HR 15(8 injector) to HR15 (4 injector)

JLeo

HR 15(8 injector) to HR15 (4 injector)

Postby JLeo » November 24th, 2022, 4:31 pm

Looking to downgrade the hr15 engine "8 injectors" to the hr15 engine 4 injectors in a y12. I'm getting the wiring harness from the key to the brain/engine. Will the fusebox and other jack-ins work or will some splicing have to be done? Any advice?

Re: HR 15(8 injector) to HR15 (4 injector)

Postby Dave » November 24th, 2022, 4:50 pm

May I ask why the downgrade?

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » December 2nd, 2022, 12:27 pm

Unless you have a really good reason why you doing it, that doesn't make sense. The 8 injector engine is better than the 4 injector one all around

Postby sMASH » December 4th, 2022, 6:27 pm

Musical Doc wrote:Unless you have a really good reason why you doing it, that doesn't make sense. The 8 injector engine is better than the 4 injector one all around
Is that because of the 8 injectors alone or other things of that engine makes it better?

First time I'm hearing of this 8 injector thing... What's this about?

Postby *KRONIK* » December 4th, 2022, 6:53 pm

sMASH wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:Unless you have a really good reason why you doing it, that doesn't make sense. The 8 injector engine is better than the 4 injector one all around
Is that because of the 8 injectors alone or other things of that engine makes it better?

First time I'm hearing of this 8 injector thing... What's this about?
I only heard about this recently too

My sister bought a y12 and i took it to the mech for a check up and oil change
He told me it the 8injector model hr15 and its better than the 4injector version

But i didnt really check into why....

Postby sMASH » December 4th, 2022, 9:12 pm

are all in the injectors to the cyclinder, or is a bank dedicated to the port injection? if so, that alone will make it a better engine over all. i.e. cylinder+port injection.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 4th, 2022, 10:18 pm

sMASH wrote:are all in the injectors to the cyclinder, or is a bank dedicated to the port injection? if so, that alone will make it a better engine over all. i.e. cylinder+port injection.
I actually didnt check it, mechanic is a padna
So i drop off the car, its only when i was leavin he mentioned the 8injector thing and that got me curious

Postby Dave » December 5th, 2022, 6:49 am

The injectors are installed on the head. The local HR16 8 injector doesn't have the air regulator on the manifold. Not sure if the JDM ones have that feature.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » December 5th, 2022, 2:45 pm

The newer models come with 8 injector engines. Mechanic friend told me, more power and better fuel comsumption.... once u hear those 2 things that is all you need to know lol!

Postby sMASH » December 5th, 2022, 3:28 pm

Musical Doc wrote:The newer models come with 8 injector engines. Mechanic friend told me, more power and better fuel comsumption.... once u hear those 2 things that is all you need to know lol!
Just to confirm, all 8 are cylinder injection?

david12

Postby david12 » December 5th, 2022, 3:35 pm

sMASH wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:The newer models come with 8 injector engines. Mechanic friend told me, more power and better fuel comsumption.... once u hear those 2 things that is all you need to know lol!
Just to confirm, all 8 are cylinder injection?
Nope, none are direct injection. All 8 are port injectors.

Postby sMASH » December 5th, 2022, 3:37 pm

Wtf
Mind blown.

david12

Postby david12 » December 5th, 2022, 5:32 pm

I guess the injectors are on the head rather than the intake manifold because the manifold is plastic.

JLeo

Postby JLeo » December 24th, 2022, 2:59 pm

Dave wrote:May I ask why the downgrade?
Hey. I wasn't getting notifications trough the Tt app. The 8 injector engine is newer and more complicated, making it cost heaps more than the 4 injector version. 10k~8k ttd at bamboo parts places like bicks.

JLeo

Postby JLeo » December 24th, 2022, 3:01 pm

So I got this car from a friend who lost the engine to a small accident. Under the car got hit and the block was cracked. In replacing the bare head and block it cost him 14k. One thing led to another and he lost the tranny. 7k was for the tranny at the time.

JLeo

Postby JLeo » December 24th, 2022, 3:07 pm

Fuel economy is a good thing, speed not so much seeing as how soft the suspension and engine is. Oh and with the removal of temperature guage if you are not careful you could lose that engine. Any problem from a cracked radiator to a faulty radiator fan or temperature sensor could mean death financially.

JLeo

Postby JLeo » December 24th, 2022, 3:11 pm

I forgot to mention it's a y12 ad.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » January 4th, 2023, 1:35 pm

those 8 injector engines are good engines however they use 4 on the head and 4 on the block . hi pressure injectors uses a high pressure pump on the head just like GDI and low pressure injectors use the normal fuel pump

david12

Postby david12 » January 4th, 2023, 5:17 pm

make meh care wrote:those 8 injector engines are good engines however they use 4 on the head and 4 on the block . hi pressure injectors uses a high pressure pump on the head just like GDI and low pressure injectors use the normal fuel pump

I worked on quite a few of the newer HR's and all 8 injectors are port injectors, it just uses 2 smaller injectors rather than a singular larger injector. They aren't divided as direct and port ie. 4 firing into the combustion chamber and 4 firing before the intake valves. All share the same harness and fuel pump.
3027847_4ac7d2e4-14af-433f-9fe3-a544efea1eed.jpg