P10/P11/P12 Club

TechArt

Re: P10/P11/P12 Club

Postby TechArt » July 8th, 2010, 6:13 pm

Sum how you always have a greater peace of mind when you DIY........ kudos meng.

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » July 8th, 2010, 7:25 pm

Fellas I having some problems.

My alternator is not charging the battery. Barely made it home last weekend as the car was losing power intermittently all along the way and accelerating erratically. Battery light never came on. Reached home and tried to start and nothing. Double checked the plug on the alternator and it was secure.
Any idea what could be causing this? Bad Fuse? Alternator dead?

Also when I put on the AC the pulley on the compressor is not spinning freely. Kinda sticks and moves causing the belt to slip when it sticks. Do i need to replace it or can this be repaired?

yakuza

Postby yakuza » July 8th, 2010, 7:38 pm

^ sounds like AC compressor clutch on the way out, not worth the while to have it repaired.

alloywheel

Postby alloywheel » July 9th, 2010, 12:59 pm

DF1_2nR wrote:Fellas I having some problems.

My alternator is not charging the battery. Barely made it home last weekend as the car was losing power intermittently all along the way and accelerating erratically. Battery light never came on. Reached home and tried to start and nothing. Double checked the plug on the alternator and it was secure.
Any idea what could be causing this? Bad Fuse? Alternator dead?

Also when I put on the AC the pulley on the compressor is not spinning freely. Kinda sticks and moves causing the belt to slip when it sticks. Do i need to replace it or can this be repaired?

Dude, this sounds exactly like what happened to me a few months back on one of my P11's. More than likely, the main crank pulley, that's the one closest to the bottom of the engine, if it's a SR20, the pulley is divided into two, an inner and an outer pulley. Remember there are two belts, the thing is, the two pulleys are fused together with a rubber, after a while, that rubber wears out and the two pulleys spin independently. You will also be hearing a whirring noise and you may also smell burnt rubber.
Solution: press out the main crank pulley and mig weld both pulleys together. Don't attempt to weld it while on the engine because you'll run the risk of welding it UNBALANCED. I had to fabricate a tool to press out the pulley. Good luck sir.

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » July 10th, 2010, 12:47 pm

^^^ That was the damn thing self :?

The outer ring is very loose. Feels like it could come off if pulled hard enough.

Anybody have a crank pulley in good condition they willing to sell?

thunder7554

Postby thunder7554 » July 10th, 2010, 1:50 pm

thunder7554 wrote:People, I had the so called opportunity to change my water pump in my P11 (SR20) and it was a headache.]

and NOW FOR MORE HEADACHE It looks as though one of my water hose BEHIND the BLOCK is leaking now AAAARRRRGGGGGGHHHHHHHH.

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » July 10th, 2010, 2:02 pm

the small one or the big one? I condemned the small ones and capped the end of the lines and for the big one I got a B15 top radiator hose and cut the part with the bend to use.

thunder7554

Postby thunder7554 » July 10th, 2010, 7:29 pm

Dave-ve wrote:the small one or the big one? I condemned the small ones and capped the end of the lines and for the big one I got a B15 top radiator hose and cut the part with the bend to use.

Well actually I tightened the hose (big one) and it seems the leaking stopped but I'll keep monitoring it. Thanks for the advice there Dave.

GoS

Postby GoS » July 10th, 2010, 10:41 pm

want to know the best alarm to put on meh p11 i want to put the auto window thing and remote start i have about 1500

GoS

Postby GoS » July 13th, 2010, 12:02 am

fellas i know i must be asking real question please just help meh my cool air intake is a reactive brand i take it down just now and notice it real mocky and dirty what can yuh use to clean it is ah wire mesh looking thing like

alloywheel

Postby alloywheel » July 13th, 2010, 2:15 pm

guilty on sight wrote:fellas i know i must be asking real question please just help meh my cool air intake is a reactive brand i take it down just now and notice it real mocky and dirty what can yuh use to clean it is ah wire mesh looking thing like

Dude, once it's not the paper type disposable cone filters, you can either purchase the K&N maint. cleaning kit and use or do as i did on my bro. in law's filter. He had one of the cheap gauze type filter, I cleaned it by submerging it and rigorously shaking, dipping and draining it multiple times in a solution of water and dishwashing liquid. Rinse thoroughly under normal running water, let it air dry in the sun. Once it's dried, spray on a light film of tranny fluid, using one of those spray bottles, windex bottle etc. Let sit, pat dry off any excess oil with paper towel and VOILA!. You're done. Did this once, still working after 5 months. DISCLAIMER. I will not be held responsible for any unforseen damages arising out of said activity. Good luck dude.

