my car care tips and info

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 18th, 2007, 6:29 pm

aye fellas anyone want there cars service or know anyone want there car service i buy a injector cleaner kit so i could do a full service ( oil change , filter, plugs, service the trottle body, air filter, gas filter, filter in the tank, service injectors service air flow and AC service ) looking for some $$ to buy a graphing analizer

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 19th, 2007, 10:18 pm

to know if you evaporator is clogged place your hand in front the vents and feel the air pressure if it's really low you may have a clogged evaporator or if it's smelling kinda oldish

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 22nd, 2007, 8:34 pm

A little do it yourself tips
if the car fails to start
1) nothing from the starter -A) check and see if their is power in the battery, turn on the headlights on high and hunk the horn and see if it sounds normal is so then do this
B) make sure it's properly on park or try starting on neutral or pull it stright down to 1 then back to park
C) if your hearing a clicking sound from the starter but it doesn't tumble then most likly your starter stuck or the brushes bad don't get all worried you can simply use your wheel spanner and tap the started it will work but maybe only to get you home ( it's normally under the intake manifold bit hard to reach but gotta do it , at the back of the engine
D) check and see if the starter wire is unhooked

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 22nd, 2007, 11:09 pm

Coolant temperture sensor - most people (including mango tree mechanic) think it's just to put on and takeoff the fan No well it does that too but it's for cold start, it controls the fuel system depending on the engine temperture this is why new model cars don't have to warm up it just makes the injectors dump more gas untill it warms up .. the car uses this signal untill the car reaches opperatind temperture then switches to the O2 sensor for the rest of the opperation
this could b installed? and hoss yuh kno d condition of my car... i feel we hadda link up a day and rel wuk on d car... i pretty sure it'll b a reasonable price. but i want to DO some wuk eh, i eh like dependin on ppl... i here to learn too.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 22nd, 2007, 11:10 pm

it hav sooooooooooooo much ting u talk about there that i need to see about... better we jes link up an u see fuh yuh self...

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 23rd, 2007, 12:25 am

it hav sooooooooooooo much ting u talk about there

yea but a lot of people here too don't appreciate this thread so say what lol you do and another fella

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 23rd, 2007, 2:08 am

believe me... almost everything you mentioned there... i hadda work on

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 23rd, 2007, 11:48 pm

Quote:

Coolant temperture sensor - most people (including mango tree mechanic) think it's just to put on and takeoff the fan No well it does that too but it's for cold start, it controls the fuel system depending on the engine temperture this is why new model cars don't have to warm up it just makes the injectors dump more gas untill it warms up .. the car uses this signal untill the car reaches opperatind temperture then switches to the O2 sensor for the rest of the opperation

this could b installed?

what??

turbonator

Postby turbonator » June 24th, 2007, 1:21 am

i believe dat d ccolant temp sensor is for fuel injected cars.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 24th, 2007, 1:25 am

nope B12,b13 have it too

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 25th, 2007, 8:07 am

so it can b installed?

turbonator

Postby turbonator » June 25th, 2007, 6:54 pm

nope B12,b13 have it too

But ent dem ting still have a ECU, to a certain extent? I doubt yuh could install one on ah Daihatsu Charmant reason being that it doesn't have a brain.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 25th, 2007, 7:11 pm

ohhhhhhhh you want to put a idle up in a chamant? well boy thats a good one but i'm working on that too for my own car i know how to do it but the thing is time boy time lol my own car eh think it easy :lol:

Primera VVL

Postby Primera VVL » June 26th, 2007, 6:57 am

With regards to that thermostat sticking .....What causes it to start sticking even faster is the use of water in your radiator...Water is very corrosive so if corrosion starts taking place on that thermostat well yuh sure to get some problems sooner or later....Fellow tuners please invest in some premix coolant...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 26th, 2007, 8:23 am

ohhhhhhhh you want to put a idle up in a chamant?

no no. the thing that doesn't require the car to warm up...

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 26th, 2007, 10:04 pm

no no. the thing that doesn't require the car to warm up...

wha ah lost

Pedro

Postby Pedro » June 27th, 2007, 10:47 am

^^ Anil, the man want to install a Coolant Temp Sensor on he car. It probably don't have one.

