4age 20V tuning advice needed.

Silvermike

4age 20V tuning advice needed.

Postby Silvermike » June 16th, 2006, 8:06 pm

Ok, im starting with a bone stock 4age 20V in an AE111 levin BZR.

IMO, the car doesnt pull very well. it seems like the engine is holding back at the higher rpms. its a pain to shift at anything above 7500rpm.

im looking to keep it NA, but i want a low 15 second pass outta it. what do u all suggest?

lancer_noobs

Postby lancer_noobs » June 17th, 2006, 3:23 pm

Port and Polish Head
cams/valvesprings
headers
exhaust
CAI
plugs
some even do a 1800cc converstion
all about what ya pocket looking like...

Raziel

Re: 4age 20V tuning advice needed.

Postby Raziel » June 17th, 2006, 6:02 pm

Silvermike wrote:Ok, im starting with a bone stock 4age 20V in an AE111 levin BZR.

IMO, the car doesnt pull very well. it seems like the engine is holding back at the higher rpms. its a pain to shift at anything above 7500rpm.

im looking to keep it NA, but i want a low 15 second pass outta it. what do u all suggest?

First up, get it serviced, and have someone look at your clutch/gearbox, car should easily shift at 8,200 rpm. Bone stock should be just under 16 already.

If all you want is a low 15 sec run, put a 75hit of Nitrous in the car.

If you want it running more than that, look at what Lancer_noobs said, check the following site for an idea of cost

http://www.tedcomponents.com

JWT

Postby JWT » June 17th, 2006, 10:51 pm

ok this is what i did

take out the injectors and clean them (best way in my book)
second change the gearbox and engine oil

check to make sure everythig is working good and check to see if your solinoid is working i know some of the 20v had a problem with them not engaging properly

lastly disconnect the battery leave for 30mins just to reset the ecu. No need to clean the trottle body cause the way it is developed inside you need not do that. Use a K&N drop in filter no cone the mass air flow hates it
If you are black top you do not have a pass airflow your engine is mapped.

hapy motoring
i personally never digg up in my 20v cause parts kinda hard to get for it

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » June 17th, 2006, 10:55 pm

it is a black top, and it has a cone filter on it now.

my plan is as u said

1. clean the injectors
2. 2 1/2 exhaust
3. CAI
4. MSD ignition
5. AFC

Raziel

Postby Raziel » June 18th, 2006, 9:24 am

Silvermike, I agree with cleaning the injectors, then check and see if you are pulling past the 7500rpm mark.

If you are going to go the CAI & exhaust route, then you should invest in some 4-2-1 headers, actually proven in a Blacktop to add a fair amount, tedcomponents as well as HKS & Apexi sell them.

Not sure you'll get any value for the MSD & AFC, just go for some good plugs and plug wires.

Postby Hook » June 18th, 2006, 10:31 am

^^^ don't the blacktop and silvertop already come with 4-2-1 exhaust headers?...all the ones I've seen have 'em :?
the stock piping is already 2" and 20V's love to breathe so a 2.25" or 2.5" upgrade and a hi-flow catalytic converter (if available) will do him some good

hoss, I feel all u need is a general servicing and change fluids in the engine bay...if u looking to change plugs as well, just go iridium and done and doh waste yuh time with platinums (of which NGK has the only REAL plat plug but it's still not as impressive in the 20V as iridium plugs) and 4 electrode plugs and all dat jazz

an easy test to see if ur VVT is engaging is to wire up a 12V LED in parallel to the solenoid, located to the front left of the head, and take him for a lil run..u'll see IF VVT is engaging and u'll know where too (stock is at startup and again at about 5500rpm)

I wouldn't trust a blacktop to take a 75shot tho, simply because the internals were made lighter (and thus less sturdy) than the silvertop for it to rev quicker and get more top end so it stands to reason that tho it may work at first, it won't last too long (silvermike...silvertop...kinda has a ring to it eh? :twisted: )

Sully

Postby Sully » June 18th, 2006, 10:43 am

I wouldn't suggest NOS for an everyday driver either.
Dave is the only person that I know pulled it off. He'll be able to give you better advice with that.

TK!

Postby TK! » June 18th, 2006, 12:17 pm

yeah boi silvermike. as these gentlemen said... u should have no probs getting powere out of that motor.

i guess u looking for a benchmark to see how good/bad u'r doing. well, here's my setup and results:

6fwd box with ACT HDSS = run off 3rd at 140kmph doing 8000RPM.
5fwd box with ACT HD and 6 puck copper = run off 3rd at 170kmph doing 8000rpm.

Mods:
EFC
MINES ECU
Big 4-2-1 headers (better for long running and gas econ)
2 1/4 pipe. still got cat and two silencers.
Drop in K&N.
Iridium spark plugs by NGK (better than copper)
Nology plug wires (no improvement over stock)
Grounding wires (yeah, this helps)
TRD lower anti-sway bars for front and rear
TRD tower bar (front)

Mods i didnt do but you might consider:
full suspension and mount upgrade. engine mounts this old burst a lot.
there also a TRD towerbar/brace for the rear

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » June 18th, 2006, 1:22 pm

tk421 wrote:Mods:
EFC
MINES ECU
Big 4-2-1 headers (better for long running and gas econ)
2 1/4 pipe. still got cat and two silencers.
Drop in K&N.
Iridium spark plugs by NGK (better than copper)
Nology plug wires (no improvement over stock)
Grounding wires (yeah, this helps)
TRD lower anti-sway bars for front and rear
TRD tower bar (front)

the headers... custom made?
where u got that ecu?
the grounding wires... did it ureself? where did u ground?

