WTK about my lancer

NotHim

WTK about my lancer

Postby NotHim » May 28th, 2013, 1:35 pm

hello there fellow tuners ..i'm sorta new to the forum and to the driving world and i basically want some professional or experienced opinions about my ck2 lancer
ok now i would like to know ..to satisfy my need for speed would it be more practical to change the engine or to mod the 4G15?
Last edited by NotHim on June 5th, 2013, 11:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

drastic0319

Re: WTK about my lancer

Postby drastic0319 » May 28th, 2013, 4:19 pm

Alot of things can cause your horn to trip off, most likely it could be that water got into the relay for the horn or a loose wire. I am in San Juan area my number is 742-7011. I do minor electrical so you can bring it and I can check it.

Postby Hook » May 29th, 2013, 9:29 am

Correct. It could be water seepage into the horn relay or some fault or short at the horn button on the steering wheel itself. Any electrician worth his salt could check that for you.

Oil-wise, stick to the thinnest oil that won't burn off. Synthetic or not, depends on your pocket, but bear in mind some synthetics have much longer change intervals, so sometimes for $20 more per quart, you can get an oil that lasts twice as long. Economics.
See here for more info:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=282499
It would've been wise to find out from the previous owner what fluids they were using and when was the last change.

NotHim

Postby NotHim » May 30th, 2013, 5:38 am

thank you guys ..i'll check it out asap by an electrician
and the previous owner was a louse so I'd rather find out through research :oops:
once again thank you

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 31st, 2013, 11:21 am

^got through?

NotHim

Postby NotHim » May 31st, 2013, 8:21 pm

na boy not yet I hadda wait till monday to handle it

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » June 26th, 2013, 4:50 pm

I say if you want to get power from an engine start wih a "powerful" engine. Personally I would swap to more displacement, 4g93t, 4g63t,6a13tt... Look at your budget and what makes sense. Do you want to mod your car to dog fight with a Chevy Cruze or do you want to have some rb and jz men asking. "What the hell?!"

Postby Ted_v2 » June 26th, 2013, 5:11 pm

4g93t and I think it's the mivec gearbox that works in the fwd application. Me personally I'm looking at a 4g93t gdi. But that's a huge maybe

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » June 26th, 2013, 8:54 pm

I did the 6a13tt conversion in my ck2 lancer. It ain't no evo but it works well enough. Original 4G15 DOHC was a real faithful engine.

See more here OP.....viewtopic.php?t=256018

NotHim

Postby NotHim » June 27th, 2013, 3:32 pm

Mercenary wrote:I did the 6a13tt conversion in my ck2 lancer. It ain't no evo but it works well enough. Original 4G15 DOHC was a real faithful engine.

See more here OP.....viewtopic.php?t=256018

eh heh?!! you have me studying ...but ammm whats the cost for one of those 6a13's?
Cuz I was really studying the ohh so common 4G92 mivec

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » June 27th, 2013, 4:18 pm

Yeah will send you the details of the build when I reach home.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 27th, 2013, 4:24 pm

send me a copy one time

what gearbox tho? fto?

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » June 27th, 2013, 7:59 pm

If you going 6a13tt f5m42/4g93 box works. Go 6puck cupper and hd pres plate one time. 6a is a great engine but after market ltd.

NotHim

Postby NotHim » June 28th, 2013, 4:07 pm

what if i wanted to stay n/a though no that many options ?

Postby Ted_v2 » June 28th, 2013, 4:42 pm

Mivec then. Easiest and straight forward swap

NotHim

Postby NotHim » June 28th, 2013, 4:54 pm

alright ...personally i think the Mivec is too common for me to stand out but i just might start there ..
It's about 6-7k for that right?

Postby Ted_v2 » June 28th, 2013, 5:52 pm

paid 7k for a 4g15dohc and tranny. So the mivec will be closer to 10

NotHim

Postby NotHim » June 29th, 2013, 6:29 am

allrighty then ..not so bad i can still save that
and if i may go offtopic for 1 sec ..how much so for a pair of back shocks?

Postby Ted_v2 » June 29th, 2013, 7:28 am

350-375 new
400 a side foreign used

NotHim

Postby NotHim » June 29th, 2013, 4:34 pm

foreign used is the better one ent?

Postby Ted_v2 » June 29th, 2013, 4:53 pm

Once your springs good. There's no need for foreign used. Get it new

NotHim

Postby NotHim » June 30th, 2013, 6:14 am

thanks man i'll look into it soon as $$ comes in

my mechanic's opinion is tht the "v6 is a waste a time' and that the 4 cylinder (4g63) will own it ..
but for some strange reason i think i want the 6a13tt so a general price range for that will be about ..?

Postby Ted_v2 » June 30th, 2013, 10:35 am

Dunno.

NotHim

Postby NotHim » June 30th, 2013, 1:30 pm

small ting i go find out in time