as the topic sais.

what are some ways to get better mpg?

Val

Postby Val » June 30th, 2006, 3:42 pm

Postby eliteauto » June 30th, 2006, 6:34 pm

besides from the hints in Val's link I've found that swapping the regular air filter for a K&N drop-in improves milage sometimes changing plugs and increasing plug wire thickness helps as well as prompt oil changes

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » June 30th, 2006, 7:50 pm

Drop in a gearbox.
Service carb or clean the trottle body whatever the case may be.
Clean or replace air filter.
Clean,regap or replace spark plugs
Change oil and oil filter at recommended intervals.
Service injectors.
Check tire pressure frequently.
Check that your alignment and camber is good.
Drive at moderate speeds : the more you mash ,the more you burn.
Clean your Maf sensor.

Feel free to add to the list.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » June 30th, 2006, 8:29 pm

Your mood when driving can significantly affect your MPG. And don't use the AC! :P

Postby Dave » June 30th, 2006, 9:52 pm

^^ that myth was busted in mythbusters

wagonX

Postby wagonX » June 30th, 2006, 10:08 pm

What Myth? AC while driving = low gas milage?

Postby X_Factor » June 30th, 2006, 10:20 pm

isnt it when u above ah certain rpm u dont burn more gas for a/c

bigger rims but make sure they not heavy

JWT

Postby JWT » June 30th, 2006, 10:25 pm

STOP MASHING THE GAS PEDAL SO HARD :mrgreen:

Postby Dave » June 30th, 2006, 10:25 pm

juma wrote:What Myth? AC while driving = low gas milage?

yes but then, the car they used was a late model suv which was efi equipped so i don't know if older carbed cars would also share the same results :roll:

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » June 30th, 2006, 11:45 pm

walk...

conswaylos
Location: behaving.....don't wanna get ban for ah nex 2 weeks(on d otherhand 2lick lol)

Postby conswaylos » July 1st, 2006, 7:20 am

do every thing with current . wires, distributor, coil, plugs, also take yuh time and drive,i does do 50 mpg and plus

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 1st, 2006, 4:30 pm

do every thing with current . wires, distributor, coil, plugs, also take yuh time and drive,i does do 50 mpg and plus

u fail 2 mention thats from a 1.3 carb swift !! i does be lucky if i get like 25

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 1st, 2006, 5:06 pm

conswaylos wrote:do every thing with current . wires, distributor, coil, plugs, also take yuh time and drive,i does do 50 mpg and plus

How fast do you drive to get 50 mpg? 10 km/h??? You driving a foreign used Toyota Prius or what?

Anybody have any experience with those oil treatments like "Slick 50" and "Duralube"? What about that vortex generating "Tornado" that you install on the intake just after the airbox? Those products claim to improve gas mileage and, with the oil treatments, engine life. Any truth to the claims. I tried the Slick 50 and my car went 230,000 km before requiring an engine job (oversize rings and new gaskets). But I am not sure if is the Slick 50 or just adhering to the 5000 km engine oil change interval help the engine life.

Postby X_Factor » July 1st, 2006, 9:04 pm

if u ur car has the feature drive wit the econo light

Postby eliteauto » July 1st, 2006, 9:45 pm

Slick 50 and those other Teflon additives are crap they were even banned in some countries Mythbusters also debunked those Tornado type items,

Postby Dave » July 1st, 2006, 9:51 pm

i have used the slick 50 but can't really say yay or nay
regular oil changes go a long way

Postby Dave » July 1st, 2006, 10:02 pm

always remember fellas everytime u push the x pedal u are using gas so maintaining one speed is your best bet whether u have a carburetor of efi equipped engine

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 2nd, 2006, 1:20 pm

try and take out unwanted things from your car, like some ppl like to carry a load of paper and other stuff in their trunk, that only adds to the cars weight so u burn fuel to carry it around. try to use your lights as little as possible( i mean like use parklights when u can see, and headlights only when u cant) this decreases load on your alternator, which decreases load on your engine. as for ac, i have fuel injection, the ac causes the car to burn a lot more gas, but i dont get a power drop. you should underwash your car often, this helps with the weight, the air filter is one of the most common reason for cars burning more gas, if the filter is dirty or restrictive u will burn more gas, i switched to a K&N cone filter, it payed for itself in less that a year in money saved.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » July 2nd, 2006, 1:33 pm

mrboxman wrote:walk...

agreed

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » July 2nd, 2006, 3:15 pm

^^ or get a bicycle- save lotssssssssssssss of money that way and u could get unlimited mpg lol.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 2nd, 2006, 3:23 pm

yesterday i had a convo with a friend about if bicycles will ever get fased out, and it turns out that bicycles are one of the most efficent means of transport, only problem is the weather.