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » June 18th, 2006, 1:26 pm

Hook wrote:^^^ don't the blacktop and silvertop already come with 4-2-1 exhaust headers?...all the ones I've seen have 'em :?
the stock piping is already 2" and 20V's love to breathe so a 2.25" or 2.5" upgrade and a hi-flow catalytic converter (if available) will do him some good

(silvermike...silvertop...kinda has a ring to it eh? :twisted: )

yes it has 421 factory headers, but they tiny. like 1 3/4- 1 1/2 maybe.

i was thinking the 2 1/4 would be the best bet. i know thats how it goes for hona engines.

its not my car, its my gfs car and im tuning it for her for her bday 8-)

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » June 18th, 2006, 1:28 pm

Sully wrote:I wouldn't suggest NOS for an everyday driver either.
Dave is the only person that I know pulled it off. He'll be able to give you better advice with that.

yea, no nos. this ca ris going to be solodexed. so the power has to be strong throughout and strictly NA

JWT

Postby JWT » June 18th, 2006, 9:52 pm

do not see the ned for an MSD ignition when toyota 20v has a very good ignition set up

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » June 18th, 2006, 10:53 pm

^ im not convinced that the coil is 100%

Raziel

Postby Raziel » June 18th, 2006, 11:23 pm

As said the factory headers for the 20V suck ... really poor

A 20V can actually benefit considerably (for a NA) from a CAI, Header and Exhaust upgrade.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » June 19th, 2006, 10:58 am

wait a minute hold up ?,ent lil ol' silva mike is a honda boy ?????? , how come hey defect to toyota??

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 19th, 2006, 7:51 pm

anyone want a test in we 20valve? still auto and i does see 140 km/h in 2 and im not reaching D cuz traffic lights always turning red on me

Anton

Postby Anton » June 20th, 2006, 9:14 am

Nology plug wires (no improvement over stock

Where did you get the wires tk?

TK!

Postby TK! » June 20th, 2006, 11:02 am

the headers... custom made?
where u got that ecu?
the grounding wires... did it ureself? where did u ground?

headers.. came with car but are off the shelf
ECU .. MINES from UK or Japan. u can send your ECU to reprogram and u need to state application. It is really too expensive tho and thinking back, a standalone ECU makes more sense since u can reporgram yourself. I can't reprogram anything except for the piggy back EFC. But chill for the while... upgrade all else. stock ECU is fine.

grounding wires: no. got the car with it .. but time to time i re-check and clean points of contact. It's real easy to do it yourself. alternator, fuel rail, starter, chassis are possible ground point. ask dave about grounding, electrical and ignition upgrades. eg MSD

ANTON:
Nologoy wires.. i got their number off their website and called them. They're in Miami and are very reaonably priced. A set of five (ie - 4 plug wires and distributor wire) cost US$200. You have a wide range of colors to choose from.

Contacts:
MINES: Takaya Nagi, takayanagi@mines-wave.com
Nology: Jeff Klein, sales@nology.com (real helpful guy)

Val

Postby Val » June 20th, 2006, 11:15 am

Silvermike wrote:^ im not convinced that the coil is 100%

so can't you just put in a Blaster SS or Blaster 2 or something without the MSD ignition controller? That's what I did.

Anton

Postby Anton » June 20th, 2006, 12:18 pm

ANTON:
Nologoy wires.. i got their number off their website and called them. They're in Miami and are very reaonably priced. A set of five (ie - 4 plug wires and distributor wire) cost US$200. You have a wide range of colors to choose from.

Thanks man

Postby Dave » June 20th, 2006, 12:43 pm

the msd coil would work great without the msd ignition box
nos won't make it na again and 75 would make that car a sub 14's qtr mile car

Postby eliteauto » February 4th, 2008, 7:24 pm

ok so I'm interested in getting a bit more out of a 4age silvertop 20V auto with ECT-S, off the bat I'll tell you the car is not going manual as it's a daily driver for my family, I'm currently happy with the performance but I'm game for any improvements, so what suggestions are there?

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » February 9th, 2008, 4:01 am

^^^ 6fwd manual gearbox.. :roll: Well I mean the suggestions were mentioned already, if you want anything more change the tranny or add boost..

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » February 11th, 2008, 8:58 am

Val wrote:
Silvermike wrote:^ im not convinced that the coil is 100%

so can't you just put in a Blaster SS or Blaster 2 or something without the MSD ignition controller? That's what I did.

For some apparent reason the toyota coil works better than the MSD in toyota vehicles, i had a starlet and was running Iradium 7 plugs, MSD plug wires, and a MSD 6 BTM, but when i tried removing the stock coil and replacing it with a MSD Blaster the car was not idling smooth and when i acclerated it was stuttering and burning extremely black, problem was solved when i replaced it with the stock one, i hace attached a link with the coil that i used...........

http://www.msdignition.com/coil_blaster_6_8207.htm

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » August 30th, 2010, 9:50 am

Some interesting bits of info here

TK!

Postby TK! » August 31st, 2010, 10:48 pm

^^ talk bout raising de dead boy pablo!

i re-read the thread mehself... was a good one.. silvermike went toyota and i went honda.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » September 1st, 2010, 8:23 am

Actually was reading through because I myself have gone Toyota. Learning all I can from the nuggets of info in these parts

smallman

Postby smallman » September 3rd, 2010, 1:51 am

i also have some problems with my 20valve silver top it feel like am only making power at low rpm dont know why but its stock and i want to get some more power and i dont know how to go about doing this its confusing when its your first car a 101 corrolla (sadface) not an 86 rear wheel drive am front wheel drive what can i do

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » September 3rd, 2010, 10:30 am

When you say making power at low RPM, it feels like it looses power at higher RPMs?