Who cuts door mirrors to auto spec?

Postby AllTrac » October 14th, 2005, 9:58 am

anyone know a company that cuts door mirrors? other glass cutters use regular mirrors and put it on the door and it shows everything too close up, i dont know the type of mirror the auto manufactures use to make the door mirror so i cant ask for it, anyone knows?
Thanks

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » October 14th, 2005, 10:34 am

Modern cars come with aspherical wing mirrors, has to do with some special curvature of the surface. Not too sure if U will get this at the local glass cutters, they have flat plane mirrors.

Your better bet is to get a F.U. mirror in good condition. Or you could rice out and get them universal M3 type wing mirrors with the indicators :D

Postby AllTrac » October 14th, 2005, 10:36 am

Rudman wrote:Modern cars come with aspherical wing mirrors, has to do with some special curvature of the surface. Not too sure if U will get this at the local glass cutters, they have flat plane mirrors.

Your better bet is to get a F.U. mirror in good condition.

thnaks, this looks like the way to go yes

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » October 14th, 2005, 8:10 pm

Once got a wing mirror cut & fitted at Caribbean Glass but was not the aspherical type...

plex

Postby plex » October 14th, 2005, 10:49 pm

asherical glass minors is used to cut out blind spots..

Postby De Dragon » October 15th, 2005, 8:08 am

asherical glass minors is used to cut out blind spots..

Actually they reduce them. Blind spots cannot be totally removed.

blazing

Postby blazing » October 15th, 2005, 3:22 pm

King's in St James are supposed to do this sevice. Check them

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » October 15th, 2005, 9:22 pm

Trac that is what happen the day I see u in d back of st. agustine

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » October 15th, 2005, 11:33 pm

.. u'll stil goin on about this?.. okay all teh ppl that swear by only original,.. how many of u ahve driven a car witn a normal mirror ?.. or what ever the arse the put in?.. regularly on a day to day basis.. how many of u can be sure esp if u have bout a used car that the mirror u have is in fact an oem mirror?

shesh.. i drove a car with a mirror like this for the better part of 6 mths.. the only complait i had was it was a lil too sharp. ie the glare in the night was a lil uncomfortable.. but then again my eyes are sensitive tolight.. so.. ne way...

imo.. go take of yuh mirror drop it of by the glass cuter of yuh choice and have fun.. if u reeeeeallly think that it is that important u have teh ultra super duper blind spot reducing quaitied the lil round mirors are about $20 or so..

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 16th, 2005, 4:51 am

^^^ Yeah.. what he said!

$20 for the piece of mirror and they just might glue it back up for you too!

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » October 16th, 2005, 8:56 am

Trac you are a net going kinda person, I am sure Toyota USA or maybe Australia will have the replacement glass for the MR2. As for using normal plane glass thats just asking for trouble. Because your perception of how close something is will be very off, there is a reason the mirrors are made that way. I can uderstand a 20 dollar one if you want to pass inspection while your oem one is being sourced but for a everyday one hell no.

Clerique

Postby Clerique » October 17th, 2005, 7:42 am

^What he said. I have had bad experiences with the 'normal' mirrors.
Using highways everyday, switching lanes...you NEED proper wing mirrors.

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 17th, 2005, 8:22 am

And how did ppl drive in d ole days before these special curved mirrors ????????
i agree with what junki ^^^^ said.

Clerique

Postby Clerique » October 17th, 2005, 8:29 am

^How much cars it had on the road in the 'ole days'?

Anyhow, Trac know what he want let him handle he biz.
I personally prefer the factory mirrors, that is my preference, all others make ur own decision.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » October 18th, 2005, 1:13 am

blah blah blah.. thats just in yuh mind.. imo if that makes that much difrent to u u doin soemthing wrong.. and unliek u all my car is not easy to get lil nickknacks liek mirrors.. esp just the glass.. and goin to face neal n masse to pay 1200+ for an etire housing not worth it.. okay.. .. to me it made litle to no diffrence.. adn cleriq i know its no turbo golf i have :P .. but.. lane changes in a 2 ton plus car at over 160 with fuzzy tint.. trust me the mirror works.. :mrgreen: :P

btw cleriq.. let me ask u soemthign u ever drove one of teh older cars with oem mirrors regularly?.. i have.. several.. imo they give u a better perpective of where things are.. granted teh viewing area is smaller ie more blind spots.. but nothign a lil time spent ajusting ur mirrors cant help.. for u lucky ppl with power windows. on a oldre car this mean leaning across and maualy moving siting back straight checkin and doin it over an over till u have it

Clerique

Postby Clerique » October 18th, 2005, 1:20 am

What a waste of technology; 'aspherical' mirrors. :roll:
I think I'm done here.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » October 18th, 2005, 1:26 am

^^ yeha .. go poke ut porsche brakes or soemthing :lol: :lol: :P technology suxs.. :lol: :lol: