Info on Renault Megane engine swap

M-Tech

Info on Renault Megane engine swap

Postby M-Tech » March 26th, 2006, 12:51 am

I'm lookin for an engine to swap into a Renault Megane from which the engine died.

I need to know what will fit into this little engine bay. Also there is little clearance at the bottom due to the 2 cross members running, 1 under each side of engine bay.

AND can the dash gauges and ABS be connected to work properly?? Who has done a swap b4??

Any info is really appreciated...
I have in mind the Toyota 4A-GE 20 Valve. Is the Starlet 4E-FTE 1.3 turbo too small for the size of this vehicle?? Thanx

plex

Postby plex » March 26th, 2006, 5:43 am

the Starlet engine is my best choice, there is one done in a clio, but i hear it runs pretty good. i am not sure about the toyota engine and how it will line up with the car..
why u do not want to put back a renault engine? i know there is not much second hand parts for these cars which makes it harder..i am not sure if the bamboo carry used parts for the french cars...

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » March 26th, 2006, 1:16 pm

plex306 wrote:... i am not sure about the toyota engine and how it will line up with the car...

Dude both the 20Valve 4A-GE and the Starlet 4E-FTE are Toyota engines. :? . Renault used engines are not common. Prices for new engines make the rest obvious. Would be nice to see the Clio transplant though.

plex

Postby plex » March 26th, 2006, 4:39 pm

did not know the both were the same manufacturer, i learn something there..
i see what u mean with new brand engines..and what prices u getting those for?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » March 27th, 2006, 3:33 am

Plex,what you mean you didn't know that the CLio and Megane were related?
A new engine from the firm is close to $30,00 and I'm sure the value of your meggy is somewhere around that.
I was thinking of slapping in an SR-18 into mines once my engine go bad.The Classic is not a car to be gunning over 140 all the time.Yes they could ride,but parts to maintain an engine running so all the time,,NAAAAH..

I have a contact that goes to Martinque to get parts for my car and for other ppl.

plex306 wrote:did not know the both were the same manufacturer, i learn something there..
i see what u mean with new brand engines..and what prices u getting those for?

plex

Postby plex » March 27th, 2006, 6:41 am

Pointman-IA, i am referring to the toyota engines..by the way he get through with those things u wanted?
your contacts is into performance parts? or wear & tear?
if i was all ya build up a nice clio172 engine, it starts with a good base 172hp u go with a turbo and u hitting 250-300hp, the limits are beyond here..it have guys in UK hitting not less than 300hp with the clios..

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » March 27th, 2006, 10:07 am

I ent bother to put in the K&N Filter again dread.That very week when i was about to,my brother scratched the left side of my car so I had to divert funds into flashing the both sides. Right now I'm studying if to lower it by 30mm to get a better ride.
Rem the problem with the trans i was telling you about,i read the thread here it had about the Adaptive trans.Turned out was the chip playing the ass to determine which mode to go into to adapt to the driver.
My contact is into original parts for the Renault vehicles.Martinque have the parts plenty cheaper than in Trinidad.

Performance parts for the Renault,check http://www.k-tecraciing.com.

plex306 wrote:Pointman-IA, i am referring to the toyota engines..by the way he get through with those things u wanted?
your contacts is into performance parts? or wear & tear?
if i was all ya build up a nice clio172 engine, it starts with a good base 172hp u go with a turbo and u hitting 250-300hp, the limits are beyond here..it have guys in UK hitting not less than 300hp with the clios..

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 27th, 2006, 10:26 am

renault is nissan and vice versa, a nissan engine swap will be a million times easier, and allot of things will simply bolt up and plug in..

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 27th, 2006, 11:29 am

Pointman-IA wrote:I ent bother to put in the K&N Filter again dread.That very week when i was about to,my brother scratched the left side of my car so I had to divert funds into flashing the both sides. Right now I'm studying if to lower it by 30mm to get a better ride.
Rem the problem with the trans i was telling you about,i read the thread here it had about the Adaptive trans.Turned out was the chip playing the arse to determine which mode to go into to adapt to the driver.
My contact is into original parts for the Renault vehicles.Martinque have the parts plenty cheaper than in Trinidad.

You correct about that man. Even tho......Martinique will definitely have cheaper parts prices for Renault. I even suggest that the Peugoet owner try there too. Almost 80% of their market is made up of Renault and Peugoet vehicles.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » March 27th, 2006, 11:51 am

^and citroen.

I was wondering the same thing abut a nissan swap, ca19

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 27th, 2006, 12:15 pm

Well similar engines have the same tdc cam sensor/crankshaft sensor failure so.........

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 27th, 2006, 1:12 pm

i know the VQ series engines and i also believe the QR and QG series are all renault engines, the new QR20VE is supposidly the engine from the clio's or shares its parts.. not sure cause i looked at a cliio sport once the the headers were on the other side of the engine (towards the firewall)

so i need to do some more reading on the subject to be sure..

the the 350zx VQ35DE came from a renault minivan :shock:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 27th, 2006, 2:48 pm

^^definite on the VQ.......I think the QG and the megane engines are on the same platform but somewhat different tunings.

I think the vq35 is the engine out of the Vel Satis. The Laguna, Espace(Minivan) and Avantime use a 3.0 litre v6.

