damn lazy :lol: )

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 24th, 2006, 11:11 pm

:( i cyah see it ..the pics nah showing here still..i try the right click ting

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 25th, 2006, 12:49 am

niceeee
so the toyota injectors were a perfect it?
no mod needed?

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » October 25th, 2006, 8:25 am

Nice :cool: But the pics don't work!

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 25th, 2006, 9:52 am

right click the pics, click properties, copy the image link to yur addy bar and u good to go :wink:

benzene

Postby benzene » October 25th, 2006, 10:41 am

jnqaz wrote:niceeee
so the toyota injectors were a perfect it?
no mod needed?

the plugs fit PERFECT :shock: :shock:

But will have to replace the O-rings on the injectors to make it fit the stock fuel rail and intake manifold inlet....not a problem i think

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 25th, 2006, 12:27 pm

^^^huh... great job buddy

Postby Sinister_Audio » October 25th, 2006, 12:29 pm

benzene, i see from the ECU shot that car is still transmission...
hows that holding up so far?
any signs of slipping?
and 50k right? but how hard do you drive it?

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » October 25th, 2006, 2:31 pm

^^Herre fellas

benzene

Postby benzene » October 26th, 2006, 8:33 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:benzene, i see from the ECU shot that car is still transmission...
any signs of slipping?

Yea its M/T and the stock clutch is taking pretty well....tires still screeching 1st and 2nd but doesn't hold that well from 3rd on....But like i said .... i drive it daily to work and i am ok with the result as it doesn't totally slip when i step on the accel.... :wink:

PS..i drive it pretty hard and not to mention driving around 140k per Day.... :wink: but that's just my opinion ...

But i will be upgrading the clutch soon...i hope :D

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 26th, 2006, 8:44 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:benzene, i see from the ECU shot that car is still transmission...
any signs of slipping?

u ah rel boss to see that shot an no its automatic :?
cuz if u zoom in ull see a manual shifter but ok
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on October 26th, 2006, 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 26th, 2006, 8:45 pm

benzene, sweet project dude...wud love to hear the 1/4 mile time an dyno results though...

k.c.151

Postby k.c.151 » October 27th, 2006, 3:01 pm

nice job....

i wud also like 2 no dyno runs an 1/4 mile times...

well done though...

benzene

Postby benzene » December 28th, 2006, 5:10 am

increased injector size and upgraded the clutch...locally :lol: shifts much much better :shock:
gonna increase boost and will go dyno it or mayb go to the strip...soon hopefully