Synthetic engine Oil for a 4G15 engine - Oil Changed !

venum

Synthetic engine Oil for a 4G15 engine - Oil Changed !

Postby venum » August 22nd, 2005, 2:12 pm

2nrs,

currently I use Castrol GTX 20W-50 motor oil in the Lancer.

I change oil every 5000km, which is approx every 2 months for me.

I was told that there are synthetic motor oils that would be better suited for me > recommended Castrol Syntec

also there is a Shell oil

I was told that these synthetic motor oils only require changing every 6-8 months or even annually.

I believe the oil is a 5W oil.

I do a lot of driving and most times on the hiway is hard driving, so keep this in mind

what are the pros and cons to using these oils instead of the Castrol GTX

also how do I convert - what kinda\flush should I use

link meh up
Last edited by venum on September 27th, 2005, 8:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » August 22nd, 2005, 2:50 pm

Aye Venum,

First of all, this 4G15 engine, does it have hydraulic tappets? I have a 4G15 and let me tell you notting eh keeping it quieter than the Shell blue bottle 15W50 Helix. I've tried the Castrol Syntec and Redline 20W50 but I am sticking to the Helix since I found it. It is a synthetic blend oil, but does the work for less money.

About flushes, I've herd that they do more harm than good, especially the ones that smell like kerosene. Don't use them. If the engine is especially dirty flushes can dislodge sludge and gum in large chunks and get them in small oil passages. You may be better off using a light flushing oil. Or get a lower price, qood quality oil with good solvency and run it for about 1000km

my 2 cents.

venum

Postby venum » August 22nd, 2005, 3:38 pm

^^ appreciate the response

could you be a bit more specific with respect to the process of switching over to the Helix? how do I flush out the old oil?

how often do you have to change the Helix?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 22nd, 2005, 5:13 pm

how often do you have to change the Helix?

like rudman I also use the shell helix primarily to keep the lifters quiet and it does a great job. I however change my oil every 5000km regardless of the sythetic blend scenario........even when use to run Mobil and castrol sytec I use to change @ 5000kms..........which was like every month.......

venum

Postby venum » August 22nd, 2005, 11:13 pm

vega,

I think the lifters starting to act up, when i start the car after it park up for a long time i does hear the *clak* *claak* noise.

usually a switch off and switch on does solve it

but for the money that those synthetic blends does call and the frequency at which I have to change oil (every 2 months) it really not to economical

is like $250.00 a gal for the castrol

Rudman

Postby Rudman » August 23rd, 2005, 8:04 am

The synthetic blend isn't that expensive. It would seem that the price varies from $80 (MS food city, Siparia, Greypatch) to $95 in (Rio Claro, Vega, Ariapita Ave, Rah). The most I've paid for it is $115/gallon and it still has the SL rating.

Ever since Castrol (the oil you using) have introduced the new SM rated oil, they calling more $$ for their oil, something like $95/gallon I've seen.

So you see, pricewise, Shell synthetic blend isn't that much more expensive, depending where U shop. I think you can still keep your 5000km change intervals with this oil and it wouldn't cost that much more.

Yea, the extended change intervals with full synthetics is nice, but to me nothing gives U the assurance of a clean engine like regular oil changes.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 23rd, 2005, 10:59 pm

vega,

I think the lifters starting to act up, when i start the car after it park up for a long time i does hear the *clak* *claak* noise.

usually a switch off and switch on does solve it

if the car is parked up for a long time, the oil that is supposed to be present within the lifter assembly would tend to leak out and hence the lifter(s) would make noise upon start up as the oil pressure needs to build back up and get into the assembly.......like you, a switch off and start up tends to get them quiet.

venum

Postby venum » August 23rd, 2005, 11:27 pm

what kind of flush to use b4 I change over to the synthetic oil?

do I just drain out the GTX and then pour in the synthetic oil?

i think I would need to purge the engine b4 I use the new oil.

gimme some brands

Rudman

Postby Rudman » August 24th, 2005, 8:37 am

Castrol Syntec, Mobil 1, Redline, Amsoil and Royal Purple are some of the more popular Fully synthetic motor oils in Trini, with SL ratings.