Val

Postby Val » July 3rd, 2006, 9:49 am

fased

LOL!

Cacas, bicycles are not one of the most efficient means of transport.

Bicycles are 25% efficient, Petrol engines are 25% efficient (in the 90s at least, this would have been increased now due to advances in technology, Hybrid etc), Diesel engines are 40% efficient, and walking is 60% efficient (due to the pendulum effect).

Form 5 Physics.

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » July 3rd, 2006, 6:57 pm

For highway drives the MPG with or without a/c may actually cancel out themselves.The reason being that the drag will increase when the windows are down and the ac is off on a highway run hence causing you to burn more gas .In the case of the ac being on and the window up, the drag will decrease but the ac will use more engine power hence using more gas !

I guess it needs to be tested to know for sure . So with this theory the most efficient way would to keep your windows up and ac off while you are on the highway and hope u make it to your destination without passing out :mrgreen:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 3rd, 2006, 8:04 pm

Bicycles are 25% efficient

if u say so :roll:
but as i remember, bicycles are said to be more effiecent because they are powered by a human, and not fuel.

if i remember correctly, effiecency is output/input and since the output can vary in a milti speed bicycle(due to different gear ratios) the efficency will change depending on the gear ratios you use. :wink:

as for fuel economy, switch to diesel. just ask equipped2ripp

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » July 4th, 2006, 6:30 am

Isnt installing MSD a mod than can increase your MPG ?

Postby Dave » July 4th, 2006, 8:01 am

yes it is, very minimal gains in a late model efi engine

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » July 4th, 2006, 8:29 am

cacasplat3 wrote:

but as i remember, bicycles are said to be more effiecent because they are powered by a human, and not fuel.

Cacas, efficiency is not determined by what powers the vehicle (gas or human)

Bicycles are not more efficient just because U pedal them! Efficiency is a ratio that compares the work output from a machine, to the work that is put in. This was Val's point when he said that bicycles are 25% efficient.

A bicycle is a machine that multiplies distance traveled, not effort. This makes it great for its intended purpose, but it is not an efficient machine If U were to measure the work input to the work output of the bicycle, U would see where the 25% makes sense.

Check the form five physics book again.

Postby Dave » July 4th, 2006, 8:40 am

if ah add a couple of doubles and a juice ah go make the difference in the efficiency for the bike:lol:

Val

Postby Val » July 4th, 2006, 10:45 am

cacasplat3 wrote:

if i remember correctly, effiecency is output/input and since the output can vary in a milti speed bicycle(due to different gear ratios) the efficency will change depending on the gear ratios you use. :wink:

You remember correctly but not completely. Efficiency is Power Output/Power input. Power is the rate at which Energy is being produces or consumed. The bicycle is a motion transducer. Gear ratios do absolutely change the Power Output (due to your kinetic energy being raised), however they increase the Power Input needs also since your body now has to work harder to pedal in higher gears due to increased resistance and higher distance multiplying effect. And so what if the bicycle is powered by a Human, what is the Human powered by, not fuel? Don't you eat? Drink? As meh boy said, check that Form 5 book again.

cacasplat3 wrote:as for fuel economy, switch to diesel. just ask equipped2ripp

Palos, diesel engines may not always be more efficient than modern gasolene engines (the efficiencies I quoted earlier were for engines in the 1990s). My van gives me about 25mpg with a 2.9 N/A Ford Diesel Engine. The reason why it seems much more efficient is because of the price of diesel (diesel is $1.50 p/litre as opposed to gasolene @ $3.00 p/litre for premium). :wink:
Last edited by Val on July 5th, 2006, 8:16 am, edited 1 time in total.