how much it is to rotate and speed balance tires now

IDK123

how much it is to rotate and speed balance tires now

Postby IDK123 » January 18th, 2014, 1:27 pm

Changed the two back tires and put them in the front, so they had to be speed balance. Find the price was higher than I wud hv expect. What is the avg cost?

TYRE KING.

Re: how much it is to rotate and speed balance tires now

Postby TYRE KING. » January 18th, 2014, 6:06 pm

How much u pay

IDK123

Postby IDK123 » January 18th, 2014, 6:18 pm

160 for everything

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 19th, 2014, 2:41 pm

Wouldn't the tyre shop have charged you for:

1) Dismounting all 4 wheels
2) Changing the tyres on 2 rims
3) Speed balancing the 2 wheels with the new tyres (cost of balancing + cost of weights used)
4) Re-mounting all 4 wheels

What's the cost of the actual balancing and weights from the $160?

IDK123

Postby IDK123 » January 20th, 2014, 9:36 am

I figure it should be 30 to speed balance thats wah I used to paying.and they sud not have charge me to take off 4 wheels since two had to come off anyway to change the tires. But I figure they would have charged for all four like that.

Lessons learnt rotate tires at home it take a 5 minutes on a side and saves about 60 or so

Postby Hook » January 20th, 2014, 2:52 pm

IDK123 wrote:I figure it should be 30 to speed balance thats wah I used to paying.and they sud not have charge me to take off 4 wheels since two had to come off anyway to change the tires. But I figure they would have charged for all four like that.

Lessons learnt rotate tires at home it take a 5 minutes on a side and saves about 60 or so

"a side"? Pay your $60 and have them rotated properly.

TYRE KING.

Postby TYRE KING. » January 20th, 2014, 3:07 pm

U pay cheap, u as a driver to cheap for your own good, yur feel d people picking up weights on the road and service should be free, u should go by wheel wizard or bolo or andy or rim kingdom check and see how much them will charge u and smart man roston

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 20th, 2014, 8:07 pm

$160 is normal price.

Hook, you should mention that's for non directional tyres only unless you're flipping the tyres as well. Some folks may try that at home with the wrong tyres.

Postby Hook » January 21st, 2014, 2:45 am

That's the usual procedures you'd find in the owners manual. For directional tyres, it's the same pattern(s), except you have to dismount the tyres from the rims to do it. That's where the tyre shop comes in.

There are set procedures for four and five tyre rotation (if the car comes with a fifth alloy wheel for the spare).

What I was getting at in my post was that the op said "a side", which implied a simple front-rear swap on each side.
This is NOT the correct way to rotate your tyres. Don't cheap out. Pay the money and have them properly rotated.

Postby Morpheus » January 21st, 2014, 4:43 am

Man real cheap bai. :|

I was paying that $160 normal.

Save myself from some manual Labour, especially as the Tyre shop would have better equipment for the job.