sr20 det swap in fwd y12 wingroad

iwanttogofast

sr20 det swap in fwd y12 wingroad

Postby iwanttogofast » September 11th, 2009, 4:12 pm

guys any advice on doin an engine swap on ah fwd y12 wingroad....i gonna take out d hr15de and put in ah sr20det...any advice would be much appreciated!! thnx

joel

Postby joel » September 11th, 2009, 5:55 pm

get all yuh parts fusss
make sure yuh have a proper mechanic
make sure yuh have a proper wire man (men is do REAL sheit in yuh car)
swap going to cost you

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 11th, 2009, 6:12 pm

Way uncharted waters sah!! :shock:

What type of project do you have in mind for the Y12 ? According to what your goal is you may not even need to put an SR20DET in that chassi. A QR25DE or QR20DE swap with a gearbox should be a bolt in swap compared to the SR20DET.

Incase you got a one track mind it should be an easy swap once you buy a complete setup or a front cut with engine.... Only thing you will need to do is run a return fuel line to the tank. The Hr15de carries drive by wire so you will need to get a cable peddle from the Y11. I would advise upgrading your front breaks also. Try the Pulsar GTiR brakes or the double piston setup from the SSS... personaly I will suggest the 300ZX rotors and calipers which would be more than enough stopping power without having to do a rear disc brake conversion, however some work is needed to fit them on the Y12 hub.

iwanttogofast

Postby iwanttogofast » September 11th, 2009, 7:51 pm

hmm maybe is worth ah try i dunno ah tryin to get as much info as possible!! performance as well as reliability is my goal!! but how do dese newer qr engines run?? and how easy are dese qr engines to get?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 11th, 2009, 9:11 pm

First of all what is your goal for this project ?

iwanttogofast

Postby iwanttogofast » September 11th, 2009, 10:22 pm

my goal is to have ah car dat cud perform but also dat i cud use as an everyday ride! check dis out.....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q-UiDANARmw dis is the concept! ah setup like dis for my y12 wingroad if its possible!

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » September 12th, 2009, 11:20 am

iwanttogofast wrote:my goal is to have ah car dat cud perform but also dat i cud use as an everyday ride! check dis out.....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q-UiDANARmw dis is the concept! ah setup like dis for my y12 wingroad if its possible!

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/q-UiDANARmw&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Swifted

Postby Swifted » September 12th, 2009, 1:42 pm

^^dat mad!! lol

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 12th, 2009, 4:30 pm

^^!SPAWN!^^ wrote:
iwanttogofast wrote:my goal is to have ah car dat cud perform but also dat i cud use as an everyday ride! check dis out.....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q-UiDANARmw dis is the concept! ah setup like dis for my y12 wingroad if its possible!

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/q-UiDANARmw&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Yuk I don't like that.... car much.. however how fast is it ?

Back to you iwanttogofast.. So basically you want something boosted that looks clean and some what sporty with a mean bite when you sink your left foot ? You want the car to be quick on the striaghts along with a well setup suspension that will be able to sling shot you around corners ? :wink:

1-2nismo

Postby 1-2nismo » December 16th, 2009, 4:21 am

i am doing a swap on my car. it a 2005 bluebird sylphy (g10) the car has started but i need some help to wire the digital interface to the analog engine. any suggestions to get the rev,speed and diagnostics from the gauge cluster working