Damage Transmission

fras

Damage Transmission

Postby fras » April 11th, 2006, 6:46 am

If you have an automatic car...
You put the car in nuteral and rev up then quickly go in gear while the rpm is still up causin the car to ripp

Does this damage the transmission in any way?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » April 11th, 2006, 7:36 am

Why...? You does do that plenty huh? :D :D

And, no it doesn't damage it...

Doing that forks it up!

Note the difference

Postby Rainman » April 11th, 2006, 7:47 am

actually with a lot of the newer cars you cant do this because the engine speed drops before it engages a gear.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » April 11th, 2006, 8:12 am

bleedingfreak wrote:Why...? You does do that plenty huh? :D :D

Doing that forks it up!

Note the difference

:lol: Nuff Said ! :lol:

Xman

Postby Xman » April 11th, 2006, 8:21 am

And when yuh reversing and before yuh stop rollin yuh drop it in drive quick and peel tyres...................had a partner who use to do that .....tsk tsk

fras

Postby fras » April 11th, 2006, 12:43 pm

How else can i rip off from a spot with an automatic?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 11th, 2006, 2:39 pm

brake..........apply accelerator until transmission stall rpm (somewhere around 2000-2500rpm) then release brake. "screech screech screech"

Best applied on drag strips.....not the public road!

Postby Maserati » April 11th, 2006, 3:47 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:Why...? You does do that plenty huh? :D :D

Doing that forks it up!

Note the difference

hahahah well said

Precious Roy

Postby Precious Roy » April 11th, 2006, 9:24 pm

Mind you don't crack up your torque converter :?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 11th, 2006, 11:16 pm

tranny failure = $$$$$+$$$$$$$$+$$$$$

that is enough rippin tyres for yuh dey?
if yuh want to rip tyres so bad, put in a gearbox.

Outlaw Jones

Postby Outlaw Jones » April 12th, 2006, 7:28 am

I learnt this lesson the hard way when I now started driving (a loooong time ago, it was my dad's RX60 Cressida :oops: The car held up well for a couple of months and then ONE day (showing off nah!!) decided to do it and there were two sound.....a..BRACK....and the roar of laughter from all who was watching as the car just stood there without moving :shock: :evil: :roll: :lol: :lol:

But a few good things came out of it..learnt a lot more about auto trannys..& realized it costs BIG BUCKS TO FIX EM... :wink:

fras

Postby fras » April 24th, 2006, 5:51 pm

Does it matter if your on/off the gas while you shift from neutral to drive :?:

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » April 25th, 2006, 7:50 am

it doh really do nutting nah just strech and burn ur clutches , bust tranny mounts and over heat the tranny oil leading to premature tranny failure

notting ah lil 5 to 12 thousand dollars at jention would not fix :mrgreen:

fras

Postby fras » April 25th, 2006, 9:22 am

I really got to get a manual transmission before I damage this auto

Val

Re: Damage Transmission

Postby Val » April 25th, 2006, 11:16 am

frass wrote:If you have an automatic car...
You put the car in nuteral and rev up then quickly go in gear while the rpm is still up causin the car to ripp

Does this damage the transmission in any way?

Yes it does.

STOP DOING THIS.

If you want to "rip tyres" brake launch instead.
Google it, or search for it on this site, I have posted up a topic about brake launching.

fras

Postby fras » April 25th, 2006, 12:57 pm

Ok I have researched this break launching and i'm gonna try it.
The site I found the info on I also found some usefull related stuff http://www.modernracer.com/tips/tips.html

Polydor

Postby Polydor » April 25th, 2006, 1:39 pm

seanf3000 wrote:brake..........apply accelerator until transmission stall rpm (somewhere around 2000-2500rpm) then release brake. "screech screech screech"

Best applied on drag strips.....not the public road!

^^^^Provided it has a stall convertor in the tranny......

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » April 25th, 2006, 1:40 pm

why the big fuss about ripping?

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » April 25th, 2006, 2:10 pm

^^^^^^^^^^^cuz it damages ur tranny :|

fras

Postby fras » April 25th, 2006, 8:09 pm

Just love to hear tires screeching... smell the tire burn and oh! the smoke :lol:

Postby Rainman » April 30th, 2006, 1:21 pm

you have cvt transmission right????

fras

Postby fras » April 30th, 2006, 11:11 pm

Yeah

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 1st, 2006, 7:31 pm

How else can i rip off from a spot with an automatic?

You cant really.....unless you have the brute bhp from your engine...like an Evo GT-A...then the engine provides enough power to allow the tires to break loose..once you mash the gas hard enough. In other words, you need a powerful car to do that properly.

brake..........apply accelerator until transmission stall rpm (somewhere around 2000-2500rpm) then release brake. "screech screech screech"

This damages / put excess strain on your torque converter. Not a very wise idea at all.

you have cvt transmission right????

If you have CVT..well..dont even bother to try screeching tires. Two reasons:

1) The CVT tranny wont allow you to. It will drop the Engine RPM before the car begins to actually drive. I dont think one can actually "screech tires" with a CVT. Period.

2) A CVT is not as robust as a normal "geared" trans. As such, if by some fluke you were able to do this with your CVT, that would probably put too much strain on your CVT, as it just isnt made to handle that kind of stress.

In short, you need to get a manual....

Postby cinco » May 1st, 2006, 7:54 pm

i suggest u get yuh cvt fluid changed ASAP and stop doing that if u want to have a tranny at all