Postby Dave » March 6th, 2009, 10:42 am

welcome to my world

turbonator

Postby turbonator » March 26th, 2009, 3:08 am

Anyone knows where I can get the Mintex pads for a b14? I wanted to try it for a while but i can't seem to find it anywhere. I've been using *not too sure abt the spelling* daishin ceramic pads :|.

I have to change brake pads in the morning. They making noise and the fluid drop :oops:

Rush

Postby Rush » March 28th, 2009, 12:30 am

I thinl u can get the mintex at trinidad brakes and clutch in barataria,

look them up in the book, and call them first to make sure

turbonator

Postby turbonator » March 28th, 2009, 1:00 am

Will do, thanks. I'm from central so i was hoping that some place around chaguanas would have it :( :oops: :lol:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 28th, 2009, 6:29 pm

lets just say I am SATISFIED

Please....tell me it's not the ceramic! Otherwise.......your rotors are gonna be very dis-SATISFIED!!!!

Postby bushwakka » March 29th, 2009, 10:35 am

subaru OEM cuz meh cyarrr still on warranty an i hav no say in the matter :lol:

Rush

Postby Rush » March 29th, 2009, 1:37 pm

^^You have to change pads in the subaru already?

Changing pads to another brand will void ur warranty...?
its not so at Diamond Motors...

Postby bushwakka » March 29th, 2009, 6:08 pm

na, i don't think they change pads for me as yet....i will find out abt it tho

larafan

Postby larafan » March 30th, 2009, 6:20 pm

turbonator,

i went trinidad brake and clutch for pads for a b14 already....around august last year...and was told they don't make mintex for b14's....

i dunno if thats changed now tho.... :|

Postby bluesteel29 » April 13th, 2009, 4:33 pm

wouldnt the rotors have a role to play in wat kinda of disc pads u should use??

using GIC (italian bizniss), minimal dust and no squeaking....heard wagna is a good one too tho.

all these 2ners that go yrs without changing pads....yall actually drive those vehicles???????

Rush

Postby Rush » April 13th, 2009, 9:49 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:heard wagna is a good one too tho.

hee hee

Adrenalinerush

Postby Adrenalinerush » April 14th, 2009, 10:52 am

Hawk HPS pads
They decent, but the slotted rotors makin them generate a lot of dust. Very effective pad though, only thing that annoyed me was some squeaking when they were still breakin in...all in all satisfied with their performance.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 14th, 2009, 8:53 pm

all these 2ners that go yrs without changing pads....yall actually drive those vehicles???????

Yep. That's why you buy OEM. Buying cheapo replacements = more dust, and chances are, they wear out faster too. :lol:

heard wagna is a good one too tho

I dunno what's funnier....the spelling (WAGNER) or the fact that he used that brandname and "good" in the same sentence.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » December 30th, 2009, 10:35 am

Akebono pads ftw

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 30th, 2009, 2:48 pm

Concerning the accord

Was using Wagner QuickStop until I split one of their pads in half..
Now, with the new Brembo Sport rotors, went with Hawk HPS $60 US on the front
Wagner Thermoquiet shoes on the rear $18 US (minus $15 on rebate) ie. $3 US haha

Hawk HPS
Pros:
*Excellent pad bite, particularly after 2 or 3 harder stops
*Essentially no fade at all, and I ring those things out HARD on some of my central range runs
*Surprisingly not loud AT ALL, especially if installed correctly

Cons:
* To some people, price
*Moderate, but very dark, dust that smells like what I would imagine Brimstone and Fire to smell like haha (some may like this???)
*Morning whistle along the rotor slots, more as a result of the brembo rotor than the pad

Overall, superb pad and certainly the best I have ever used

---- I also own a pair of Wagner Edge Ceramic pads (not available in trinidad) for it for $45 US minus $15 - so $30 US
It is supposedly the best pad wagner makes, but anything is a step down after the hawk hence I haven't used them yet..
Also, worried about how the slotted rotors will take to ceramics..

------------------

2nd Gen Pajero (4D56 engine)
OHK Pads front and rear - Paid $130 a pair at Faiz I think

Pros:
*Good price
*Long lasting
*Not too much dusting

Cons:
*Squealing already after 5 months, not too bad, but enough to notice
*I think it still contains asbestos, not the most pleasurable material...

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » December 30th, 2009, 9:36 pm

^^^ Nah! yuh eh hear da name?! asBEStos? dat good 4 d lil cancer & ting!

usin Sumitomo OEM pads in the CS3, dey unbelievably good! de original ones last a year & a half (or 45,000km a hard highway driving everyday)

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » December 30th, 2009, 10:43 pm

Wagner ceramic $195 so far so good

:P

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 31st, 2009, 2:20 am

I swore by the wagner too anil, helped solve a problem I was having with my slightly uneven rotors...
I'm assuming you mean QuickStop? Does anyone sell the wagner ThermoQuiet or Edge pads in Trinidad?

Anyway, I loved them until I cracked the pad in half making a 160kmph quick stop...

After that, decided it was time to upgrade the entire braking system..

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 31st, 2009, 10:45 am

or u can drive slower :lol: :lol:

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 31st, 2009, 3:53 pm

Nah, not an option haha

Anyway, update on the OHK, they are good pads but LOVE to squeal! They are about 6 months old now, and give off small squals on pretty much any low speed stop..

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » December 31st, 2009, 8:39 pm

X_Factor wrote:
Stock b14 brakes
Wagner pads
no noise
brake fade
car felt like it just didnt wanna stop at times
upon reaching maracas no brakes

Ever notice when the pads cold yuh have no brakes?

turbonator

Postby turbonator » January 6th, 2010, 8:39 pm

thatguy3832 wrote:
X_Factor wrote:
Stock b14 brakes
Wagner pads
no noise
brake fade
car felt like it just didnt wanna stop at times
upon reaching maracas no brakes

Ever notice when the pads cold yuh have no brakes?

After one stop with 4 ppl in the car and yuh does get real brake fade with them pads. Doh talk about organic wagner pads that's the worst.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » January 6th, 2010, 8:41 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:Akebono pads ftw

Where yuh does get that? I used them once (in a set of FU calipers) and they worked really good.

renegade_wolf

Re:

Postby renegade_wolf » June 6th, 2010, 8:40 pm

CD4Accord wrote:I swore by the wagner too anil, helped solve a problem I was having with my slightly uneven rotors...
I'm assuming you mean QuickStop? Does anyone sell the wagner ThermoQuiet or Edge pads in Trinidad?

Anyway, I loved them until I cracked the pad in half making a 160kmph quick stop...

After that, decided it was time to upgrade the entire braking system..

so what pads did you replace the wagner with in the meantime?

FullStop

Re: the disc pad thread

Postby FullStop » June 6th, 2010, 9:14 pm

centric ceramics, brought in from the US, coupled with ebc sport rotors, good fade resistant braking,no fade to maracas and back, good stuff.