iwanttogofast

Postby iwanttogofast » July 18th, 2010, 8:18 pm

This is mines taken after the intercooler was finished....

thunder7554

Postby thunder7554 » July 18th, 2010, 9:21 pm

^^^^^ So yuh ready to rumble, keep us updated:)

iwanttogofast

Postby iwanttogofast » July 18th, 2010, 9:51 pm

not quite still have sum work to be done...will keep updating!!

turbosnail

Postby turbosnail » July 22nd, 2010, 8:18 pm

i had a clifford in mines and had the window roll down feature

guilty on sight wrote:want to know the best alarm to put on meh p11 i want to put the auto window thing and remote start i have about 1500

turbosnail

Postby turbosnail » July 22nd, 2010, 8:24 pm

i have a pair of those lights when i changed my trunk lid pm me

Keyser Soze wrote:primera soldiers, i'm looking for a pair of P11 sedan trunk lights as mine don't match with the tail lights.... take a look and see what I mean:
It's a crappy pic, but you can see that the tail lights are amber on top and stop lights below and the trunk lights are stop lights on top and reverse lights below...I need a pair with the stop lights below and reverse lights on top. Will buy a complete trunk if i have to.
Anybody got those lights?

turbosnail

Postby turbosnail » July 22nd, 2010, 8:30 pm

so fellas as we have had some successful meets so will be our next one and when ?
where sm any ideas

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » July 22nd, 2010, 10:24 pm

My Turbo Kit is here (T04 unit) but i think it's a overkill so i looking to sell and go with something smaller any ideas of a VE-T

TechArt

Postby TechArt » July 23rd, 2010, 7:45 am

Slap in the kit................ and prep the VE block on the ground.

turbosnail

Postby turbosnail » July 25th, 2010, 12:42 pm

aye where alluh lets get some ideas flowing for next meet

GoS

Postby GoS » July 25th, 2010, 1:43 pm

i say ah maracas run or something

thunder7554

Postby thunder7554 » July 25th, 2010, 10:10 pm

or another garage day for those who have work to do on their car? :|

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » July 26th, 2010, 9:34 pm

^^ agreed...i still eh finished with mine :(

Scoop

Postby Scoop » July 26th, 2010, 10:35 pm

my clutch died today so ill be down for about a week
i considering selling out
other major priorities seem to be emanating

turbosnail

Postby turbosnail » July 27th, 2010, 12:40 am

so a Maracas run or Garage day ?
lets get some views going here

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » July 27th, 2010, 11:19 am

sm wrote:i considering selling out
other major priorities seem to be emanating

^^What ??! :shock: What priorities could that be? You eh start to enjoy the new toy and yuh want to sell?

One of my injectors started leaking (third one now) between the connector and the body. :evil: :evil: Luckily I have a couple spare ones home. I seriously need to upgrade those things and stick in a fuel computer. More f*&kin $ again.

I say garage day. I need to do a oil change / injector, some seals, crossmember mounts, etc.

Scoop

Postby Scoop » July 27th, 2010, 3:27 pm

exactly im jus always tempted to spend $ on her

kwasos

Postby kwasos » July 31st, 2010, 2:08 pm

guys i have a p12 primera with a sr20 engine and cvt transmission installed "conversion" could the absence of an oil cooler unit cause transmission problems after driving the car for a few hours???

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » July 31st, 2010, 7:19 pm

the cvt oil heats up quite a lot when driving. best to avoid using the car until you can install an oil cooler. you can get a universal transmission oil cooler at most parts places and it's easy to install.

original cvt cars tend to have a bigger oil cooler in the radiator than cars with normal transmission. I had a universal cooler installed and bypassed the oil cooler in the rad when I had my cvt. never had any problems with this setup.

boost-infestation

Postby boost-infestation » August 1st, 2010, 3:05 pm

On advice from a colleague I have installed Tein springs with P11 shocks on both the rear and front of my P11 . The ride is good at the back,but bumpy at the front. I installed all the necessary shock rubbers, yet the ride improved,but is still too bumpy. You know the type of roads we have in South Trinidad and it is hell to drive through the rough with this setup. I am looking for less bump and backache whilst upkeeping suspension necessary for a car with a turbo setup. Any advice? All advice is welcome( and needed). Thank you.