iamjack

anti theft devices

Postby iamjack » August 16th, 2006, 10:17 pm

before i get my car
i should know, what are good anti theft devices i should get
to prevent or minimize potential attacks?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 16th, 2006, 10:22 pm

Viper Alarm

iamjack

Postby iamjack » August 16th, 2006, 10:26 pm

viper alarm as in
im in the cinema watching a movie and they're stealing my car cause i cant hear the alarm going off?
or is there something special about it?

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 16th, 2006, 10:27 pm

there is the viper alarm with pager function ...

also data dots seem to be rather popular..

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » August 16th, 2006, 10:52 pm

greatest anti theft devices in TRINIDAD are EUROPEAN vehicles.

fras

Postby fras » August 16th, 2006, 10:57 pm

What bout prestige :?:

Loprofile PC

Postby Loprofile PC » August 16th, 2006, 11:14 pm

2 way paging alarm (viper, shelby,prestige and the gsm one) ,a kill switch breaking a wire other than the ignition wire and car search if u can afford it.

larafan

Postby larafan » August 16th, 2006, 11:19 pm

gas lock...multi lock

turbo master

Postby turbo master » August 17th, 2006, 4:38 am

i think the alarms personally are a waste of time.unless u have one with a pager function.those tend to be on the expensive side.
lol@pointman..sadly..how true.

anyway..what u can do..depending on yr budget.
get a switch for the fuel pump,a kill switch which should disable power.and
NO BLING! ppl dont understand that this is simply an invite to thieves.i normally roll with a normal lookin car n ppl wont know anything abt it or me.they mite leave a donation lol!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 17th, 2006, 8:06 am

NO BLING! ppl dont understand that this is simply an invite to thieves.i normally roll with a normal lookin car n ppl wont know anything abt it or me.they mite leave a donation lol!

fuh true........and park either by some expensive ride or by a b12, b13, b14, b15 or almera.......

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 17th, 2006, 8:34 am

bess anti theft device - buy a suzuki
works for me

on a more serious note - u should try getting a multi lock
and install a kill switch and or gas lock
they also have the 3 stage immobilizers which work with a little transmitter that goes on your keyring - they seem to work pretty well
cousin has it on his wongroad - they try to tief it and they take apart his whole dashboard tryign to figure out how to get past the immobilizer, never got through...

i not sure how this data dot thing works - is it just for identifying the car of it could help locate it (like lojack) as well?

if only for identification, does that mean after they tief my car and scrap it i could maybe get back a fender and a parklight in a parts place?

LOCO

Postby LOCO » August 17th, 2006, 8:42 am

In my opinion a viper is not necessarily a waste of time, if you get a good one which has three immobilisation points, a two way paging system and a backup battery pack, when you combine that with a multilock (gear lever lock) and datadots or carsearch, yuh should be good.

mitsugdi

Postby mitsugdi » August 17th, 2006, 9:52 am

Multi lock ? complete waste of time. Car stolen from church yard in 5 min time. Those guys not trying to cut anything now , they are using hydrochloric or sulphuric acid just a rew drops inside the lock and all that alloy gone car gone too.

Postby Hook » August 17th, 2006, 10:02 am

lol...a friend of mine had a minor wiring problem and went to Doodnath, who had to remove the centre console near the shifter to trace a wire...one phillips screwdriver and multilock was off and sitting on the floor within minutes :?

mih boi see dat and install ah immobilizer d nex day :lol:

iamjack

Postby iamjack » August 17th, 2006, 10:34 am

how much for those or to install gas locks or killswitch or those 3 stage immobilizers
park next to a nissan?! what if im the one with the nissan
haha

wagonX

Postby wagonX » August 17th, 2006, 11:44 am

mitsugdi wrote:Multi lock ? complete waste of time. Car stolen from church yard in 5 min time. Those guys not trying to cut anything now , they are using hydrochloric or sulphuric acid just a rew drops inside the lock and all that alloy gone car gone too.

Really...the pin type multilock too? How'd you hear about the acid method?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » August 17th, 2006, 12:22 pm

juma wrote:Really...the pin type multilock too? How'd you hear about the acid method?

From looking at MAC GYVER,dem tief n dem out dey rell skilful these days.
But check it,it is not what blingin on yuh car now.It is if parts from your vehicle would catch a good fee for parts.
Datadots are a waste of time.By the time that vehicle get recovered,you would only end up with the shell burnt out in some canefield.
If yu have the paper,invest in CAR SEARCH.