I rembered when using the Redline, they wern't too fussy on a changeover procedure. According to the back of the bottle, just drain your old oil, pour the new one, and drive. You may have to change the oil on the first run prematurely, depending on how dirty the engine was.

It seems that your bent on using a full synthetic for extended change intervals, for an overall lower cost in the long run. Lifter noise may be a problem when U switch.

I haven't been able to verify this, but when I complained to the man in Car Boutique about lifter noise when using Redline 20W50, he said that the Galant GDI men using Redline 15W50 in their engines and they running quiet. This coincedentally is the same viscosity rating as the Shell Blue Bottle 15W50 Helix.

Can any verify this claim of Redline 15W50?

venum

Postby venum » August 24th, 2005, 9:53 am

Rudman wrote:IAccording to the back of the bottle, just drain your old oil, pour the new one, and drive. You may have to change the oil on the first run prematurely, depending on how dirty the engine was.

It seems that your bent on using a full synthetic for extended change intervals, for an overall lower cost in the long run. Lifter noise may be a problem when U switch.

I was bent on doing this b4 you all informed me of the similar prices to my present Castrol GTX oil.

but I can afford to do the changes at the same 5000km intervals

I have heard similar reports of the change out procedure - run the first change prematurely

so I guess that I do not have to flush the engine

thanx for the headz up

Terran

Postby Terran » August 24th, 2005, 6:08 pm

The Shell oil in the blue bottle is Shell Helix Plus. It's a semi-synthetic oil. Comes in two grades: 10W-30 and 15W-50.

The fully synthetic oil is Shell Helix Ultra. It comes in two grades as well: 5W-40 and 15W-40. The 5W is a very thin oil - recommended on more modern, forced induction engines with higher displacement. Developed on the formula 1 racetrack for Ferrari. Ferrari uses the same oil.

DON'T FLUSH your engine. Let the Shell oil do it's work. Depending on your choice of oil (synthetic or semi-synthetic), run the oil for a short period - about 3000km and then change it. The switchover will do all the cleaning the Castrol COULD NOT. Flushes usually contain corrosive components and they WILL damage your engine.

I can get you Shell oils at a reduced price. $74.26 for Shell Helix Plus and $149 for Shell Helix Ultra.

Rudman

Postby Rudman » August 24th, 2005, 6:15 pm

^^ Like U working in the blending plant in Pt. Lisas? U seem to know a fair amount about Shell. I Definately Interested in getting blue bottle 15W50 at that price :!: :!:

venum

Postby venum » August 25th, 2005, 8:49 am

I believe that I should use the 15W-40

thanx, next change I will go for the Shell Helix and run it for approx 3000km b4 changing

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 25th, 2005, 1:33 pm

DON'T FLUSH your engine. Let the Shell oil do it's work. Depending on your choice of oil (synthetic or semi-synthetic), run the oil for a short period - about 3000km and then change it. The switchover will do all the cleaning the Castrol COULD NOT. Flushes usually contain corrosive components and they WILL damage your engine.

I agree dey

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 25th, 2005, 1:34 pm

I agree dey

Terran

Postby Terran » August 25th, 2005, 4:20 pm

Rudman wrote:^^ Like U working in the blending plant in Pt. Lisas? U seem to know a fair amount about Shell. I Definately Interested in getting blue bottle 15W50 at that price :!: :!:

Well, I used to. I learnt everything I need to know about engine oils to know that Shell IS the right choice. :wink:

I've seen - first hand - the performance results of other oils - Mobil, Castrol, Pennzoil, Quaker State (to name a few) - against Shell oils. If you guys saw what I saw, you won't need to listen to anyone's advice. You'll know what to do just like Adam knew what to do with Eve in the garden of Eden when his piggy got hard.

Once you guys can give me a group order, I'm willing to get the Shell oils for you. Now, I'm not running a business here - nor am I making a profit at those prices. I'm just helping you guys out.

blazing

Postby blazing » August 25th, 2005, 6:28 pm

^^ And what sorta prices we looking at?

venum

Postby venum » August 26th, 2005, 8:25 am

Terran wrote:Once you guys can give me a group order, I'm willing to get the Shell oils for you. Now, I'm not running a business here - nor am I making a profit at those prices. I'm just helping you guys out.

what kinda deal is that buddy :?:

I ent getting jail for no motor oil :!:

I am lil fella much to the delight of big fellas in jail :oops:

but once it legit, I might be interested,

what kinda prices :?:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 26th, 2005, 9:23 am

Nuttin wrong with yuh Castrol GTX! What wrong wid that?

