how would u rate NP engine oils....

Animal Pak

Re: how would u rate NP engine oils....

Postby Animal Pak » October 27th, 2017, 6:06 pm

We manufacture np so it would be cheaper. Our QA/QC is sketchy from experience but then again plenty folks including myself used np for engine break out with no issues. I guess if they sponsor a rally evo it can't be that bad. That being said I use royal purple btw.

evolution91

Postby evolution91 » October 27th, 2017, 6:08 pm

NP - No Problem

StreetKings

Postby StreetKings » October 27th, 2017, 6:33 pm

Don't really like using np, I've been using Amsoil Full Synthetic and never had any problems with it and inside the engine is very clean, a bit pricey tho but its worth it, paid $285

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 27th, 2017, 7:42 pm

So basically it's just brand names you guys choosing to go with

Sundar

Postby Sundar » October 27th, 2017, 9:46 pm

I use shell full synthetic and is good enough for me cause I can feel the performance. Although I want to try Kendall titanium.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 28th, 2017, 12:22 am

Yes I understand I use shell in another car but in terms of diesel oil....it's all a lot cheaper than the brand names...so wondering if the quality is much different....did some research on net as well and basically they said all.oil is the same ....brand name vs non brand name.

Postby j.o.e » October 28th, 2017, 12:32 am

Oil is oil for the most part. With enough marketing, packaging and branding a company can make you feel their oil is ‘better’ and charge you a premium. Once oil is the correct spec for the application and changed on time there will be no issues. Any different feel is purely in the mind or so small it’s imperceptible. If there is a big difference it’s because the engine has a defect (e.g bad bearings) and a change in body and blend is plastering the problem.

Postby eliteauto » October 28th, 2017, 1:54 am

NP oils are excellent

Dgsm2789

Postby Dgsm2789 » October 28th, 2017, 6:57 am

Oil is oil....to an extent. Lubrication may be the same when compared, but a lot of engineering goes into these engine oils. There are cleaning agents, additives that help with thermal breakdown, sludging of the oil etc. Lets say your vehicle's oil change interval is 5000 kms, you run np oil, you brokes at the time for oil change, so you stretch it a bit, or you even forget your change interval, oil starts to sludge, engine suffers, then you finally get to change oil. Some sludge is still in there after change. With other high end oils, you can double your interval (by accident) and not worry. This is why you see some guys have their engines for years and years and never backpressure or burn oil, the some people by mechanic changing rings etc. My opinion is you get what you pay for. I would use np oils in older engines like my 626, 720 pickup etc. Not in my new bt50, or navara etc.

Postby eliteauto » October 28th, 2017, 7:36 am

Garbage. I've run an engine to almost 500,000kms on NP with extended intervals at times and there has been zero sludge, that's a gasoline engine. I know someone doing 400,000 kms on a 2 year old 2.5 turbo diesel engine with EGR and DPF as a taxi on NP oil and also has zero sludge. My mechanic has done teardowns on dozens of engines and none using NP has ever had sludge. The most engines we've seen with sludge have been those using Castrol. Stop spreading misinformation. People simply assume that made/blended in T&T means lower quality and buy into the marketing and branding hype

Postby black start » October 28th, 2017, 8:29 am

National performance....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 28th, 2017, 10:14 am

eliteauto wrote:Garbage. I've run an engine to almost 500,000kms on NP with extended intervals at times and there has been zero sludge, that's a gasoline engine. I know someone doing 400,000 kms on a 2 year old 2.5 turbo diesel engine with EGR and DPF as a taxi on NP oil and also has zero sludge. My mechanic has done teardowns on dozens of engines and none using NP has ever had sludge. The most engines we've seen with sludge have been those using Castrol. Stop spreading misinformation. People simply assume that made/blended in T&T means lower quality and buy into the marketing and branding hype

Bro seems everyone else is guessing but you are talking from first hand experience.....I appreciate your response and I am now leaning towards trying np and see if there is any change in performance....I highly doubt there will be as I used np in two cars before and the engines ran excellent
The talk about performance issues with better oils.....I don't really buy into that...

