Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » February 28th, 2006, 12:51 pm

Miniciti, Valpark.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 28th, 2006, 2:13 pm

Sheriff's auto supplies dey on Cipero St. Sando........

venum

Postby venum » February 28th, 2006, 9:23 pm

Sherrif's on Cipero Street San Fernando

biy yuh just can't slap in a K&N filter dude

yuh need intake piping to place the filter on

most intake systems consist of four parts

1. the air filter - to filter air

2. intake piping - to take filtered air to the TB

3. supports - to support the intake piping and filter

4. fasteners - to securely attach the filter to the intake piping, the intake piping to the TB and the supports to the piping

yuh have to check how yuh placing that intake into your engine bay first b4 yuh study bout the filter :mrgreen:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » February 28th, 2006, 9:27 pm

^I believe he is talking about an OEM sized replacement. Drop in filter business.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 28th, 2006, 9:38 pm

wha price ah cone K&N goin for?? i wanna replace the ractive i have...

venum

Postby venum » February 28th, 2006, 9:50 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^I believe he is talking about an OEM sized replacement. Drop in filter business.

yeah I know

but from one of his other posts he wanted to mod the Lancer

so I just dropped that bit of info here

K&N drop in plentiful at Sherrif

don't give the same result as cone though

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » March 1st, 2006, 12:39 am

actually if you think about....... and redo part of the oem intake box you cud end up better. But run the risk of water getting in the engine, I saw once a guy cut his oem airbox and dropped in a K&N and dat beyotch used to make noise. I was thinkin dropping in a replacement n d oem box...... cutting it also buh adding sum to route air to the box.

BTW howmuch fuh d filter?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 1st, 2006, 9:42 am

man the amt of air that the simple K&N drop in sucking in for the GDI, I was like wow.........but then again that entire stock intake system seems to be quite efficiently designed

ksr

Postby ksr » March 1st, 2006, 9:55 am

The K&N cone filter is bout $450-500 i think. The price of the drop in does vary by car but i payed about $200 for the civic one

Postby equipped2ripp » March 1st, 2006, 6:20 pm

a drop-in K&N is around $550

fras

Postby fras » April 8th, 2006, 9:14 am

equipped2ripp $550 for the drop-in u sure?
I was told like $200 but i figure its an imitation or something

Postby Rainman » April 8th, 2006, 11:01 am

450 for the regular k&n cone air filter and 625 for the k&n cone air with the front feed. i recommend the one for 625 i have tried them both. available at sherriffs in sando

Postby equipped2ripp » April 9th, 2006, 11:24 am

yeah i paid $550 for a drop-in

fras

Postby fras » April 9th, 2006, 11:51 am

Ok cool

WTF

Postby WTF » April 22nd, 2006, 1:11 pm

the drop in filters vary in price...mine cost 625 because it needed a plastic bracket to support the filter and came with a filter sealing tube...K&N is really the best.. all u need to do after is buy the recharger kit and clean when necessary

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » April 23rd, 2006, 12:48 am

Indeed,,piping important to channel the air flow[/quote]

zahir452

Postby zahir452 » June 18th, 2006, 9:53 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:yeah i paid $550 for a drop-in

dude...where u bought your stuff??

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » June 19th, 2006, 10:59 am

i paid $365 for my cone filter, which has a chrome top, and which cost more than the usual 3" flange filter cuz i needed a 3.156" flange(or slightly smaller), so it had to be specially brought in. the one's with the top feed like whatrainman, is reffering to, cost about $450-$500.
i find it really strange the high high prices u guys paying for filters.
BTW i bought mine by andy in minicity in valpark.

here is a pic of the top feed ones

and here is a pic of mine

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » June 19th, 2006, 12:31 pm

WTF wrote:the drop in filters vary in price...mine cost 625 because it needed a plastic bracket to support the filter and came with a filter sealing tube...K&N is really the best.. all u need to do after is buy the recharger kit and clean when necessary

not really
apexi been proven to filter better and flow more air than the K&N
some guy in the states did a test on a range of filters including the K&N, apexi, HKS and some others i cant remember :?
but K&N is still good :wink:

STi-N

Postby STi-N » June 19th, 2006, 12:35 pm

GPS sellin 3 different types of cone filters (K&N)
$295
$395
$595

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » June 19th, 2006, 1:09 pm

jnqaz, is that the test where, he used the drop in filter(the hks, or k&n or whichever) and then he had another filtering medium, after that in the air part to see what particles were being let through the drop in filter?

if this is the test, u are actually talking about, i saw it too. turns out the apexi was only slightly ahead of the K&n in filtering(according to his opinion, in mine its the same, when i looked at the pics) the air flow in this test was really a guesstimate on his path, cuz he compared engine resopnse, with the different filters. so that is left to be desired by the user.
BTW i e-mailed the guy after reading the article, he said he still uses K&N on his cars, even though he thinks the apexi is better, because he said K&N is easier to acess and has a wider range of filters, and has better customer support.

aidan

Postby aidan » June 19th, 2006, 1:13 pm

Andy in minicity valpark,bought mines dere and works great,dropp in oem,paid $500 i tink.

fras

Postby fras » June 20th, 2006, 9:44 am

Anyone have the # for minicity :?:
Also are you suppose to oil the drop in or something before u put it in :?:

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » June 20th, 2006, 11:30 am

No, those filters are pre-oiled, sealed with a plastic bag. No oiling necessary in the begining.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » June 20th, 2006, 12:38 pm

number is 678 7430, that's andy's cell i believe.

fras

Postby fras » June 20th, 2006, 12:59 pm

Ok cool

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » June 23rd, 2006, 7:28 pm

well I installed a Simota cone filter on a N16Sunny and made the adapter from scrap metal.Well everything works well and the loud noise comes on around mid range rpm.But it's a great improvement over the stock airbox.
Somebody told me that this cone filter could damage the AirFlow meter.Is this true? Because the adpater mounts the filter to the 4 holes in front of the AFM ,where the oem top box was removed.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » June 23rd, 2006, 10:00 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:BTW i e-mailed the guy after reading the article, he said he still uses K&N on his cars, even though he thinks the apexi is better, because he said K&N is easier to acess and has a wider range of filters, and has better customer support.

What does better customer support for air filters mean?
As far as I know... I put it in the car and maintain it. What else is there?