Or go EURO or SUZUKI..lol..

mitsugdi

Postby mitsugdi » August 17th, 2006, 12:32 pm

juma wrote:
mitsugdi wrote:Multi lock ? complete waste of time. Car stolen from church yard in 5 min time. Those guys not trying to cut anything now , they are using hydrochloric or sulphuric acid just a rew drops inside the lock and all that alloy gone car gone too.

Really...the pin type multilock too? How'd you hear about the acid method?

PC working stolen vehicle dept.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 17th, 2006, 12:44 pm

Car Search, Car Trak... might get back yur car, but if they give you a trunk ride then...

Car Trak (and Car search I suppose) comes with an immobiliser. Also Car Trak can shut down the car remotely. They also provide a panic button... Used to be $3450 to install which includes 1st year subscription, every year after that is about $1200

I say get a quality immobilizer for $700-$800

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » August 17th, 2006, 2:10 pm

Viper alarm the one with the remote start as well as paging system......install a kill switch which completely disables the car In general

Marct

Postby Marct » August 17th, 2006, 3:19 pm

As you can see no system is fool proof.
The most important thing is to not invite the bandits to take your car by that I mean not to many flashy items externally or internally, dont leave valuables exposed on the seats in the car, eg lap top, and most of all insure your car full comp with a GOOD company.

Viper is still the best so far you could also get a field disturbance sensor for it, the only draw back is the alarm tends to go off frequently.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 17th, 2006, 6:01 pm

i like the info u guys have posted here....
herez the scene i gettin a sunny ex saloon 2moro and i lookin for a good alarm system to put in it with an immobilizer anyone here can do it for me or knows someone who can i will like to get it by the weekend or mabe even 2moro self :mrgreen:

SubaBlu

Postby SubaBlu » August 17th, 2006, 10:25 pm

www.autowatchonline.com

Fact is a siren helps in certain places where you can hear it. Not the mall or movies.

Fact is most cars stolen today are hijacked in car parks, traffic lights and outside your home, and so they have the remote, and the key to the multilock.

Unlocking a multilock takes your eyes to the gear shifter while someone moves in to hijack you. You sit in the car that much longer before you move off.

What you want is an alarm, with immobilizer, with antihijack features, i.e. delayed shut down if you are hijacked anywhere.

Field disturbance or autoarming, and always going off when you open the door are niusances.

You want the 236Rli, autoarm auto lock is available, but they will not program it that way for your security. Immobilizers rearm if car is not started within 30 seconds of disarm.

GOOD NEWS is all major insurance companies recognize these systems and so you get your discount also.

iamjack

Postby iamjack » November 7th, 2006, 9:46 pm

any store or retailer, you'd recommed to purchase an alarm system from? in terms of prices

Postby X_Factor » November 7th, 2006, 9:58 pm

as someone told me...if they want your car yuh cyar do nutting...they gonna take it either with u around or not....
but to stop the avg. being in the wrong place at the wrong time...i'd say a good viper alarm/immobilizer but i like a visual deterant...a good ole club lock...
ah mean...if ur in a car park and the thieves want ah car...if they see ah club lock on ur car...it could deter them

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 8th, 2006, 7:54 am

Pointman-IA wrote:
juma wrote:Really...the pin type multilock too? How'd you hear about the acid method?

From looking at MAC GYVER,dem tief n dem out dey rell skilful these days.
But check it,it is not what blingin on yuh car now.It is if parts from your vehicle would catch a good fee for parts.
Datadots are a waste of time.By the time that vehicle get recovered,you would only end up with the shell burnt out in some canefield.
If yu have the paper,invest in CAR SEARCH.

Or go EURO or SUZUKI..lol..

ent ah tell allyuh?

warriorking

Postby warriorking » November 8th, 2006, 7:59 am

There is an Alarm that works with the GSM phones. When the vehicle is tampered with you get a message on your phone. You can shut down the vehicle by "calling the alrm from your phone.

The only problem is if you have a TSTT phone you might not get reception :)

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 8th, 2006, 8:01 am

I've had some bad experiences with the immobilizers being installed from L&DG. Two failures on one vehicle, and one on another.

Check Oscar Francois Ltd for a good immobilizer/alarm system.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 8th, 2006, 10:52 am

GSM Alarm. you could call d car and shut it down. best i heard so far. other wise kill switch, pager alarm, car search.

nightwolf

Postby nightwolf » November 8th, 2006, 7:07 pm