Painting Crystal Headlight

RYO3149

Painting Crystal Headlight

Postby RYO3149 » May 10th, 2006, 10:05 pm

Thinking about painting the internal mounting on my primera crystal light black.
Sourcing the black xenon but unable to do so besides the controller for that will have to be added also.

Have a spare crystal headlight that i took apart, was a bit challenging but got thru. Now i really want to ensure that it is properly sealed after.

What do u all suggest to ensure proper sealing beside silicone?

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » May 11th, 2006, 6:01 am

I sealed off a pair of fogs with epoxy once. So far no evidence of leakage. :|

StangSai

Postby StangSai » May 11th, 2006, 7:27 am

silicone should be good too

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » May 11th, 2006, 10:12 am

why u doh tint it an done?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » May 11th, 2006, 2:54 pm

wouldnt painting the reflective housing black affect the light quality?
i always thought the reflective housin was to focus the scattered light foward :|

Xman

Postby Xman » May 11th, 2006, 3:01 pm

^^^ I think he meant the area around the reflective cone........some cars you can see the reflective cone alone and some you see the area around the reflective cone.......

krack korn

Postby krack korn » May 11th, 2006, 4:13 pm

^Yea he is trying for the HID look of the primera headlights. Original HID ones have a black bezel around the reflective lenses, normal ones have a silver bezel.

RYO you could use silicone and that would work good. Use a silicone that soft if u know what I mean. Some silicone does dry and be real tough and some will be soft and pliable Epoxy a lil too permanent incase u want to open it again.

I don't know how u took them apart but there was a post in this forum somewhere a guy detailed how to remove the lenses and then put them back on. Basically he placed them in a preheated oven for so and so minutes and then take out d clips and pry apart, to put back reheat and reassemble. The original grey gooey thing does soften and stick back and seal so it go be easy to reopen if u close it back this way. This method working for plastic housing with glass lens just like the primera ones.

Postby Hook » May 11th, 2006, 5:05 pm

silicone schmilicone...how'd u take it off in the first place?

in experimenting just this week, I've realized that taking the plastic lenses off headlamp housings is EXACTLY the same as taking glass lenses off!!!

1. pre-heat your oven to 350F for about 15mins
2. turn off oven
3. place headlamp housing in there (minus bulbs and any retaining clips holding the lens in place) for 10mins
4. pry off lens with a flathead screwdriver

there's a kind of grey glue holding them together that is activated by heat..all u have to do is heat it up enough to get it gooey to be able to manipulate it

when you're done painting repeat all steps above except you're placing the housing AND the separated lens in there, place the lens and housing together as they were before and snap on the retaining clips to keep them pressed until the glue cools and hardens...TAADAAAAAAAA!

when they cool, they sealed just like factory without no unsightly silicone lookin as though u interfere wit it :idea:

Postby wagonrunner » May 11th, 2006, 5:07 pm

hook,
when next you coming a doubles lime. i will walk with my two halves for you to make whole. i don't trust this stove at all.

venum

Postby venum » May 11th, 2006, 8:04 pm

allyuh men real dread

ah mean, putting headlight in oven, allyuh have waay too much time on allyuh hands

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » May 11th, 2006, 9:06 pm

^^^^ if it works without problems, i dont see the problem.

RYO3149

Postby RYO3149 » May 11th, 2006, 9:39 pm

^Yea he is trying for the HID look of the primera headlights. Original HID ones have a black bezel around the reflective lenses, normal ones have a silver bezel.

Exactly boi Krackkorn..

how'd u take it off in the first place?

Boi good question.. pry it with flat head and a small knife.. real pressure but say it finally disassemble..

Thanx alot dey HOOK. I will try that... :idea: :wink:

Yeh for real eh.. didnt want that unsigtly silicone finish at all...

aidan

Postby aidan » May 12th, 2006, 12:22 am

jnqaz,u rite,thaz wah i dere 4.wont tinting ur lights also affect lighting quality?

Postby Hook » May 12th, 2006, 7:33 pm

lol...no scene boi Karl...yuh done explain to mih about yuh batchie stove...I'll be there this Tuesday abt 7:30pm