check engine light

rexsmith

check engine light

Postby rexsmith » August 18th, 2021, 2:29 pm

The check engine light in my y12 is on and the mechanic said that is because I am using super gas and that I should use premium to stop the check light from coming on, but i have been using super for years even in the other y12 and never that problem.

any ideas?

Re: check engine light

Postby rollingstock » August 18th, 2021, 2:37 pm

Your mechanic is an ass

hindian

Postby hindian » August 18th, 2021, 2:54 pm

Lol. Allyuh does actually pay these fellas? I bought a cheap code reader that connects to my phone so I get my trouble codes myself so I dont have to listen to that kinda kakahole diagnosis lol

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 18th, 2021, 3:09 pm

Could be as simple as loose gas cap, to other issues like fuel pump failure. Go find somebody with the proper software on their scanner. I feel your mech using a cheap scanner or he now drop out the mango tree forceripe.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 18th, 2021, 3:10 pm

If its the HR15DE then no super is fine, however if you happen to have a Y12 which came with the MR18DE then this is not the first time I heard someone say that premium works better with that engine. But what are the chances that you do have the 18? I'd say go get another opinion. Your problem could be the spark plugs, coil packs, MAFS or even a timing tensioner or pulley. The more you can figure out on your own the better as plugs and coil packs aren't hard to swap. Only time consuming thing here is you have to remove your intake manifold to get access to those parts. Good luck.

Postby bluefete » August 18th, 2021, 3:10 pm

rexsmith wrote:The check engine light in my y12 is on and the mechanic said that is because I am using super gas and that I should use premium to stop the check light from coming on, but i have been using super for years even in the other y12 and never that problem.

any ideas?

rollingstock wrote:Your mechanic is an ass

Time to get a new mechanic!

Postby supercharged turbo » August 18th, 2021, 3:52 pm

How allyuh does even be trusting those men to fix allyuh car?

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 18th, 2021, 4:38 pm

rollingstock wrote:Your mechanic is an ass

This.

Postby Les Bain » August 18th, 2021, 4:44 pm

You need a better mechanic. They make the world of difference.

Postby gastly369 » August 18th, 2021, 5:05 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:How allyuh does even be trusting those men to fix allyuh car?
"de man price real good boi"

Postby K74T » August 18th, 2021, 5:15 pm

Roll over Rex, roll over.

Postby adnj » August 18th, 2021, 5:52 pm

Find out what the fault code was. You can have ten different reasons for some fault codes.