brighter headlights

halfbreed

brighter headlights

Postby halfbreed » June 7th, 2005, 9:14 pm

fellas, i doh like the beam my headlights give out, low or high.
its the cefiro original lamps an i wanna know what to do to get it brighter. thanks.

pretty_woman

Postby pretty_woman » June 7th, 2005, 10:13 pm

nice question.....

i getting same probs with my headlights too.....tried adjusting it a few times.....changed it several times too.....

any help offered will be greatly appreciated.... 8)

Yeo

Postby Yeo » June 8th, 2005, 7:33 am

Sylvania Silverstars...and YES they are road legal.

http://www.brightheadlights-hid.com/Syl ... rstars.htm

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 8th, 2005, 9:29 am

cliff yuh could have just come and check meh and i would have fixed you up

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 8th, 2005, 9:48 am

yow anyone knows anyone who sells HID kits down here and how much they cost....

stang

Postby stang » June 8th, 2005, 9:56 am

tryin changin the bulbs to a higher wattage, however depending on the age of the vehicle the reflective background on the headlight might be gone, seems the elements can affect it due to age even though it may be sealed

Had to replace the whole light even though the bulbs were good and lights adjusted properly on a b12

honda4life

Postby honda4life » June 8th, 2005, 5:25 pm

i have a problem with my Honda Exi
the lights are on normal
but it shows dim when i driving
it looks fuzzy when i look at it during the day but clear in the night

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » June 9th, 2005, 2:16 am

upgrade the wire harness along with better bulbs , search for that topic , hook wrote an excellent article some time ago

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » June 9th, 2005, 8:35 am

you woudl hadda change yuh harness, install a relay and those 100W bulbs.
however u may find that it strains your eyes due to the blueish colour. your choice.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » June 9th, 2005, 9:32 am

on the same topic, anyone knows where I could get the relay that would be able to supply the higher wattage bulbs?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 9th, 2005, 9:34 am

mathura's

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » June 9th, 2005, 10:14 am

how much for a relay in mathura's?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 9th, 2005, 10:33 am

call them nah man

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » June 9th, 2005, 10:55 am

call them nah man

:cry:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 9th, 2005, 11:13 am

honda4life

Postby honda4life » June 9th, 2005, 1:37 pm

lmao@adam
whamn boi....tstt giving probs?

Jian

Postby Jian » June 9th, 2005, 2:45 pm

^^^ he maybe cyah take buff,

But anywayz, de tradeoff when i got dem blue lights, (100W) for my lancer iz dat when d road wet u might as well take off your lights cause it makes no difference. The only reason to keep them on is for other cars to see me. puddles in de road hardly hardly shows up at all. But other than that, in dry weather conditions the lights do make a big difference.... in heat too though, i could feel the heat when i put my hand in front the headlamps. dont even have to touch it.

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » June 9th, 2005, 8:17 pm

Jian, u just popped it in... or did u install relays? any noticible electrical problems?

my damn lancer, if i put on the fog lights, the head lights get noticibly dimmer :shock:
i dont think that's normal... proberly needs better ground or somethin.

Jian

Postby Jian » June 10th, 2005, 9:18 pm

adam, its just a simple switch. No special installation necessary. Just make sure not to touch the new bulbs as this will leave oil on the surface of that part of the bulb. When the bulb heats, it will warp as the oil from your hands or whatever contaminant will be burned off the housing where u touched it.

I've heard many people talk about not having to be so careful as it doesnt matter. But i've also seen too many cars with halogens bulbs at night having only one side light up. I've also seen many people with ONE SIDE HALO'S and the OTHER REGULAR.

Glenn's in chaguanas is where i got my "XENON's" from. It's NOT HID but for $115 and 100W of light, u cant go wrong...... well xcept for the rain part i talked about earlier.... :?

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » June 11th, 2005, 1:55 am

if u read the thread there was some time ago on those blue/white xenon or all those 100W bulbs,
you'll want back your stock bulb. the blue is actually bad for you as it STRAINS your eyes to see things. the colour is totally different to the colour of HID lights.
but say what, it looks cool. and also i know people who have melted their bulb sockets with those 100W bulbs. have fun! :twisted:

honda4life

Postby honda4life » June 11th, 2005, 8:22 am

jian where is glenn's??
is that montrose side?

Jian

Postby Jian » June 11th, 2005, 9:26 am

yeah, take a drive through montrose, coming from chagaunas its on the left BEFORE the gas station..... they listed in d book if u gettin trouble...

adam, daz true though, and i did read that article a while back.... and yeah it does strain the eyes a little because of the color........ As for melting sockets, i know a few people with CK4 laners that have it, and never had a problem with that. :)

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » June 11th, 2005, 2:03 pm

^ cool... well i never tried it in the CK4... if it works for u, and u like it .. keep it ...
i have upgraded my bulbs but with the stock wattage rating.... and i notice e.g. if my headlights on and i put on my fogs... the entire electrical system dims. so, i figured if i upgrade my headlights and fogs, that's 200W extra which i eh really willing to put on my electrical system. if i didnt have fogs, i'd ah consider it :twisted:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 11th, 2005, 2:42 pm

dread allyuh harden buy ah HID kit and done you will never regret.

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » June 12th, 2005, 3:21 am

lol... u have one picasso?

plex

Postby plex » June 12th, 2005, 5:47 am

HID kit is the way to go, i do not have it..I did a bulb upgrade and to me that does not make sense at all..

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 12th, 2005, 2:27 pm

HID kit is the way to go... if you have over $500 USD to blow

fastredminx

Postby fastredminx » June 12th, 2005, 3:30 pm

i've blue,artic white,super white & $200 bulbs and i have come to "they eh worth one flying *#@!. So this is what i have done....
1) phillips 100/90watt "of road bulbs"
2) heavy duty light sockets
3) rhino cables (believe was 4.5mm or something like that)
4) head light relay box "era" is the name on it comes with two 30 amp fuse, retails for bout $90
no problems after that! when ah crack d bright on dem blasted new cars and they "crystal headlight" ah could see who in the back seat :twisted: and one ah meh light eh so hot. oh ah nearly 4got ah jus might be coming into some 130/90

plex

Postby plex » June 12th, 2005, 4:39 pm

the heat from some of these bulbs is lot...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 13th, 2005, 1:26 am

in meh cifero, the lights where changed to H4`s from GLENNs.. they wokin nice.. the alternator in them big cars are more powerful than the usual ones.. so they can take the load.. and the dimness you would notice in the car.. its ok because at night it would be bright(eg.. speed o meter..rpm) i dont think u would need your lights on in de day...
the bulbs are 110wattss and VERY VERY bright.. at the bottom(fogs) is h3 which is also 110watts.. at night when i got on de fogs alone.. they look like the headlights and doe talk for when de headlight on.. ppl does cuss.. and when on high.. well thats another story :wink: .. buh fuh upgrading bulbs on those bigger cars.. would be ok buh if u getting trouble otherwise from diff cars why not get your voltage checked out..?