How do u know an Autech SR20

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 21st, 2006, 8:04 pm

i have vvl pistons if u want

They going for free ? :|

Postby Maserati » September 22nd, 2006, 4:48 pm

here are engraved intials on my block next to the sr20 stamp

n e pics. of this?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » September 22nd, 2006, 7:12 pm

^^ yea fuh real..any pics of the stamp..and also..how much dem VVL pistons going for...that cud work on meh normla sr20de ent...

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » September 28th, 2006, 6:38 pm

1000 for the vvl pistons ....

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 29th, 2006, 11:36 am

^^ Hmm dat not bad...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 29th, 2006, 9:40 pm

^^ jed why do that.. JWT cams,Cam gears,Nismo extractors, and SR20VVL Pistons gonnah make one hell of a SR N/A porject. Oh don't forget to do a port and polish,MSD Blaster Coils,Irridium spark plugs ( I preffer NGK ),Cold air intake,2 1/4 exaust and an SAFC. Then to hit them stock turbo men for six, a wet 100 shot of NOS

NOS?? LOL. Yeah Picasso. And it still gets pwned by a "Slowbaru".

On stock turbo.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » September 29th, 2006, 9:41 pm

yea buh ah "Slowbaru" cost like 3times de price of that so :lol: iz still cool :mrgreen: doh hut uh body

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 29th, 2006, 9:52 pm

Nah...not u jed.

Picasso's mighty SR20DET duz make Subaru's look "slow" apparently. (as if :lol:)

jason, the Autech SR20 is a special customized version, made by Autech of japan. They made custom versions of many JDM nissan vehicles...like a 4 door Skyline with a GT-R swap and AWD for one.

Look at exhaust, headers, intake, and cams. But don't just slap it on. IMHO...dyno your car everytime you do a mod....and if you can get your engine "tuned" for the upgrades...even better. You'd be surprised what a simple tune can do.

Ya'll folks lucky.....2wd dynos are available in T'dad. No AWD dynos for me :(

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » September 29th, 2006, 9:56 pm

wha kinda car u have knight???

and sorry i din mean to come over like tha..i was jus harassin uh..so casso have ah mighty Sr20DET tha does make ah suba.look slow...wOTTTT

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 29th, 2006, 10:58 pm

so casso have ah mighty Sr20DET tha does make ah suba.look slow...wOTTTT

No he doesn't.....SR20DET? :lol: Maybe At 10-12 psi? Untuned? Make a Scubie look slow? Not gonna happen. :lol:

Beating 1.6 TS's don't count.

and sorry i din mean to come over like tha..i was jus harassin uh.

No offence taken.

Anyways...just make sure and at least dyno your car as it is, before you do any mods to it. Set a baseline for yourself. IMO, that's key when you plan to mod your vehicle. Plus when you upgrade, you can dyno to see how your power curve looks, and if you have access to a good tuner, he can play around with the car's settings to get that power band right where you want it.

Remember everything in you engine has to work in tandem with one another, and the ECU, to get the best performance. Putting on headers is one thing, but when you go to something like cams, you have to do more IMHO. I'm no expert, but remember that ignition timing, fuelling etc were already set up in the stock ECU for a certain cam profile. Changing that changes everything. Now the ECu has to be "tuned" /trained to handle that. Piggyback ECU maybe?

wha kinda car u have knight???

I said "AWD Dyno"....... HINT HINT. :twisted:

:D
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on September 29th, 2006, 11:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Sinister_Audio » September 29th, 2006, 11:06 pm

yuh really eh wanna go down that road there pally lolll
thaz a longggg one haha

but u have this eng in a b13? what vehicle?
things u should do:
dyno,
time ur car on the quarter.
n whatever you add on... dyno to know the actual outcome to see what u did..
if either + / -
and as someone said...
You'd be surprised what a simple tune can do.

the man is right... u may have the right parts...
but if they dont function properly,
u'll endup with a downfall.

and dont go slapping on 3-4 parts at the same time expecting a big increase in EVERYTHING!
different parts do different things...
so try it one at a time,
cuz you'd never know where something goes wrong
jus a lil advice :idea:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » September 29th, 2006, 11:15 pm

hey thax alot thaz some real bess advice..nah man i nah on nobody..i does jus be on kix with all dem ppl on de forum..i doh ever mean anyting in a disrespectful way..

:lol: ah b13..why u tink so boy..cause is ah sr :lol:...iz de guy tha like 2 be different nah...i eh ever hear anybody with ah SR in ah libero..so i put one..:lol: so thaz ur ansa dere..i have tha engine in ah mitsu libero wagon...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 29th, 2006, 11:20 pm

You'd be surprised what a simple tune can do.

the man is right... u may have the right parts...
but if they dont function properly,
u'll endup with a downfall.

Ditto.

You can put a whole bunch of mods in your car, but if you don't tune...you're not gonna get the kind of gains you should.....

.....and a guy who does much less mods, with a good pro-tune, might dyno alot higher than you too.

E.g. putting on headers.....fairly straightforward...but what design? 4-2-1? And then, how's your powerband gonna shift after you put that on? It makes no sense having a whole bunch of power in the high rpm range, and little down low.

