azlan

Car Stuttering on idle and acceleration

Postby azlan » September 5th, 2013, 1:15 pm

Hi Tuners,

I need some help please.
I have a fielder wagon the model with the rectangle front lights and the reverse lights on the tailgate. Its a PCK I think 2004 model.

I just changed the head and block. I also changed all the coil packs since the previous engine overheated and was damaged.

Now I have this stuttering problem on idle and accelearation. When i pulled the plugs i noticed that one had a crack on it. I changed them but the mech put on a shorter one and the problem got worse. Ever since then the car is by the mech. He said he tried someone elses plugs in it and still got the problem. He cleaned the injectors, throttle body and air flow sensor and o2 sensor.

What do you think the problem is? Could it be if the incorrect plug is being used? What is the correct plug to use as i dont have a manual?

JesuEric

Re: Car Stuttering on idle and acceleration

Postby JesuEric » September 5th, 2013, 2:11 pm

incorrect plugs cud be but unplug each injector while the car is on the one with no change in stutter cud be a bad injector..clean all plugs for the injectors and plug them back in firmly...make sure coil packs firmly on.....or even the plug that had a crack make sure no sediment from the crack or whatever remained...Oxegen is more related to power and idle levels but incase im wrong with this vehichle borrow someone's O2 sensor to see if thats the problem, check all vacume hoses, check for cracks in piping, airbox. I not sure if i missed anything..dais the only diagnostics im completely familiar with if anything check ur fuel supply system...fuel pump fuel lines make sure non bent hope something here helps bro

Postby 1UZFE » September 9th, 2013, 1:53 pm

check for vacuum leaks also chk you IAC valve. I had this same problem i change my IAC and my TPS sensor. Check these n let us know wat happen.

azlan

Postby azlan » September 9th, 2013, 3:25 pm

Real pressure to solve this issue. Things done so far but no resolve
1. Cleaned injectors
2. Cleaned throttle body
3. Switched plugs
4. Did a compression test and one of the cylinders was missing and the rocker arm was broken so it was replaced.
5. Changed the air flow sensor

The mechanic seems to be dedeated at this point. Remember this is a engine that was put in two months ago. I bought it from raj parts in the bamboo. I dont want to change the engine again bc I already spent over $7500 already

azlan

Postby azlan » September 9th, 2013, 3:31 pm

I will mention the things you gave me to him. I will keep you posted for information purposes.

Postby 1UZFE » September 9th, 2013, 6:40 pm

is your idle worsening when your AC is on???

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » September 9th, 2013, 6:41 pm

Check iac valve dais the only other thing

azlan

Postby azlan » September 9th, 2013, 6:47 pm

The IAC valve is on the throttle body ? My car is electric throttle body. Probably change the entire throttle body and see? The problem is like on stand still idle the rpm flutters and the car bucks for a brief moment. Then on early pull off you get this miss type of flutter like if the car is stuttering and then it picks up. When I changed the engine it worked really well for one entire month.... Then the problem occured suddenly. The mechanic is basically lost at this moment. He dropped it by an electrician to check since he says the problem is intermittent. ...

azlan

Postby azlan » September 9th, 2013, 6:47 pm

My number is 704-8716 if anyone thinks they can help just gimme a message or whatsapp.

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » September 9th, 2013, 7:18 pm

It will be the gadget attached to the beginning of the throttle body with two plugs behind it u do not need to buy anything ....jus unplug the both plugs there should be 2 screws to unscrew the iacv when u take it out spray it and inside the part of the throttle body u took it off of with throttle body cleaner then after u clean there try and see if ur problem stops.....how u explain in that last paragraph this should be the problem

Postby 1UZFE » September 10th, 2013, 5:40 am

Yes cleanin d IAC should help but these are also symptoms of a vacuum leak. Put d car in drive n turn on d AC n check if the idle is increasing if not check d IAC. In my research with Hyundia and Kia vehicles sometimea the TPS gives this problem. Remember isa used engine u bought so u shud perhaps clean d MAF sensor and other realted sensors like d cam n crank jus to make sure. But hopefully its d IAC which is an easy and cheap fix.

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » September 10th, 2013, 11:19 am

ohh cool i learned somtn there

azlan

Postby azlan » September 10th, 2013, 11:42 am

Called the mechanic and told him these things. He said he sprayed carb spray on the lines to check for leaks. He also cleaned most sensors already and he said if it was a sensor then the scan would have picked it up. I will read out this last post for him and see what he says. The car is by an electrician now so I am waiting on his feedback. Will keep you guys posted on any updates. ..

