Engine Swap : Renault Megane.

professor

Engine Swap : Renault Megane.

Postby professor » August 31st, 2005, 9:45 am

Anybody ever swap any engine ( 18 / 2.0 L ) in a Megane, any major problems?. :?:

How do you remove 'Riding on 13's' below Avatar? I did not put that.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » August 31st, 2005, 10:17 am

Well you have to make post to get the " Riding on 13's" to be reomoved.... next stop " Ricer " :wink:

I dont know anyone who did a Renault to Renault swap but I did see in the Bamboo my padnah doing a GA15DE nissan engine in a Megan Sedan. ( the owner could not afford to fix the Renault engine )

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » August 31st, 2005, 2:47 pm

Alot of people are putting in the Nissan engines in the Renaults, they are basically the same, the newer ones at least. The Renault engines might have more sensors than the Nissan, I'm not sure about that

plex

Postby plex » August 31st, 2005, 8:56 pm

what kind of Nissan or Renault engine u have in mind??

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 1st, 2005, 7:52 am

^^ I think but not sure that the GA Series Nissan engines work well in the Renault, just the left engine mount to my memory needs to be altered ( I could be wrong ) :|

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » September 1st, 2005, 11:09 am

ESSSSSS ARRRRRRRRR

8)

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » September 1st, 2005, 12:45 pm

what he said.. .. jed i can put u on to two ppl who can do it in fact have doen it. but nither one of them phones workin right now.. if u doh mind driving.. yuh heading east on the high way turn of by the macoya lights cross the PBR turn right at the trafic light on to the EMR jsut after the pensions office u will see a garage ask for Cyclops or Daren , Daren from Hybrid performace is the person u need to look for

Terran

Postby Terran » September 1st, 2005, 3:28 pm

Breds, the number of sensors them Megane have all over the engine, the car, the interior... I would be afraid wid meh life to touch anything.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » September 1st, 2005, 3:49 pm

Just to let you know......Megane 1.6 engines have about 8 or 9 (can't remember the schemtaics right now) ECUs and a mutliplexor to sort out the confusion. If you're swaping to a nissan engine.....gut the entire thing eh!!!!

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 1st, 2005, 3:53 pm

^^DITTO........thats what my friend did in bamboo, the owner sticking on paying up for the swap so the car sitting there rotting :|

professor

Postby professor » September 1st, 2005, 5:44 pm

Thanks for all the replies. I have a pardner Joe Nanan who wants to put in a SR-20, as you said the electronics would be a beyotch.

plex

Postby plex » September 1st, 2005, 6:10 pm

and the electronics is the heart for everything..once u get something wrong u could end up in some problems...but best of luck with this project..

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 2nd, 2005, 8:29 am

professor wrote:Thanks for all the replies. I have a pardner Joe Nanan who wants to put in a SR-20, as you said the electronics would be a beyotch.

Dread once you rip out all that old engine wiring the engine swap will be no problem cause you are not going to be using the Renault harness... Once your electrician knows what he is doing and your mechanic can fit the engine in squared and level you will have no problems.. the only thing you might end up loosing is your ABS but with a lil research you should be able to get the problem figured out... To me to combat the ABS problem you may have to run the Renault ECU for the vehicle electronics and the SR20DE ECU for the engine elctronics ( Correct me if I talking sheit I aint an elctritian )

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » September 2nd, 2005, 8:48 am

^ dont think that would work as the Renault ECU will be throwin one setta codes because of so many missing engine sensors, it would probably just not want to function.

:?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 2nd, 2005, 8:54 am

^^ Ok cool, then how in gods name that ABS going to work then :|

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » September 2nd, 2005, 9:30 am

Not only the ABS codes eh.....but the dashboard eh go work.....cause it has its own ecu. And the airbags sensors and seatbelt pretensioners are also conected to the multiplexor, so that mightnot work either. We had to be real careful with that!!

I think someone jury rigged something in one of the meganes with a swapped engine, but i'm not sure how he did it.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 2nd, 2005, 9:44 am

^^ sean I eh know that the car dash board carry its own ECU :shock: that car is an elctritians nightmare and a geeks dream :)

A friend of mine has a clio and its down cause the transmission gone through, they told him it will cost 15K just to get it repaired... poor fella looking for an engine swap, if I tell him the presure he will go through he might hang him self...

professor

Postby professor » September 2nd, 2005, 3:13 pm

I could forego the ABS, been driving without it for over 40 yrs.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 2nd, 2005, 3:21 pm

^^ well you good to go do the swap.. :|