CK Lancer, terrible fuel economy

trinigamer

CK Lancer, terrible fuel economy

Postby trinigamer » January 31st, 2006, 1:37 pm

My 1998 CK1 Lancer, 1.3 Auto, A/C, 4G13 engine is getting terrible fuel economy. By terrible I mean 160 km to a tank, about TT$100 for full tank of premium (used Redline S1-1). Car was recently serviced, got oil and filter changed and spark plugs.

Most of my driving is short trips, a lot of times in traffic. A/C is always on. The mechanic I consulted suggested that the fuel injectors needed cleaning. I've read the other posts on this topic, but my gas consumption seems much worse.

The engine runs smooth, no stalls, idles at 600 rpms, and has about 101k on it.

Has anyone else come across this problem? Any possible solution?

venum

Postby venum » January 31st, 2006, 1:58 pm

Ok dude

yuh post bout CK lancer

so yuh get meh here

4G13 - Fuel Injected or Carburetted

if carburetted I cyar help yuh much

if Fuel Injected I might be able to

what kind of service was last done?

is the air filter clean?

are the spark plugs clean?

what kinda plugs you using?

plugs prob need to be regapped\changed

when were the Fuel Injectors last serviced?

what colour exhaust are you getting?

160km to a 50 litre tank is terrible

Xman

Postby Xman » January 31st, 2006, 2:11 pm

:shock: 160km to $100

sure your tank not leaking........

FYI - by the way in America billions of dollars in gas is losted every year due to improperly closed gas screw caps and lids...........
Last edited by Xman on January 31st, 2006, 3:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Dave » January 31st, 2006, 2:12 pm

my ck1 is also same specs so it sounds local
does the back bumper have alot of exhaust soot on it?
the seals in the carb are usually the culprits
My seals are in need of changing but I still get just under 400km
mathuras has the seal kit
its a key star brand and works well
ensure all the tune up items are in good working order as venum listed

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » January 31st, 2006, 3:17 pm

venum wrote:4G13 - Fuel Injected or Carburetted

Fuel injected
venum wrote:what kind of service was last done?

Oil/filter change, spark plugs changed in December, odo was about 99,000 k, now 101,200
venum wrote:is the air filter clean?

Don't know. I'll check this afternoon.
venum wrote:are the spark plugs clean?

They're new.
venum wrote:what kinda plugs you using?

NGK BKR5E-11
venum wrote:plugs prob need to be regapped\changed

venum wrote:when were the Fuel Injectors last serviced?

Don't know, just bought the car last November. I'll ask the previous owner.
venum wrote:what colour exhaust are you getting?

Exhaust is clear.

Dave wrote:my ck1 is also same specs so it sounds local

Yes its a local CK1 see here
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

Dave wrote:does the back bumper have alot of exhaust soot on it?
No
Dave wrote:the seals in the carb are usually the culprits
Fuel injected.

Postby Dave » January 31st, 2006, 3:21 pm

hard luck then, do a engine scan and ensure all the sensors are operational

venum

Postby venum » January 31st, 2006, 3:44 pm

Good Grief man :shock:

ah never see so much quotes of what I said in a post yet

my guess is that it is the injectors need cleaning . . . very badly

or the O2 sensor dead

might even be related to the plug wires

if they old the spark plugs won't be firing to their proper voltages

due to increased resistance in the old wires

but this is usually identified in a loss of power experience

having any of those lately?

smell the exhaust man, if it smelling rich then you probably have a compression problem or ignition too

when the 4G15 injectors need cleaning I usually know by my mileage, but it's usually a 50 km difference or even a 100 km difference consistently

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » January 31st, 2006, 3:53 pm

Ah don't mean to hijack de man thread eh but I was wondering something. (may be a dumb question)

smell the exhaust man, if it smelling rich then you probably have a compression problem or ignition too

Is there any MANUAL adjustment for the a/f mixture on an EFI engine - Specifically a 1.6 4G92 SOHC (just like the local ones). Or does the computer handle it.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » January 31st, 2006, 4:10 pm

venum wrote:Good Grief man :shock:

ah never see so much quotes of what I said in a post yet

Here I go again.
venum wrote:might even be related to the plug wires
if they old the spark plugs won't be firing to their proper voltages
due to increased resistance in the old wires
but this is usually identified in a loss of power experience
having any of those lately?

Nope.

venum

Postby venum » January 31st, 2006, 4:18 pm

Corollaman wrote:Is there any MANUAL adjustment for the a/f mixture on an EFI engine - Specifically a 1.6 4G92 SOHC (just like the local ones). Or does the computer handle it.

I believe that it is fully electronic on the 4G92, even the 4G15 tha I have

Piggybacks invented to change that, I believe

but I making a guess there, I'll let Dave answer that for a better answer

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » January 31st, 2006, 4:20 pm

Thanks !

Dave,
Your thoughts?

