so if yuh hadda buy a Foreign Used Engine

neckto

so if yuh hadda buy a Foreign Used Engine

Postby neckto » September 9th, 2005, 3:08 pm

If you had to buy a foreign used engine and yuh ent carrying any machanic right. what are the things you would consider important to look for or what process of checking would you use to determine if the engine is a good buy? gimme some old talk

Cipher

Postby Cipher » September 9th, 2005, 3:10 pm

Carry a mechanic. Period.

R!CH!E

Postby R!CH!E » September 9th, 2005, 3:14 pm

If they could start it let them do it and ask about guarantee.
If they cant start it make sure all moving parts can move
freely & check oil. Thats how i bought mines no mechanic needed
and no probs to date 2yrs after.

R!CH!E

Postby R!CH!E » September 9th, 2005, 3:17 pm

another important thing, in case lets say the alternator not good make sure they
have in stock so you can get replacement parts instead of transporting whole engine again. Don't buy last one special !!! It could be make up special.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 9th, 2005, 3:22 pm

First of all buy from a front cut if you can...most of the engines on the ground have been lying there in Japan for months on end... What you should real do is just as you do for a vehicle ask questions..eg. age of engine, which vehicle it came out of, check the ECU for damage, check the wire harness for damage, check the engine for all sensors, check the oil, check transmission fluid, take a look at all belts for dry rotting.... and better yet get it started on the ground.... When you leave with it make sure your mechanic puts it in as soon as possible cause when that warranty goes and that engine develops problems YOU ARE SCREWED :x

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » September 9th, 2005, 3:26 pm

shouldn't this be in the TECH forum? or everybody here now and we don't visit there again?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 9th, 2005, 3:29 pm

^^ DITTO

I was now going to say that...

( Vote Picasso and Rudman for Moderators :mrgreen: )

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » September 9th, 2005, 4:37 pm

Yeah this is wayy too relevant and technical for this forum.

Ive always read about looking under the oil (710) cap for white residue, which would indicate water/coolant in the oil i.e head gasket, would this apply to an engine thats been sitting down on the ground for a long time or is this only good on engines in use?

Also im real curious, how do they start up an engine on the ground? Whats the setup and procedure.

SurGTR

Postby SurGTR » September 9th, 2005, 10:20 pm

drop fuel pump in a pale of Gas, hook up battery, I think

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 9th, 2005, 10:50 pm

What they said above. Take a mech. but if you absolutely have to go solo...

Look at the engine overall. First impressions last..especially a good clean engine

Ask them to remove the head cover (or use a lil flashight) the head internals should have a siver/ gold like (I believe) colour.

Check the oil and see the quality. Sludgy...don't bother.

Inspect thoroughly the engine wiring/ vacuum hoses etc for cracking/ shredding.

If you are going Manual, make sure you can get the flywheel for it ( I lost out on a nice engine cause of this)

If you can, ask them what vehicle it came from. Some engines are used with different models of cars/ vans...in the sense that for your mind you will not think the engine is TOO old or something

If you can start it, fine. but the warranty is there for you to run it properly in a car to designate a serious problem.

Make sure they tell you ALL the components that you're supposed to get with the engine and make a list to be sure it's there and it is for that engine

Always try to get a better price.

Hope that helps...jus from a lil last year experience

southside crew

Postby southside crew » September 9th, 2005, 11:17 pm

is true u want a CLEAN engine...BUT sometimes it could be the WORST!!! ..

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 10th, 2005, 1:36 am

mooooved by popular demand 8)

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » September 10th, 2005, 3:51 am

WRITTEN WARRENTY ON THE ENGINE AND ALL OF ITS COMPONENTS IS A MUST MIN OF 7 WORKING DAYS

i would look for signs of leaks from the major gaskets , pull the dip stick check for metal filings, check that all sensors are good ie not damaged or cracked ,same goes for electrical plugs, check plug wires and belts for cracks, excessive corrosion build up , check for moisture dong the spark plug holes