Anyways... Dont even THINK about changing your oil every 25K!!! Every oil breaks down, even syns. And forget about blends, that's complete bullcrap.

As for the changing over, and there is no specific change over procedure for the Mobil1 I use. Different oils might be different...

BTW, when it comes to Synthetic Oils : oil is oil is oil... Forget about who say who better and what results who know. Mobil, Castrol, Redline, Shell... All F1/Rally/Indy Car bred oils... It's all good stuff.

If your tappets making noise with Mobil and it bugging you, switch to another. :|

Anyways... I shutting up now

venum

Postby venum » August 26th, 2005, 11:15 am

bleedingfreak wrote:Nuttin wrong with yuh Castrol GTX! What wrong wid that?

BTW, when it comes to Synthetic Oils : oil is oil is oil...

Oil is NOT oil

nuttin wrong with the GTX, is just that there are better oils for my engine, such as synthetic oils with a Sl rating

since the tappets start too make some noise, I going to use a better oil

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 26th, 2005, 12:44 pm

^^^ Read again... Synthetic Oil is Synthetic oil pal... Just marketing strategies makes things fuzzy...
:P

Terran

Postby Terran » August 26th, 2005, 4:35 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:BTW, when it comes to Synthetic Oils : oil is oil is oil... Forget about who say who better and what results who know. Mobil, Castrol, Redline, Shell... All F1/Rally/Indy Car bred oils... It's all good stuff.

Anyways... I shutting up now

WHAT A BUNCH OF CRAP.

I REALLY HOPE YOU KEEP SILENT AFTER THIS IF YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT THE HELL YOU TALKING ABOUT.

Terran

Postby Terran » August 26th, 2005, 4:41 pm

venum wrote:
Terran wrote:Once you guys can give me a group order, I'm willing to get the Shell oils for you. Now, I'm not running a business here - nor am I making a profit at those prices. I'm just helping you guys out.

what kinda deal is that buddy :?:

I ent getting jail for no motor oil :!:

I am lil fella much to the delight of big fellas in jail :oops:

but once it legit, I might be interested,

what kinda prices :?:

I quoted the prices above in my first post.

$74.26 for Shell Helix Plus and $149 for Shell Helix Ultra.

The deal is legit. I'll give you an invoice and receipt to prove it.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 27th, 2005, 6:56 am

If your tappets making noise with Mobil and it bugging you, switch to another.

and that's why we suggesting to the dood to use the Shell Helix........ 8)

venum

Postby venum » August 29th, 2005, 8:18 am

Vega

which of te above do u suggest that I use?

Helix Plus or Ultra

Rudman

Postby Rudman » August 30th, 2005, 11:31 am

Just a suggestion.....

If the 4G15 engine is stock, normally aspirated and U keeping the 5000 km oil change, go with the Shell Helix Plus. Fully synthetic may be an overkill....plus this oil from my experience keeping lifters quiet.

If U turbo charging the engine and the engine seing higher heat and sheer stress, shell Helix Ultra.

venum

Postby venum » August 30th, 2005, 12:14 pm

Rudi boy

yuh know is stock all the way tru

xcept maybe for a CAI

Terran

Postby Terran » August 30th, 2005, 1:03 pm

I wouldn't say the Ultra is an overkill. It was just designed with minimum performance requirments in mind, particularly for forced induction engines. The oil will last longer in a N/A engine than in a boosted motor.

venum

Postby venum » August 30th, 2005, 1:28 pm

Terran dude,

how long is that offer valid for?

I changed oil last 2 weeks, so I prob good till mid-late Oct

will the offer still be valid then?

Terran

Postby Terran » August 30th, 2005, 1:38 pm

The offer is valid for as long as I'm alive. :)

Any day, any time, whenever you're ready.