Postby Dave » February 1st, 2006, 8:00 am

yup, the air flow, tps and o2 sensor all work with each other to provide parameters set by the ecu to adjust all systems
do a check engine and resistance test on the sensors after

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » February 1st, 2006, 8:17 am

venum wrote:smell the exhaust man, if it smelling rich then you probably have a compression problem or ignition too

Smelt exhaust fumes, smells like ordinary exhaust fumes to me, although I have nothing to compare it to since I have limited experience in inhaling exhaust fumes. By rich, you mean a heavy gasoline smell? Nope did not get that.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » February 1st, 2006, 10:36 am

Found out from the previous owner that the injectors were cleaned out 6 months ago.

Xman

Postby Xman » February 1st, 2006, 11:53 am

Sure yuh tank not leakin right :roll:

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » February 1st, 2006, 12:01 pm

You have a good point there Xman.

A while back, with the 'rolla, I noticed fuel economy becoming horrible. After doing a normal tuneup, it was still awful.

What you think happened?? One of the hose clips on the rubber fuel line in the engine bay ran a little slack and fuel was dripping out slowly when the car was running.

Trace your fuel line trinigamer, look at where it connects to the fuel rail (via flex line) and where it connects to the fuel filter. I think you will have a screw type metal filter.

If you can get it on a ramp, look at the rubber lines close to the gas tank.

It's worth a look.
Avin.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » February 1st, 2006, 12:05 pm

^^ Okay, I did look under the car yesterday, did not see or smell anything, but I'll look more closely as you advise.

venum

Postby venum » February 1st, 2006, 6:08 pm

hmmm

weird indeed

most of the factors that cause poor fuel comsumption seem to be in the OK

or so he claims

you prob need to get that car checked out by a mechanic

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » February 1st, 2006, 8:19 pm

sheit... i does get a 300+km to my tank runnin hard/ac.. (ck4 mivec)

buy a engine yes, better yet, buy a car....wait, mine for sale :mrgreen:

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » February 1st, 2006, 8:31 pm

i had that 4G13 engine...and the fuel economy was bad...buh not as bad as urs though...buh i ended up changing engine to a 4G15 and that good in fuel economy...well to me though...and it works good

venum

Postby venum » February 1st, 2006, 10:26 pm

that car ent sell yet Jessie?

wait I going to rob a few doubles men and ah coming with the cash fuh yuh

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » February 2nd, 2006, 11:46 am

boy, she home... havent driven her in 3 weeks... i does start, let she warm up, and rev...listening to that sweet sound..

wait.. my fuel economy not so good after all :lol:

0km to quarter tank :roll: :!:

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » February 23rd, 2006, 9:01 am

I took the car in for its scheduled servicing and to check the problem:

Changed the oil (Shell Helix Plus, 15W-50W) and filter.
Routine checks of brakes and belts etc.
Cleaned the injectors
Changed the fuel filter
The mechanic told me that the gap on the spark plugs was too narrow, so they were re-gapped.
Checked the O2 and MAP sensors, working fine.

I did immediately notice an improvement in the car's performance.
The fuel tank is now one notch above 3-quarters full. I'll monitor it over a week.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 25th, 2006, 8:01 pm

The fuel tank is now one notch above 3-quarters full.

with how much distance covered?? one notch above 3/4 full is around $40???

venum

Postby venum » February 25th, 2006, 9:15 pm

^^^ $40.00 will fill up the tank (to F) if it one notch above 3/4 tank

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 26th, 2006, 12:02 pm

^^^So with that amt of fuel he ought to have done around 160km +........less than that and tings bad.

venum

Postby venum » February 26th, 2006, 1:39 pm

^^^ yea thaz about right

I get ~150km from complete fill-up (needle above F) to 3/4 tank

that's 150km to my first 1/4 tank

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » February 26th, 2006, 2:57 pm

TRY THE POWER FOAM FROM AMZOIL

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » February 27th, 2006, 4:21 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:
The fuel tank is now one notch above 3-quarters full.

with how much distance covered?? one notch above 3/4 full is around $40???

I filled the tank ($90.00 of premium) at 100,414 km on Monday 20th. Took it to the mechanic on Wednesday 22nd, tank was two notches under full. Lost some gas during servicing. Odo was at 100,335 km after servicing, now at 100,474 km, fuel tank now two notches under 3/4 quarters full.

BTW the gauge varies a lot during the day, by as much as a quarter tank, is that normal? I take readings when the car has been stationary for at least two hours.

venum

Postby venum » February 27th, 2006, 5:11 pm

trinigamer wrote:BTW the gauge varies a lot during the day, by as much as a quarter tank, is that normal? I take readings when the car has been stationary for at least two hours.

i don't think so man

the only time my gauge varies is when the car in on an incline

front up - lower than actual reading

front down - higher than actual reading

tell us what kinda mileage you getting to a full tank man