Postby 1UZFE » September 10th, 2013, 12:13 pm

Scan dont pick up all problems. In my nissan d Air flow sensor went bad n no CEL came on and no codes. U sh7d go over n check these things for yourself. Start it up n see how d idle movin in diff gears wit and without d AC on.

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » September 10th, 2013, 11:01 pm

Yup scan doesn't get anything ....hear wut we saying check ur TPS nd iacv with the methods we said n see bro

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » September 10th, 2013, 11:15 pm

Honestly I have learned alot with comments from these ppl....I am young n got my car 1 year ago...n cuz I wss young I got a car tht take me through every part tht makes a car in problems and within last 6 months instead of watching the mech taking off bolts putting a new part putting back bolts I eventually put posts like this on tuner ....ask mech fr 2nd opinion ....search it on YouTube fix sheit myself. ....mech is for hard sheit like opening up engine for me all suspension /sensors/easy bolt bolt stuff not hard so check it out mayne

azlan

Postby azlan » September 12th, 2013, 2:15 pm

Well I have an update. The mechanic borrowed someone throttle body and he said he did not get the issue so far. He just put it in and took it for a drive. I keeping my fingers crossed that it remains this way.

Postby 1UZFE » September 13th, 2013, 6:32 pm

OP chk 2 c if its d entire throttle body or jus d TPS sensor. D tps sensor cheap on amazon n autopartswarehouse, jus get the part number... put bac yuh old throttle body on d car an use tps from d "new 1" n check 2 c if its d tps or d throttle body..

azlan

Postby azlan » September 13th, 2013, 7:04 pm

Ok so I collected back the car from the mech today. He put in original plugs and the problem with the stuttering while drive has seemed to stop. However the problem with the rpm drop on idle in drive is still happening. The mech does not know what to do. So while on drive it idles fine and then suddenly the car jerks and the rpm dips and then resumes to normal idle. I wonder what this could be?

azlan

Postby azlan » September 13th, 2013, 7:05 pm

Do you guys have a number that I can call you at?

Postby 1UZFE » September 14th, 2013, 9:30 pm

as i said im havin the same problem with d idle. I checked a guy in Macoya highyway going west (an american) he isa a bawse, he raised the degrees on my iac and also he identified my alternator is not charging properly so the maf sensor is working irracticaly. I would get a number for u. Be warned he expensive.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 14th, 2013, 11:06 pm

i was about to recommend the maf be checked. the current problem sounds like maf, tps, iac or vacuum leak.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » September 16th, 2013, 7:41 pm

so if you say the problem stopped when he changed the throttle body then just get a new one.. it could be the tps on the throttle body.. my tiida giving the same problem and i changed plugs, clean throttle body, clean injectors, changed plugs etc... nothing worked so far.
next step is to change the throttle body and see if that helps

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 16th, 2013, 8:00 pm

cjsplayboy wrote:so if you say the problem stopped when he changed the throttle body then just get a new one.. it could be the tps on the throttle body.. my tiida giving the same problem and i changed plugs, clean throttle body, clean injectors, changed plugs etc... nothing worked so far.
next step is to change the throttle body and see if that helps

most times the key to solving these issues is in recalling when the problem started. Was there some key event after which the problem occurred? for example, was the car serviced just before the issue occurred? These cars are too new to have these issues occurring so frequently, there must be a simple cure.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » September 16th, 2013, 8:21 pm

nope the car worked good for a month then this problem occurred
no upgrades or anything

azlan

Postby azlan » September 19th, 2013, 12:59 pm

Guys I have an update,
I went by another mechanic called regies from enterprise area. He got good recommendations. So he ran a scan and a P1300 code came up which is the igniter circuit area. He said that it meant that the coil pack on cylinder 4 was shorting bc the problem gets worse when the engine is under load with ac and lights. So I went to the bamboo and tried 3 coil packs and the same problem occured. I dropped the car back by the mechanic and left it. He said he will do some more test by switching the coil packs etc. I am hoping for good news...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 19th, 2013, 2:20 pm

lights are actually affecting the issue? or just ac?

azlan

Postby azlan » September 19th, 2013, 2:26 pm

Well the problem happens when the car is on drive and on a stand still idle. When the mech put the lights on and turn on the ac it seemed to stutter more frequently. On the internet it kinda leading me to check a electrican instead of a mechanic. What u guys think?

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » September 19th, 2013, 7:22 pm

tricky problem you have there.. I'm taking mine to an electrician next week so i will update you

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 20th, 2013, 9:00 am

azlan wrote:Well the problem happens when the car is on drive and on a stand still idle. When the mech put the lights on and turn on the ac it seemed to stutter more frequently. On the internet it kinda leading me to check a electrican instead of a mechanic. What u guys think?

but does the problem worsen with just the lights on? as opposed to both being on?