WTK - KYB Shocks

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 14th, 2015, 12:49 pm

Can anyone indicate where you can get original KYB shocks locally?

I have posted in the thread on this site where the OP indicates that he is a re-seller of KYB shocks, but I have not received a reply. I also sent the OP of that thread a PM, but again no reply.

I have read through a few threads where people have said that a lot of the parts places locally sell imitation KYB shocks.

Should I just suck salt and import them myself through my skybox?

Any help will be appreciated.

Thank you.

Sundar

Re: WTK - KYB Shocks

Postby Sundar » September 14th, 2015, 3:58 pm

lange trinidad?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 14th, 2015, 5:17 pm

Lange is the dealer for Tokico shocks, not KYB. Tokico does not offer a shock for my car (2006 Hyundai Coupe FX)

speedist

Postby speedist » September 14th, 2015, 5:24 pm

^this. Been wondering where i can get genuine KYB shocks for my P11 as i was told there are fakes on the market.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 14th, 2015, 7:33 pm

Shocks you're right. My bad bro. Um what about the motorist? You check the website of it got any for your car?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 14th, 2015, 9:30 pm

I bought original KYB shocks from Dollar Savers about about 2 years ago , made in Japan. They told me they were the sole authorised distributor for KYB in Trinidad (you take what you want from that).

However, it seems all of their KYBs are original from Japan. They were 2 or 3 buildings after Bobby's in the Bamboo. I think they have a branch in El Socorro as well.

speedist

Postby speedist » September 15th, 2015, 3:45 pm

What's the average cost for a set though? I may need to change all in a while.

Postby skylinechild » September 15th, 2015, 6:50 pm

the real question is, how to tell the fake from genuine.

i bought a pair of KYB (the motorist) from billy in chase village.
paid like $450 or so each...installed last october..car works fine...
Last edited by skylinechild on September 15th, 2015, 6:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

speedist

Postby speedist » September 15th, 2015, 6:52 pm

U mean 450 right? (I think i just got a small heart attack) :-o

Postby black start » September 15th, 2015, 7:06 pm

skylinechild wrote:the real question is, how to tell the fake from genuine.

You car prob do 100 km total since then. That car don't drive....only way them shocks failing is from ole age

speedist

Postby speedist » September 15th, 2015, 10:43 pm

450 each isn't bad. Considering i had to pay 1200 for a pair of rear shocks for my first car.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 15th, 2015, 11:45 pm

Purchased rear KYBs for $285 each from Dollar Savers, and fronts for $695 each from Repu Auto for a Mazda 3 in March 2014. The fronts were KYB Europe, and the rears were KYB Japan. They all had the original KYB packaging, and the part numbers and country of origin were STAMPED into the shock body (not a sticker). KYB Japan apparently did not make the fronts for my car, so Dollar Savers didnt have it (they sell Japanese KYB).

In Oct 2014 I purchased KYBs for a CY Lancer from Dollar Savers - $690 each for the front, and $415 each for the rear.

The difference in price with the rears for the 2 cars were because the Mazda was rear shocks (just the tube) whereas the Lancer is an entire strut at the rear (with the seat for the springs etc.).

Whatever you do, avoid that rubbish "JAPKYB" brand most places try to pass off as original KYBs. The colour and print on the packaging is almost identical to the real thing.

Postby skylinechild » September 16th, 2015, 7:33 am

black start wrote:
skylinechild wrote:the real question is, how to tell the fake from genuine.

You car prob do 100 km total since then. That car don't drive....only way them shocks failing is from ole age

:lol: :lol: nuh dadi..car does be pumpin...incognito... :lol:
Ac fix and i've been usin the car to go to work everyday since august...port of spain an back to central....mileage yo...

hav to get the back shock replaced.
waitin on paycheck to buy em....also some other stuff to be bought an installed...send me a pm nuh...we hav words oar... :lol:

speedist

Postby speedist » September 16th, 2015, 12:01 pm

Subscribed. Good info here. Now i have multiple links to work with.

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » July 11th, 2021, 7:57 pm

Who sells KYB SR Special shock new locally, Dollar savers only sell the EXCEL G AND GAS A JUST.
If not will try to import it.

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » July 11th, 2021, 8:01 pm

KYB SR SPECIAL AND GAS A JUST ARE MONO TUBE DESIGN WAY BETTER THAN THE EXCEL G WHICH IS TWIN TUBE DESIGN

Postby *KRONIK* » July 12th, 2021, 7:53 am

Rayden6 wrote:Who sells KYB SR Special shock new locally, Dollar savers only sell the EXCEL G AND GAS A JUST.
If not will try to import it.
Try Teknet
625-tnet
He used to bring the adjustable ones for us back in the days

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » July 18th, 2021, 2:25 pm

Dollar savers could get it but the need atleast 5 sets,(4pcs) each in order to bring in so who wants to put KYB NEW SR SPECIAL performance shock in there car we could come together and approach them to order.
Check this site to find out if it's available for your car type.
http://www.kyb.co.th/?page=catalogue