Yuh gone back saying how people doh appreciate yuh postings... wham boy? Yuh know what everyday I going to post something POSITIVE about yuh tips okay pal.. :D

Anyway, I have a question. Every day or two days I have to put about 1 inch of water in my over flow bottle. The Radiator aint have no leaks (did a pressure test) that we could see and none of the hoses leaking or anything either. So this constant topping up of the water is normal... I don't think so. If not what else can I check?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 27th, 2007, 12:30 pm

^^ Anil, the man want to install a Coolant Temp Sensor on he car. It probably don't have one

so it CAN be installed?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 27th, 2007, 7:36 pm

is everything in the car original? radiator ect? Pedro, do you use coolant , did you try flushing the system? how was the pressure test done? the correct way?
DJ Q,
not sure about the charmant but sum cars come with a sensor that turns on vacuum when it is cold and off when it is hot so if you car has this you can do what you want seeing that the newer cars have a ecu controlling the idle up if you put one in your car it will ile up every time the fan cuts off and you don't want that you need some sort of electronic system to opperate this onless i think up some thing

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » June 27th, 2007, 8:58 pm

Like the thread Anil. keep it coming.
Pedro, was the pressure test done with a gauge and with the engine running? had the same problem and tested my system yesterday. the rad was good with no leaks, but one of the hose clamps had lost tension and the water dribbled out and evaporated when it hit the hot engine.

Anil, what do you think about changing the pressure cap to a higher rated one for better cooling?

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » June 27th, 2007, 8:59 pm

Like the thread Anil. keep it coming.
Pedro, was the pressure test done with a gauge and with the engine running? had the same problem and tested my system yesterday. the rad was good with no leaks, but one of the hose clamps had lost tension and the water dribbled out and evaporated when it hit the hot engine.

Anil, what do you think about changing the pressure cap to a higher rated one for better cooling?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 27th, 2007, 10:39 pm

DE-VE,i think some where in this thread has info on radiator caps but i'll still run thru it the cap has a psi rating ... firstly the opperation .... as you know anything that gets hot expands (even ppl) :lol: so if the radiator completly sealed the water will have no where to go thats where the cap comes in. the water expands and pushes the seal in the cap if you look carefully at a cap it has a seal and spring what it really is a valve.
so when the water gets hot and expands it pushes the cap seal open and sends the excess water to the expansion tank (over flow bottle) as it cools the radiator creates a vacuum and opens the seal again and refills the radiator
so you really want to know what will happen if you put a higher rating cap
lol you'll be amazed yes the water will go to the expansion tank but not back to the radiator hence it's a process of expansion and contraction , yes there will be expansion and yes there will be contraction but on your hose you will get up every morning and see your hose totally sucked in .if you understand clearly you'll forget you ever taught about that :wink: if you don't say!! i'll explain further

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 27th, 2007, 10:47 pm

DE-VE,i think some where in this thread has info on radiator caps but i'll still run thru it the cap has a psi rating ... firstly the opperation .... as you know anything that gets hot expands (even ppl) :lol: so if the radiator completly sealed the water will have no where to go thats where the cap comes in. the water expands and pushes the seal in the cap if you look carefully at a cap it has a seal and spring what it really is a valve.
so when the water gets hot and expands it pushes the cap seal open and sends the excess water to the expansion tank (over flow bottle) as it cools the radiator creates a vacuum and opens the seal again and refills the radiator
so you really want to know what will happen if you put a higher rating cap
lol you'll be amazed yes the water will go to the expansion tank but not back to the radiator hence it's a process of expansion and contraction , yes there will be expansion and yes there will be contraction but on your hose you will get up every morning and see your hose totally sucked in .if you understand clearly you'll forget you ever taught about that :wink: if you don't say!! i'll explain further

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 28th, 2007, 8:23 am

DJ Q,
not sure about the charmant but sum cars come with a sensor that turns on vacuum when it is cold and off when it is hot so if you car has this you can do what you want seeing that the newer cars have a ecu controlling the idle up if you put one in your car it will ile up every time the fan cuts off and you don't want that you need some sort of electronic system to opperate this onless i think up some thing

WHAT?!!

I LOSS..

Ok what I want, is to install (whatever it is) that wud allow me to drive the car just as well as it does warm when it's cold. So that I don't have to wait for the car to warm up...

Pedro

Postby Pedro » June 28th, 2007, 12:39 pm

Anil, I use to use collant until I saw that I was loosing every day, so I drained and put water. Did the pressure test the correct way (I think) but as I said it came up good. What else can I try?
Maybe I should do a flush and test again?

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » June 28th, 2007, 6:36 pm

put some food colouring in the water, it"ll stain the spot thats leaking.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 28th, 2007, 9:36 pm

put some food colouring in the water, it"ll stain the spot thats leaking.

:wink: this could work but you need to have water alone in the radiator
and add colouring and pressurize the cooling system

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 29th, 2007, 8:37 am

Ok what I want, is to install (whatever it is) that wud allow me to drive the car just as well as it does warm when it's cold. So that I don't have to wait for the car to warm up...

Pedro

Postby Pedro » June 29th, 2007, 10:39 am

Aye Anil, answer DJ Q first and then we will talk.. the man was "in line" before me.

Sorry dey DJ Q didn't mean to bounce yuh question. :lol:

But Anil, maybe you could do the test for me?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 29th, 2007, 11:54 am

na no scene... i jus wanna know if it cud happen...