the disc pad thread

Re: the disc pad thread

Postby black start » December 16th, 2012, 9:49 pm

Akebono works decent. I got a set for my b13 (with b14 front brakes) a little while aback and was an improvement to the wagner that I normally used. Too bad I had to switch bad to the wagner as I never got them again....

nivek

Postby nivek » December 19th, 2012, 8:51 pm

dont know if it was mentioned before but front pads in wagner for A32 cefiro code is ZD430 (quick stop) $170 @ motorist

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 20th, 2012, 6:54 am

My experience with Wagner is that they don't grip properly when cold, but are okay when warm.

Postby sliderz1 » December 20th, 2012, 11:18 pm

CD4Accord wrote:Mintex is a local pad? Local meaning it can be purchased in Trinidad I assume? I love the mintex, it was night and day vs the OHK on the pajero...

Trinidad Brakes and Clutch Ltd is the dealer for Mintex, but their subsidary sellers usually are cheaper, guessing for market turnover
past experience with Mintex is good

5forward

Postby 5forward » May 16th, 2013, 12:03 pm

What would be the absolute best brand of disc pad for a Y11 wingroad...I know of a couple high end brands but not sure they would make products for such a "low end" car...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 16th, 2013, 5:27 pm

High end in terms of what ? Stopping power and performance?

Quietness and lack of dust?

Longest lasting?

5forward

Postby 5forward » May 16th, 2013, 10:15 pm

A bit of all actually but i could handle some dust if i have to

Postby X_Factor » May 17th, 2013, 4:20 am

there is EBC ultimax which is sorta OEM, those worked nice for me but i ordered off amazon

other than that, a set of National, Titanium, GIC,FBL pads, all are probably under 150 for a set and probably available at any parts place
i think once ur aware and use predictive braking rather than reactive braking yuh could use anything and be ok yes

Postby Dave » May 17th, 2013, 7:59 am

^^Well informed individual
Only one I would add would be Bosch

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 18th, 2013, 6:23 am

I would add mintex if he could find it for an AD wagon.. I'm not sure if they do make it for his model, but I have nothing but good things to say about it..

Just remember, if you are on those tiny 13" wheels and tyres that ad wagons come with, you will probably have way more brake than traction

5forward

Postby 5forward » May 19th, 2013, 9:08 pm

Thanks guys.I could get the mintex for my wingroad for $3xx and the bosch for like $150...My choice is gona be between those two for sure though...anything you could tell me about the mintex btw?

Postby Dave » May 20th, 2013, 7:56 am

mintex dust is terrible imo and overpriced because of their other highend lines

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 20th, 2013, 8:13 am

mintex will make your rims black in no time.

Postby sliderz1 » May 20th, 2013, 11:15 am

agree with both posts above. it is a bit annoying with my daily high traffic commute.

give the bosch a try, review it too.

Postby Dave » May 20th, 2013, 11:33 am

Used bosch, excellent for daily driver and dusts very little. Can even be pushed and no fade experienced

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 20th, 2013, 11:59 am

wagner
if u can afford, ebc or project mu

Postby cinco » May 20th, 2013, 4:54 pm

Dave wrote:Used bosch, excellent for daily driver and dusts very little. Can even be pushed and no fade experienced

x2 use bosch on an nze and bj 323
both perform well enough for a daily
use Hi-q on the kia dusts like hell but dam it stops well

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 21st, 2013, 5:30 am

Don't bother with wagner... Yes it wont dust but the brake performance is way below that of the bosch, mintex etc...

I say go with the bosch price for price...

That being said, if dusting is not a concern the mintex is an excellent pad.. It has been excellent on my pajero

eitech

Postby eitech » May 21st, 2013, 5:37 am

Everyone will have different views depending on vehicle and/or driving habit. But sometimes i does really wonder whats allyuh definition of daily driving.

Sent from my iPhone 4s using TriniTuner mobile app

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 25th, 2013, 11:19 pm

I so far like my Hawk Street Pads. Its dusty but the stopping power is worth it.

Postby Dave » May 26th, 2013, 10:21 am

Hawk working for u lol,such a sheltered boy

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 26th, 2013, 12:47 pm

Hawk increased the stopping distance of de evo

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » May 26th, 2013, 8:11 pm

so what will you guys recommend for 300zx brakes which wouldnt be noisy, hold properly and won't get your rims dirty with its dust? Used hawk already but it was extremely noisy and left my rims dirty all the time so not really interested in them.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 26th, 2013, 11:12 pm

Akebono ProACT ceramic is the best ceramic brake I have used. It is OEM on a lot of cars and will offer decent performance with NO dusting... All of this comes at a cost. Firstly, you probably wont find it locally, secondly it'll be almost twice the cost of equivalent ceramics like wagner, monroe etc..

Centric Posi-quiet would be a good substitute for the Akebono if you can find it in your application...

Just remember that when you looking for clean pads you going to sacrifice something in performance, but the brands i mentioned will probably do better than anything sold locally

Conrad

Postby Conrad » May 27th, 2013, 2:25 am

If it ain't dusting it ain't stopping :lol:

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » June 1st, 2013, 1:45 pm

so i've been hearing about wagner for a while now but never used it. So is it any good? Noiseless?
no major dust? And is it suitable for a turbo charged car?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 1st, 2013, 2:29 pm

Jerry, wagner pads have been discussed ad nauseum on this thread.. All you had to do was scroll up about 6 posts...

First thing is that the wagner imported into trinidad is the lowest of the bunch, they will do the job on a daily driver, don't dust and are quiet.... For performance applications, don't even bother

eitech

Postby eitech » June 1st, 2013, 2:47 pm

CD4Accord wrote:First thing is that the wagner imported into trinidad is the lowest of the bunch

Wdf. I didnt know that. Anyways i changed disc pads today and replaced them with the usual wagner. I isah daily driver...

Sent from my iPhone 4s using TriniTuner mobile app

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 2nd, 2013, 2:18 pm

Yep. Wagner QuickStop is their lower line... The one you really should be hoping to get is the ThermoQuiet but I have rarely seen it in T+T and when I have it has been massively overpriced..

I not saying anything is wrong with wagner.. .It is probably better than a lot of the no name brands we get locally, but it is by no means a performance pad and doesn't market itself as such..

Postby *KRONIK* » June 2nd, 2013, 6:06 pm

^^^^
Using these (thermoquiet) on the grand vitara...
Paid 5xx for the set...
I was shocked at the price but it better than paying close to 900 at the firm..

Review: best non-OEM brake pad i tried so far.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using TriniTuner mobile app