Car needs to crank at least twice to start

daas

Car needs to crank at least twice to start

Postby daas » September 14th, 2016, 9:58 am

Recently noticed a problem with starting my car. In the morning (for obvious reasons I guess with temperature) I get trouble but even on afternoons after its not been in use for a few hours. The first crank-nothing, the second, it starts as usual.

I changed the battery a couple months ago.

ADONI

Re: Car needs to crank at least twice to start

Postby ADONI » September 15th, 2016, 9:45 am

Wah kind of car Daas?

daas

Postby daas » September 15th, 2016, 1:48 pm

Hyundai i30

aleehosein

Postby aleehosein » September 15th, 2016, 2:37 pm

Im having the same exact problem

treeneeboi

Postby treeneeboi » September 15th, 2016, 2:58 pm

Usually if its not the battery its the starter needs servicing. At least that was the rule of thumb i was accustommed to. Had that prob with a b15 and after changing the battery went to an electrician for the starter and car started like brand new after. Like i literally didnt remember it ever starting so freely in the years i used it.

aleehosein

Postby aleehosein » September 15th, 2016, 3:04 pm

I had a feeling it was that

aleehosein

Postby aleehosein » September 15th, 2016, 3:04 pm

Thanks

daas

Postby daas » September 15th, 2016, 3:06 pm

Well from what I'm reading on the internet they say its most likely the starter but wanted some local advice. Cheers.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 15th, 2016, 3:13 pm

I eh no expert, but I had a hot start issue with a Hyundai diesel recently. Maybe do a computer scan to see if the MAF (when last you clean the MAF) and coolant temperature sensors reading ok.. Any funny/rough idle when you start could be injectors need cleaning or bad injector nozzle. Hope you get thru.

daas

Postby daas » September 15th, 2016, 3:15 pm

MAF? dan you literally have to spell car jargon out for me.

One man was telling me the fuel filter might need changing but I'll look into the starter issue...

Btw...where sells starters? :?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 15th, 2016, 3:44 pm

Mass air flow sensor... Its an easy clean.
Well yea, if you say it is a issue you saw online with those i30 you can check it out. Yuh might have to buy it at Massy, but I know it suppose to be serviceable.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 15th, 2016, 7:47 pm

daas wrote:Recently noticed a problem with starting my car. In the morning (for obvious reasons I guess with temperature) I get trouble but even on afternoons after its not been in use for a few hours. The first crank-nothing, the second, it starts as usual.

Does it crank the first time? If it does, then it's not a starter issue.

daas

Postby daas » September 16th, 2016, 7:24 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
daas wrote:Recently noticed a problem with starting my car. In the morning (for obvious reasons I guess with temperature) I get trouble but even on afternoons after its not been in use for a few hours. The first crank-nothing, the second, it starts as usual.

Does it crank the first time? If it does, then it's not a starter issue.

When I turn the key first time the engine 'tumbles' as if to start...but it doesn't start.

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » September 16th, 2016, 8:02 am

Diesel or gas engine? What brand of battery you put in? Also when cranking take a meter and measure your voltage drop.

daas

Postby daas » September 16th, 2016, 8:11 am

Gas. Track battery.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 16th, 2016, 10:20 am

If it cranks, then its not starter or battery preventing it from starting.

Can be as simple as needing new plugs or not so simple as MAF or fuel pressure.

daas

Postby daas » September 16th, 2016, 10:35 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:If it cranks, then its not starter or battery preventing it from starting.

Can be as simple as needing new plugs or not so simple as MAF or fuel pressure.

I changed the plugs probably no more than 6 months ago!!! ngk platinum too which the mechanic said were very good

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » September 16th, 2016, 11:07 am

Did you check back the plugs recently. I know of vehicles doing and engine wash and water gets into the plug housing. As stated above I highly doubt it's starter problem. Did you check the fuel system from the tank to the engine. Try running a gas treatment or octane boost. Also the the air filter changed recently? I honestly believe it's a starvation problem for combustion that's why it taking longer to start.

daas

Postby daas » September 18th, 2016, 12:36 pm

Carried it by an auto elect and he said it was the alternator.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 19th, 2016, 7:25 pm

Can anyone explain me the logic behind this diagnosis?

Not saying it wrong, just would like to know how one affects the other.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 20th, 2016, 6:52 am

Current draw to start from the battery and alternator turning to power the car ignition etc. I could be wrong. I'm getting the 'click click' when I turn the key till eventually it turns over and I have to crank it twice sometimes three times.

daas

Postby daas » September 20th, 2016, 11:23 am

Car problems cah done nah...still getting the starter problem but based on what he showed me before and after when he tested the battery voltage, I saw the difference for myself for eg when putting on the ac and headlights as opposed to before when the voltage had a lower reading with the ac and lights on

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 20th, 2016, 12:46 pm

what about crank sensor? worth a look. Go to another mechanic.

matt1092

Postby matt1092 » September 20th, 2016, 3:23 pm

Check the cranking amps on the battery, it may be too low. Try putting in a battery with a higher cranking amps but first check the plugs

matt1092

Postby matt1092 » September 20th, 2016, 3:24 pm

Are you letting the fuel pump prime first?

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 24th, 2016, 5:16 pm

daas wrote:Car problems cah done nah...still getting the starter problem but based on what he showed me before and after when he tested the battery voltage, I saw the difference for myself for eg when putting on the ac and headlights as opposed to before when the voltage had a lower reading with the ac and lights on

Because only in a conman's world your alternator would cause the issues you describe. Of coures it wasn't that, but he saw a chance to make some money.

I have not seen your car but I can assure you you do not have a starter, battery or alternator issue for the problem you desscribe.