Datsun L20b

BC

Datsun L20b

Postby BC » September 9th, 2005, 2:04 pm

Hey guys, soon i'll be getting a l20b motor. Any suggestions on how to begin tweaking this motor?? I'd like to be doing at least 15 secs on the 1/4 when i'm finished modifying it.

Thanks.

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » September 9th, 2005, 8:01 pm

lol :lol: :mrgreen:

fastredminx

Postby fastredminx » September 11th, 2005, 12:23 am

want a brand new crane 292 cam? with springs......$1200.
also ha a s.u manifold that would work jus find with a set of jaguar carbs.

BC

Postby BC » September 12th, 2005, 8:17 am

How much do you want for the manifold?? I already have a pair of 1 1/2 inch SU's off a Jag and this may come in handy.

I'll have to do some more research on that cam.

Walk510

Postby Walk510 » September 12th, 2005, 9:57 am

set of twin 40 or 45 side draft webbers with a datrally manifold and a 72deg works cam

GA16

Postby GA16 » September 12th, 2005, 11:03 am

Although this is considered old school, this is a really nice engine that runs really good and very strong. I think I can hook you up with side draft manifold if you want to go that way, I can put you onto the person that I think still has it. also I got a Z20 block with flat top pistons for sale if u interested. This works with your L20 head, if you combine the block with a L18 head, cams and side drafts you can make some good power. PM me if u are interested.

BC

Postby BC » September 12th, 2005, 1:39 pm

Thanks guys. Ga16 check your PM.

Does anyone know where i can source a pair of 40 mm side draft webbers used?

fastredminx

Postby fastredminx » September 14th, 2005, 12:12 am

check katurbobeast ah gave him the price of ah set of 40's & the number to call don't kno if he used it.
ah does hardly see da fella to refresh meh memory on d price

nash

Postby nash » September 28th, 2005, 11:40 am

Those engines are really tough,you don't have to be seen by a mechanic every week fixing something.GA16 gave some good info,if you decide to go that way.There was an L18 in wallers a while ago that did 14secs or so,but thats was with alot of mods.
Update us on the project.

BC

Postby BC » September 28th, 2005, 2:18 pm

Thanks guys. Well right now the engine is being rebuilt. I got some flat top pistons for it and the head is being match ported with the manifold. I think i'll use the SU's I have right now and see how they run. Maybe later I'll see about getting a pair of webbers.