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » September 30th, 2006, 10:51 am

what is the redline for the autech sr?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » September 30th, 2006, 11:23 am

i tink the autech sr's redline at 9000RPM's not 2 sure..but i believe dey say that the Autech and the B16a redlines almost de same..and i know dem civic men..does run right up to 9000

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 3rd, 2006, 5:11 pm

Quote:

No he doesn't.....SR20DET? Maybe At 10-12 psi? Untuned? Make a Scubie look slow? Not gonna happen.

Beating 1.6 TS's don't count.

Hmm another blabber mouth eh ? :|

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 3rd, 2006, 10:57 pm

Hmm another blabber mouth eh ?

Being a "blabber mouth" would entail me making unfounded comments, and not even having a ride close enough to match yours...wouldn't it?

And BTW you're the one who boasted to me of running up to 12 psi.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 4th, 2006, 3:14 pm

:lol: :lol: ^^^ allyuh great..knight sry if u doh mind me asking again...wha kinda car u have and wah u runnin and stuff..if u doh mind telling ..well if u do ..lol jus say so..so i doh bother u again 2 ask..

:popcorn:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 4th, 2006, 7:17 pm

I eh really care nah *Slams Forum door and leaves *

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 4th, 2006, 7:42 pm

hmmmm :popcorn: :drinking:

Val

Postby Val » October 5th, 2006, 12:52 pm

The Autech in BlueICE's car gives him low 15's on the quarter mile. Somewhere around 180 crank hp right?

Which is easier to get parts for, SR20VE or Autech SR20?

What would perform better, SR16VE or Autech SR20?

Picaslow's Wingroad vs Knight1's Impreza WRX (STi?), probably Knight1 would have the advantage from a launch. But that is not relevant to the thread.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 5th, 2006, 1:22 pm

^^^No!! Didn't you see my avatar? I havea HKS Ralliart-edition Nismo Nissan B15 with Turbo and VTEC. :D

Picaslow's Wingroad vs Knight1's Impreza WRX (STi?), probably Knight1 would have the advantage from a launch. But that is not relevant to the thread.

^^^Not to mention more horsepower, more torque, more boost.....

Val knows my bizness :lol:

Which is easier to get parts for, SR20VE or Autech SR20?

I suspect that parts for the VE should be easier to find....at the end of the day, the SR20VE was a mass produced engine, the Autech-special SR20 was a limited run. Cams, ECU, etc are different. But I'm no expert....so I'm subject to correction.

Val

Postby Val » October 5th, 2006, 2:10 pm

I know this isn't an SR20VE vs Autech SR20 thread...

but at the end of the day, from this thread I conclude that the SR20VE is the better option.

It's open for discussion.

PS - ent u had a ITR too?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 5th, 2006, 3:15 pm

the SR20VE is the better option

Ditto... If you can get your hands on a Autech SR20DE then go ahead. But the SR20VE is a newer engine and newer technology. Remember the goal of a vehicle manufacturer is to make more fuel efficient and also not in all cases making it more powerful.

But let's not stray from the thread question " How do u know an Autch SR20 ? "

One paticular thing is the sound in high rpm. I remember when I was in BlueIce car several times you would hear the engine scream like a honda B16a in High rpm, which is defintely what you won't heard from standard SR20's :|

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » October 5th, 2006, 11:13 pm

Val, i know the ve has the potential(no doubt!!!) but from all the ve's i've run and seen run , none has dipped below mid 15's , even those with the vvl controller thing for the gb. So far in trini i cant vouch for a single ve performing well along with proof.
obvious choice would be the ve btw ,but i dont understand how there are so much manual ve's with the vvl controler gb thing that run so crappy.
I remember when I was in BlueIce car several times you would hear the engine scream like a honda B16a in High rpm

its a k20 with a sr20 VC y0

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 6th, 2006, 9:11 pm

Quote:

^^^Not to mention more horsepower, more torque, more boost.....

:shock: :lol: :lol: :lol: allyuh SAD UH KNOW!...if allyuh cud say picaslow wha allyuh guh call my car :lol: and well knight hm..men bussin uh files yes...but that wud be a nice race 2 watch...when allyuh runnin tha one jed?

anyway have pics of a Autech SR20 like 2 show the difference between the normal SR and the Autech..like jus off the bat by looking at it...

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 21st, 2006, 3:00 pm

yea but ey....casso...u said in the first page right that the Autech SR20 comes with a slightly different colour of silver...

krack korn

Postby krack korn » October 21st, 2006, 9:56 pm

These are the pages from the Autech website. these are the modified SR20DE versions in the Pulsar (2 versions) and Lucino. It is the same chassis basically. There is a rumor about another model in the Primera that has higher power but I cant find it on the website.

Pulsar: http://www.autech.co.jp/HISTORY-SV/N15S01/index.htm

Pulsar: http://www.autech.co.jp/HISTORY-SV/N15S02/index.htm

Lucino: http://www.autech.co.jp/HISTORY-SV/N15S03/index.htm

You will notice the power and torque curves, It makes no sense revving a lot past the HP peak so redline will be around 7000 in these vehicles, 7200 for the most. Looks like 7200 from the graphs.

This is a picture of an autech pulsar showing the engine. Looks like a normal highport, bare aluminum cover.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 21st, 2006, 11:28 pm

hmm look exactly like my engine except the lil black by the plugs..other than that looks the same exact way as my engine,

Postby Maserati » October 21st, 2006, 11:44 pm

=there are engraved intials on my block next to the sr20 stamp

talk done