Postby wagonrunner » March 27th, 2006, 4:57 pm

dont forget some renaults also have GA16's. really think nissan may be the easeist / cheapest swap.

plex

Postby plex » March 27th, 2006, 8:03 pm

thats true u will get all French cars there...
i did not think about a nissan swap which may work and be cheaper..

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » March 28th, 2006, 12:33 pm

Efini-- I dont know what to say but that u are F**K because if my remeber correctly Renault power polarity is reverse where the car body is poitive and the line are negative and that they run on 15v dc not the common 12 volts not to mentsion other little things.. so in order to do a engine swap you will have to do a whole rewiring of the car :cry:

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » March 30th, 2006, 2:51 am

Mitsu power wrote:Efini-- I dont know what to say but that u are F**K because if my remeber correctly Renault power polarity is reverse where the car body is poitive and the line are negative and that they run on 15v dc not the common 12 volts not to mentsion other little things.. so in order to do a engine swap you will have to do a whole rewiring of the car :cry:

crap!!! not here renault is nissan so the nissan engine works fine i did it for someone already automatic is eaier though just to say i did it in a sonata,kia sephia,corolla,and an sr 20 in a hatch back rover so the ga 16 will work best in the megane
have anyone noticed the mazda familia dx and the wingroad is the same car there is even a suburu all are nissan oem

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » March 31st, 2006, 1:08 am

MegaDoc,,are you saying that you have installed a Nissan Engine into a Renault Megane?
The 2001 Classic or the Scenic?
How much was the cost of the transformation?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » March 31st, 2006, 2:10 am

Pointman-IA wrote:MegaDoc,,are you saying that you have installed a Nissan Engine into a Renault Megane?
The 2001 Classic or the Scenic?
How much was the cost of the transformation?

yea the classic it was ah partner own so cost was just engine axles
and other lil stuff he had no money nah so we put a manual ga15de
{b14} normally that may cost about 7000.00 with the ga16de
automatic is easier because yah jus drop in engine and axles
hook up shifter cable and your off

plex

Postby plex » March 31st, 2006, 6:47 am

thats a good price..

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » March 31st, 2006, 8:36 am

$7000 sounding rell good.Tell me sumting,the dials for the megane dashboard are

working properly?

Also,how long the car been running this engine?You did any other mod on the car?

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » March 31st, 2006, 9:39 am

I wanna know the same stuff as Pointman asked. Also if u are doing a swap why not put something with a little performance. Any one who can advise us on if a Toyota 20Valve VVT 4A-GE engine with rated 160hp can be installed and get gauges 2 work and best way 4 axels to work up etc pls shed some light ASAP. Thanx

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 31st, 2006, 10:34 am

i know the VQ series engines and i also believe the QR and QG series are all renault engines, the new QR20VE is supposidly the engine from the clio's or shares its parts.. not sure cause i looked at a cliio sport once the the headers were on the other side of the engine (towards the firewall)

just to clear up this. the engines are built by nissan but sum are used in renault cars(not built by renault). part of the agreement was that nissan supply some engines, and technology for renault, and renault in turn will help in the designing of the nissan cars.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » April 4th, 2006, 5:27 pm

This was agreed after Nissan and Renault formed an alliance which would include Nissan Vehicles being manufactured with Renault technology.It is like the french want to make an entry into the Japanese auto-industry..

cacasplat3 wrote:

just to clear up this. the engines are built by nissan but sum are used in renault cars(not built by renault). part of the agreement was that nissan supply some engines, and technology for renault, and renault in turn will help in the designing of the nissan cars.

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » April 5th, 2006, 1:59 pm

We tried putting in an SR20 into the Megane Classic but the upper chassis was not wide enough to accomodate it. What are my other options? Similar wiring and axel mods will have to be done nevertheless whether its a Nissan engine or a Toyota engine. I am considering the Toyota 4E-FTE 1.3 Starlet Turbo and upgrading the turbo to boost it some more because the Megane is heavier than the Starlet. Any comments?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » April 6th, 2006, 6:07 pm

some renaults also have GA16's. really think nissan may be the easeist / cheapest swap.

DITTO my padnah put a GA16DE in a renault megan and definitely it fits in with no problems...

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 7th, 2006, 5:24 pm

Picasso wrote:
some renaults also have GA16's. really think nissan may be the easeist / cheapest swap.

DITTO my padnah put a GA16DE in a renault megan and definitely it fits in with no problems...

THATS THE BEST CHOICE

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » April 8th, 2006, 12:04 am

MEGADOC,,,what other mods your partner did to his MEGANE.Maybe you can fill me in via PM..
This car is a nice ride but the reputation of the firm gave the car a bad name.

clearconscience

Re: Info on Renault Megane engine swap

Postby clearconscience » February 29th, 2012, 8:08 pm

thanks people i am going to put a b 14 engine

Pointman-IA

Re: Info on Renault Megane engine swap

Postby Pointman-IA » February 29th, 2012, 8:35 pm

clearconscience wrote:thanks people i am going to put a b 14 engine

My goodness. The man raised the dead yes.
You still have the original Megane Engine and Tranny? Why are you considering putting in the B14 Engine?