please help with Sunny B11 Idle problems

sameerali78

please help with Sunny B11 Idle problems

Postby sameerali78 » June 8th, 2006, 2:52 pm

My B11 keeps smoking dark grey when i rev it.....u can smell that the mixture it too high.... I've sprayed out the carburator on may occasions but that dosent help.
The Idle screw had to be screwed in plenty for the car to idle..... it is at a setting where i can tighten the air screw and make the car cut off..... But it is not idling satisfactory and if i increase the idle screw...the air screw dosent cut of the engine and the car smokes black.

I swapped in a spare distributor i had with a new cap and still the same problem.
I am thinking about scrapping the carburator and soaking it in black disenfect over night to see if anything is clogging it. however when i spray it, there dosent seem to be anything blocking the jets etc.
I dont think it is sucking air...but if it was sucking air would it still smoke black?

Any ideas?

Postby Dave » June 8th, 2006, 3:20 pm

air screw doesn't cut off engine means carb sucking air and not all the time it will black smoke

spraying a carb on a working car is like bathing with your jockey shorts on, all the muck runs from your head into your draws, waste of time.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » June 8th, 2006, 3:36 pm

I HAD A SIMILLAR PROBLEM WITH MY B11 BUT IN MY CASE ONE OH THE WATER PORTS IN THE HEAD WAS CORRODED AND WATER WAS FALLING ON TOP ONE OF THE PISTION

sameerali78

Postby sameerali78 » June 8th, 2006, 3:38 pm

no i scrapped the carb and the jets and sprayed it out and cleaned it... and that didnt work...so now i am thinking of soaking it in the black disenfect to see if could disslove what could be causeing the problem.

So once the air screw dosent cut of the engine ..it means it is sucking air ? no matter how high the idle screw is adjusted it still suppose to cut of?

is it possilbe to be sucking air from where the intake manifold is bolting on to the engine?

sameerali78

Postby sameerali78 » June 8th, 2006, 3:46 pm

i did an engine job in december and the head and block seemed to be fine with no apparant corrosion

Postby Dave » June 8th, 2006, 4:06 pm

So once the air screw dosent cut of the engine ..it means it is sucking air ?

once it is fully closed then yes because that provides air to the carb and if closed and still works then it is getting air from somewhere else

idle screw will only adjust idle speed, no mixture

is it possilbe to be sucking air from where the intake manifold is bolting on to the engine?

if sucking from there usually there is a ticking sound

sameerali78

Postby sameerali78 » June 8th, 2006, 4:29 pm

ok thanks...will check and see if i hear anything

how can i test to see where the air is sucking from? i usually spray carb spray around the base of the carb, the butterfly screw etc. to see if the idle will increase...is this the correct way?

aidan

Postby aidan » June 8th, 2006, 9:39 pm

sameerali78,i had this problem a few weeks ago with my B11 too.The carb needed cleaning,and i also changed the distributor.check dem first,it appears this is a common B11 problem,cuz this happens everyonce inna wile,especially when the tank run low.and i heard many other ppl complaining bout dis.

sameerali78

Postby sameerali78 » June 9th, 2006, 9:14 am

i tried differnet distributors......and well my tank does run low plenty :oops:

the thing is ....if i disconnect one of the vacum hose on the carb and allow it to suck air.....the damn thing does idle better........so i dunno if it sucking air or it not getting enough air or what.
i gone change ther gaskets in the intake manifold and see if it sucking air from there...cause i change gaskets inthe carb already.

aidan

Postby aidan » June 9th, 2006, 10:35 am

Well u shud also flush out ur fuel lines etc. cuz these cars kina ole,and rust is buildup in d gas tank,and may be causing the problem,try and keep ur tank above 1/2,u will see a difference,it shudnt b to hard to do,these cars doe burn any kina gas.

Postby Dave » June 9th, 2006, 10:40 am

the thing is ....if i disconnect one of the vacum hose on the carb and allow it to suck air

idle will raise and thus will be smoother, no vacuum present

sameerali78

Postby sameerali78 » June 9th, 2006, 5:42 pm

^^hmmm.....true yes...

..well i scrap the carb and it soaking in the black disenfect....so inthe morning i will mount it back up again and see