DIY Polyurethane mounts!!!

Groovemaster

Re: DIY Polyurethane mounts!!!

Postby Groovemaster » October 8th, 2012, 7:21 pm

I used that product to fill the front mount in my BJ 323. My question is, if I only fill one mount can this affect my acceleration. I can get 'kick down' on flat roads but I have to really press all to get uphill. I was thinking to fill the tranny & engine mounts since they are much easier to get to than the rear. I must admit the car is more responsive... So can filling one alone affect acceleration?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 8th, 2012, 7:35 pm

Groovemaster, what you are feeling is reduced flex in your mounts and as a result engine does not have to move before power reaches yours wheel, I experienced the same when I went to poly mounts front rear and gearbox mount, driver side is still oem but filled.

As for only filling one mount, it can make a difference, but it will reduce the life of the rear mount. If I were you I will fill both the front and rear. From research the msp front mount is a bit stiffer so you can look at that.

http://www.protegefaq.net/mods_engine.html#mounts

AWR is the only company known to make polyurethane mounts for the 2.0L engine
cars. They are replacements for the #1 and #2 engine mounts. AWR also recently
released polyurethane inserts for the stock #3 and #4 engine mounts. If you have a
2.0l manual transmission car, you can also get the #3 engine mount from the
MazdaSpeed Protegé. They are made of a stiffer rubber material but still allow
acceptable NVH levels for a daily/street driven vehicle. The MazdaSpeed #3 engine
mount part number is BP7H-39-06Y. If you have a 1.8l or 2.0l automatic, you can
use the 4WD Sport20 #3 engine mount instead. The part number is B26K-39-06YE.
For some additional improvement while still maintaining near stock NVH levels for
daily driving, a "roll damper" combined with the turbo diesel #2 engine mount can be
used to further reduce drivetrain lash for 2.0L manual transmission and all 1.8L
owners. Parts from different model variations will be used in order for this
combination to be possible.
The following parts are required::
B28V-39-800B engine mount member (from automatic FWD FS-DE cars)
B28V-39-990 roll damper (from AT FWD FS and AT & MT 4WD FS-ZE cars)
GJ21-34-031 nut (from AT FWD FS and AT & MT 4WD FS-ZE cars)
BJ3A-39-050C #2 engine mount (from European RF turbo diesel cars)
For 2.0l manual transmission owners:
B29A-39-020A #2 engine mount bracket (from AT & MT 4WD FS-ZE cars)
For 1.8l automatic and manual transmission owners:
B28V-39-020A #2 engine mount bracket (from automatic FWD FS cars)
Some other parts not mentioned that attach to the above parts listed will be reused.
While this upgrade method may not be the most economical, it is by far the best
way in avoiding increased NVH. As already mentioned, FWD 2.0L automatic cars
already has the roll damper equiped, therefore the #2 turbo diesel engine mount is
all that is needed.

http://www.mazdas247.com/forum/showthre ... ine-damper

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » October 9th, 2012, 8:06 pm

Thanks Naresh!

Spartantim

Postby Spartantim » October 31st, 2012, 5:57 pm

bumpy

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 1st, 2012, 12:24 pm

The Outlaw

Postby The Outlaw » December 7th, 2012, 8:20 pm

good info

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » December 7th, 2012, 8:32 pm

saw tread late.....but this iz what you want http://www.amazon.com/Prothane-14-504-F ... othane+504
you just need to buy 2 of them for front and back....haven't located the sides yet.....vibrates alot though....great for sr20's

Postby black start » April 28th, 2013, 1:35 pm

working good about 6 months now....

ar05ant

Postby ar05ant » July 4th, 2013, 9:55 am

Considering doing this

Postby black start » October 24th, 2013, 12:22 am

gonna do another set within the week....first set still hunjed.....

Postby Ted_v2 » April 3rd, 2014, 10:25 pm

Pondering using this on my two mounts on the cross member.
Stock auto ck.

Yay or nay?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 4th, 2014, 5:56 am

have them running years now, no probs. run them!

eel7

Postby eel7 » July 2nd, 2014, 1:13 pm

Subscribed!

smallz

Postby smallz » November 1st, 2014, 9:34 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Pondering using this on my two mounts on the cross member.
Stock auto ck.

Yay or nay?

read this entire thread an still wondering..

is this recommended for bone stock engines or not??
i expect vibration but not sure as to how much of a discomfort it'd be.....

anyone???

its a fs ze engine inna 1998 mazda capella...

smallz

Postby smallz » November 1st, 2014, 10:18 pm

gonna leave this lying around here incase anyone else needs it....

http://www.energysuspensionparts.com/Ab ... nserts.asp

onyx

Postby onyx » November 2nd, 2014, 5:46 am

I changed my tranny mount last month to oem... costed 950... its an altis... and now its already busted... is there anyone who does mount repair? I got an estimate to changr all 4.. but its like 4000!!! Hmm....

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 2nd, 2014, 5:48 am

Sasco in cipero st. San Fernando. The mounts are re done in rubber. Solid or inserts. Ur choice. With warranty.

onyx

Postby onyx » November 2nd, 2014, 5:56 am

Where in cipero st. After federal? Do u hv an avg cost? And review of their wrk? Thanks..

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 2nd, 2014, 7:26 am

i paid $240 for my transmission mount in solid. three months warranty. had it in over 4 years. sr20 de> de-t> ve-t, still holdinf strong!

onyx

Postby onyx » November 2nd, 2014, 9:22 am

Ok good... where in cipero st though?

Postby Ted_v2 » November 2nd, 2014, 10:31 am

Sasco.

Just up the hill. Pass federal.
Just after the traffic light.