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 28th, 2017, 3:12 pm

eliteauto wrote:Garbage. I've run an engine to almost 500,000kms on NP with extended intervals at times and there has been zero sludge, that's a gasoline engine. I know someone doing 400,000 kms on a 2 year old 2.5 turbo diesel engine with EGR and DPF as a taxi on NP oil and also has zero sludge. My mechanic has done teardowns on dozens of engines and none using NP has ever had sludge. The most engines we've seen with sludge have been those using Castrol. Stop spreading misinformation. People simply assume that made/blended in T&T means lower quality and buy into the marketing and branding hype

This is true talk. I do oil changes daily on customer cars and never seen sludge in an engine using NP. Engines with Castrol have deposits from the oil cover down with few exceptions..

Postby Ted_v2 » October 28th, 2017, 9:27 pm

Castrol is failure, used to loose a half qt between oil changes. Change to shell and no problem.

When I opened the engine to do a valve adjustment with the Castrol i was like wtfff

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » October 28th, 2017, 10:30 pm

Nariel

Dgsm2789

Postby Dgsm2789 » October 29th, 2017, 9:41 am

Its not garbage bro. Those people you know who run np, did they run straight out the firm or switch to np after a while. How much years or kms on the np oils. I know people using np oils also, but only because its easier on their pocket so they switched. But its just my opinion. I never did oil analysis or took it to a lab, so my word is just as good as yours. I had experiences, just like you, but other way around. I use shell, straight out the firm on my van and cars. To each his own.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » October 29th, 2017, 10:29 am

Spends 250,000+ vehicle, uses np ...

Postby sMASH » October 29th, 2017, 11:14 am

Mercenary wrote:Nariel

2w15?
Synthetic blend?

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 29th, 2017, 3:57 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Castrol is failure, used to loose a half qt between oil changes. Change to shell and no problem.

When I opened the engine to do a valve adjustment with the Castrol i was like wtfff

And the funny thing is, only the Castrol sells. And 20W50 to boot, on almost everything. No matter how much i tell people their car requires 10W30. NP sits for weeks.

Postby Dave » October 29th, 2017, 4:26 pm

My garage was sponsored by NP. Basically meant we got oil and other items to use. They were all built L28 engines with nitrous. All cars drove to drags and drove back home. They all ran NP oils. They never had an engine failure due to the NP oil they used. A clients son in law of the garage is an engineer. He took some and ran tests and concluded that the NP oil was very good when compared to what there was available on the international market.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 29th, 2017, 4:45 pm

L28, now yuh talking about power.

Trinidadians are the worst struglers. Fedup talk about thwt 20 50 thing. I putting what yuh bring. I could only advise. Have some people using 20$ coolant and insisting is good thing.

Sent from my GT-I9060C using TriniTuner mobile app

rayrayray

Postby rayrayray » October 29th, 2017, 5:13 pm

I use np for my Mazda familia , 4 years no issue , Corolla however , Toyota oil. I just prefer it that way. No problems with either.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 29th, 2017, 6:17 pm

Mercenary wrote:Nariel

×2

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 30th, 2017, 12:24 am

rayrayray wrote:I use np for my Mazda familia , 4 years no issue , Corolla however , Toyota oil. I just prefer it that way. No problems with either.

What u mean by toyota oil?

Dgsm2789

Postby Dgsm2789 » October 30th, 2017, 6:09 am

Toyota has their own oil, nissan has, honda has. They use in their vehicles

rayrayray

Postby rayrayray » October 30th, 2017, 6:11 am

Correct

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » October 30th, 2017, 7:44 am

Toyota uses Castrol I believe!

cryotec

Postby cryotec » October 30th, 2017, 4:32 pm

does np sell 0w-20 oil ?

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 30th, 2017, 6:20 pm

Any reason you need a 0w oil in Trinidad?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 30th, 2017, 6:51 pm

Dgsm2789 wrote:Toyota has their own oil, nissan has, honda has. They use in their vehicles

Hmm...toyota uses Castrol bro not toyota oil....did a lot of servicing there already....did they tell u they manufacture their own oil to use in their cars lol.