free flow exhaust

Corollaman

free flow exhaust

Postby Corollaman » May 26th, 2005, 10:44 am

Greetings tuners!

At present I have a 5A-FE in the corolla and i'm just doing some light mods to it. I freed up the intake a bit and now i'm looking at the exhaust.

What exactly is a free flow muffler? Do i have to change the whole pipe? What kinda performance gains should i expect?

What about the noise factor? Can it be relatively quiet?

And, most important, how much dineros i looking at?

Thanks,
Avin.

roadhog

Postby roadhog » May 26th, 2005, 11:14 am

that just mean u have no restrictions from dron't to back i just pipe
and it is very loud

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » May 26th, 2005, 11:36 am

What about the noise factor? Can it be relatively quiet

it is very loud
Free flow yep..

Best you just drop 2 inch exhaust and leave the resonator and put in a barrel (not a noisy one though) 2 inch exhaust from front to back will cost about a grand or so.
Check Imraj, he can give you a good price for best quality work.

Rx

Postby Rx » May 26th, 2005, 4:57 pm

$1000 is too much............

as the man say.............check Imraj Muffler shop :)

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » May 26th, 2005, 7:18 pm

^^ Where is this muffler shop located?

Also, in your opinion, do the gains justify the expenditure?

plex

Postby plex » May 26th, 2005, 8:06 pm

you will gain a few hp, what you will notice is the accelaration is better.

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » May 26th, 2005, 10:20 pm

Afaik h/i/e really helps the low end performance on toyotas :D

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » May 26th, 2005, 10:29 pm

zer0xp,
En ingles por favor.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » May 27th, 2005, 1:34 am

^^^ h/i/e = header/intake/exhaust

plex

Postby plex » May 27th, 2005, 5:49 am

and a nice sound from the engine..

Xman

Postby Xman » May 27th, 2005, 9:28 am

Is it true that the length of the barrel alters the frequency of the tone....while the diameter alters the noise output?

gizmo

Postby gizmo » May 27th, 2005, 10:26 am

was d difference between the cat back and this free flow......ent both free flow so it shudn't hav a difference rite??

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 27th, 2005, 11:14 am

imraj is located next door to southern sales car warehouse. where dey does park all the cars nah before they sell

Postby Monk BANzai » May 27th, 2005, 6:56 pm

^^ sando?

Rx

Postby Rx » May 27th, 2005, 7:37 pm

MadCrix wrote:imraj is located next door to southern sales car warehouse. where dey does park all the cars nah before they sell

Yup !!!! :)

Postby Monk BANzai » May 27th, 2005, 9:45 pm

um...SAN FERNADO WE TLAKING BOUT HERE?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » May 28th, 2005, 12:35 am

Is it true that the length of the barrel alters the frequency of the tone....while the diameter alters the noise output?

yes longer the barrel lower the tone, theoretically it should be.
longer the barrel more the noise from the exhaust is exposed to the dampening.

was d difference between the cat back and this free flow......ent both free flow so it shudn't hav a difference rite??

from wat i been told from other tuners, catback is the entire aftermarket part from the downpipe to the barrel. ie downpipe, cat converter n barrel
a free flow barrel is jus that part alone

um...SAN FERNADO WE TLAKING BOUT HERE?

yeaaa cross crossing to be exact, i think :|

halfbreed

Postby halfbreed » May 28th, 2005, 1:41 am

far from quiet, i put in a resonator in my once free flow system and it toned it down a bit, wasn't getting that stinky raspy sound anymore which is cool but i wanna minimise the noise coming into the car.
definitely feel the difference if yuh runnin free flow but yuh must pay a price for most any and everything.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » May 28th, 2005, 8:24 am

Rover Rover wrote:um...SAN FERNADO WE TLAKING BOUT HERE?

Pallie the Southern sales warehouse he is talking about is located on Cipero Road, San Fernando. It is about 1 mile from Southern Sales by the Cross on the same road. You just head east. They do excellent work.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » May 28th, 2005, 9:02 am

Cool man, I will check them out and see.

Rx

Postby Rx » May 28th, 2005, 9:46 am

Imraj 653- 4589 8)

Postby Greypatch » June 1st, 2005, 10:22 am

how do you all rate his work ?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 1st, 2005, 10:25 am

9 out of 10

the reason is not 10 out of 10 is casue he not free :lol: :lol: :lol:

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 1st, 2005, 10:37 am

from wat i been told from other tuners, catback is the entire aftermarket part from the downpipe to the barrel. ie downpipe, cat converter n barrel
a free flow barrel is jus that part alone

Downpipes only come on turbo cars, catback means: From the cat (catylytic converter) back... hence the term cat back!

Free flow means the muffler doesn't have lots of baffles and bends inside of it like stock mufflers do.

For future reference remember N/A exhaust is like this.
Header->Cat. converter-> midpipe-> axleback/tailpipe to muffler

Turbo cars:
Manifold->Turbine->Downpipe->Cat. converter-> midpipe-> axleback/tailpipe to muffler

Postby Hook » June 1st, 2005, 11:35 am

^^^ yup Jim's got it on spot right thurr

my thing is, I kinda VERY fedup of the drone of my exhaust, I wanna put back in the silencer but knowing that I'll be adding a restriction, my idea is to upgrade the piping to about 2.5" from manifold go back, add a resonator and barrel with 2.5 inlet....u know those fancy-shmancy barrels with the silencer insert nuh

is 2.5" overdoing it?
or will 2" be sufficient to null de effects of reinstalling the silencer?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 1st, 2005, 1:37 pm

your exhaust is an entire system and it is only as efficient as its smallest point... if you still runnin the 1.5 SOHC carb and you want some kind of efficiency with minimal noise then stay at 2" and get a 2" stock muffler like from a stock SiR

Postby Greypatch » June 1st, 2005, 2:53 pm

top post jimbo...

we should archive sheit like dis

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 2nd, 2005, 8:20 am

From an SiR? I cornfuzzed... :?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 2nd, 2005, 8:54 am

Thanks Patch, I try... :lol:

Bleedingfreak, a SiR's stock exhaust system is 2" in diameter, even the muffler is 2" so if you want a decent 2" flow with minimal or non-existant noise, then get one,
any clearer?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 2nd, 2005, 9:45 am

I thought he had a Toyota :)