RB20DET HELP!!!!

RB26

RB20DET HELP!!!!

Postby RB26 » October 11th, 2006, 10:16 am

the engine is currently idling vey fast with black exhaust smoke, does any body kno wat could be causing this problem any help would be greatly appreciated

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » October 11th, 2006, 1:41 pm

what was done to the engine prior to getting the problem? Check and spray out the AAC valve. this link shows you how it's done http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums ... 10431&st=0

RB26

Postby RB26 » October 11th, 2006, 2:55 pm

nothing was done to the engine it is a completely stock unit, automatic though tried MAF Sensor, TPS already

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 13th, 2006, 2:27 pm

check for vaccum leaks and sensors on teh intake manifold, the link above shows you how to clean the AAC..

you shouold download the RB20 Factory service manual for your vehicle..

http://forums.hybridz.org/showthread.php?t=105952

warriorking

Postby warriorking » October 13th, 2006, 2:54 pm

You could check for a vacuum leak. Check the hose that connect to the throttle body as well as the brake booster. I think it does also have a line that connects directly to the intake manifold, yuh could check that also.

A vacuum leak can cause the engine to "run rich" which would case the black smoke.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 16th, 2006, 2:24 am

i know your car cud idle real high if someting either wrong with your air intake...or well ur idle settin..and well what was the last ting u did before u started getting these probelms?

shameedali

Postby shameedali » November 6th, 2006, 2:52 pm

RB26 wrote:nothing was done to the engine it is a completely stock unit, a
utomatic though tried MAF Sensor, TPS already

who wire your car

southside crew

Postby southside crew » November 14th, 2006, 8:00 pm

you have a vented blow off on your car?

BASS MONSTERS!!!!!!

Postby BASS MONSTERS!!!!!! » November 17th, 2006, 11:24 pm

this is caused by either a damaged air flow or faulty wireing to the airflow, black smoke is a result of to much gas being dumped into the chambers not enough air to copensate for it so it burns black..................